Close this search box.

Wayne Johnson survives for $13,000 Lone Star Payday

Bryan Hulbert – Kilgore, Texas (October 13, 2012) When all was said and done it was the Oil Medics No. 77x of Wayne Johnson who stood atop the podium at the 2nd annual Lone Star Sprint Car Nationals at Kilgore’s Lone Star Speedway.

Taking his biggest payday of the year, it was Johnson’s 9th win of the season and proved to be a great belated Birthday present for his Wife Erin, “It was my wife’s Birthday on Friday and I told her I’d bring her home a big check”.

Taking the field from the seventh position, the first two starts would dramatically change the landscape of the night’s feature event as Shane Stewart found a rut in turn three; sending the Digital Delivery Network No. 3g flipping violently into the fence followed by the No. 39c of Travis Rilat. Justin Henderson also saw his night end with rear suspension damage. All drivers were unharmed.

To the restart and again to the red as Sam Hafertepe Jr. sailed into the wall after contact with another driver. With the steering undone on the No. 15h, Hafertepe rolled down the track, collecting the Oil Medics No. 18 of Tony Bruce Jr. along with Matt Covington, John Carney II, and Mark Huddleston. Hafertepe and Bruce would not return as other drivers found their night take a turn with front row starting Brady Bacon and fourth starting Terry McCarl going to the tail after changing flat tires. Blake Hahn, who found himself on the pole on the second restart, also ended up at the tail after coming to the work area to replace a front wing.

Taking the green for the third time, fourth row starting Wayne Johnson found himself on the point with Jeff Swindell now alongside. Johnson would take full advantage of his newly found staring position as the City Vending No. 77x bolted into the top spot with Swindell in tow.

Battling into the top five by lap ten, Johnny Herrera would give chase as Kevin Swindell worked on getting third from the No. 23 of Seth Bergman. Tightening into a three car battle, the trio would begin exchanging slide-jobs at both ends of the Lone Star Speedway. Back and forth, Herrera would jump to third, then Swindell, the Bergman before the MVT No. 45x finally secured the third spot.

Stopping on lap twenty-six for the flipped No. 4x of Shawn Petersen, the race resumed with the battle for second between Jeff Swindell and Johnny Herrera with the No. 45x taking the spot as he field completed lap twenty-eight. Diving off the exit of four, Swindell pulled side by side with Herrera into turn one with both drivers making contact and Swindell spinning off the top of Herrera’s left rear. Both drivers would go to the tail as Swindell came to a stop on the track. Herrera would suffer a flat tire.

Taking the green for the final time, Johnson would run away and hide as the final laps yielded a battle for the runner up spot between nineteenth starting Jason Johnson and thirteenth starting Kevin Swindell. Side-job after side-job in the closing laps, both drivers brought the fans to their feet screaming with Jason Johnson getting the running up spot. Kevin Swindell would take the final step on the podium with Seth Bergman fourth. After a trip to the work area sent Blake Hahn to the tail, the Speedway Vending No. 52 climbed back to a fifth place finish.

Dustin Morgan was sixth with John Carney II seventh. Matt Covington would come from fifteenth to eight with Terry McCarl rebounding to ninth. Jamie Passmore completed the top ten.

Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV
Lone Star Sprint Nationals – Eagle Motorsports Night #3
Lone Star Speedway – Kilgore, Texas
October 13, 2012

Event Car Count: 46

B Feature 1 (15 Laps): 1. 11-Justin Melton; 2. 224-John Carney II[2]; 3. 41-Jason Johnson[4]; 4. 11S-Joe Wood Jr[6]; 5. 71-Channin Tankersley[5]; 6. 12W-Dale Wester[9]; 7. 5-Jerod Roller[11]; 8. 41W-Joshua Williams[12]; 9. 90-Lance Norick[13]; 10. 14B-Robert Byrom[16]; DNF 17-Josh Baughman[3]; DNS 11G-Mike Goodman; DNS 17R-Aaron Reutzel; DNS 21-Wes Wofford; DNS 11P-Preston Peebles II; DNS 9-Gary Wright

B Feature 2 (20 Laps): 1. 12M-Kyle McCutcheon[8]; 2. 14Z-Zach Pringle[2]; 3. 4J-Jamie Passmore[3]; 4. 81-Danny Wood[4]; 5. 17T-Christopher Bell[1]; 6. 33-Mark Huddleston[14]; DNF 76-John Ricketts[10]; DNF 45-Martin Edwards[5]; DNF 74E-Claud Estes III[9]; DNF 11-Justin Melton[11]; DNF 4X-Shawn Petersen[7]; DNF 69-Larry Howery[6]; DNS 29-Brandon Hahn; DNS 32-Derek Weaver; DNS 28-Tommy Bryant; DNS 3-Raven Culp

A Feature (40 Laps): 1. 77X-Wayne Johnson[7]; 2. 41-Jason Johnson[19]; 3. 39-Kevin Swindell[13]; 4. 23-Seth Bergman[11]; 5. 52-Blake Hahn[5]; 6. 2-Dustin Morgan[12]; 7. 224-John Carney II[17]; 8. 11C-Matt Covington[15]; 9. 24-Terry McCarl[4]; 10. 4J-Jamie Passmore[20]; 11. 45X-Johnny Herrera[14]; 12. 94-Jeff Swindell[8]; 13. 12M-Kyle McCutcheon[16]; DNF 11S-Joe Wood Jr[21]; DNF 4X-Shawn Petersen[25]; DNF 99-Brady Bacon[2]; DNF 33-Mark Huddleston[23]; DNF 11-Justin Melton[24]; DNF 14Z-Zach Pringle[18]; DNF 3G-Shane Stewart[1]; DNF 82-Justin Henderson[3]; DNF 39C-Travis Rilat[6]; DNF 15H-Sam Hafertepe Jr[9]; DNF 18-Tony Bruce Jr[10]; DNF 81-Danny Wood[22]

Lap Leader(s): Wayne Johnson (1-40) Hard Charger of the Night: Jason Johnson+17
FSR Radiator High Point Driver of the Night: N/A
Provisional(s): N/A

2012 Feature Winners: Jason Johnson-12, Wayne Johnson-9, Brady Bacon-7, Tony Bruce Jr.-3, Danny Lasoski-2, Shane Stewart-2, Jeff Swindell-2, Brian Brown-1, Seth Bergman-1, Jason Martin-1, Dustin Morgan-1, Danny Wood-1, Cody Baker-1, Jordan Boston-1, Brock Lemley-1, Mason Moore-1, Brad Loyet-1, Brooke Tatnell-1, Kevin Swindell-1, Justin Henerson-1, Terry McCarl-1

Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV Points (top 10): 1. Jason Johnson 6,035; 2. Wayne Johnson 5,985; 3. Brady Bacon 5,850; 4. Johnny Herrera 5,487; 5. Tony Bruce Jr. 5,429; 6. Brad Loyet 5,427; 7. Seth Bergman 5,012; 8. Logan Forler 4,972; 9. Dustin Morgan 4,848; 10. Gary Wright 4,815

The 2012 season marks the 21st year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing for the American Sprint Car Series, which brings the best of Sprint Car racing to dozens of different tracks throughout the nation and into Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil Sprint Car Series, ASCS also consists of ten different Regions throughout the nation.

Lucas Oil Products is the title sponsor of the American Sprint Car Series. More information can be found on Lucas Oil Products at MAVTV is the presenting sponsor of the American Sprint Car Series. For information regarding availability and listings in your area log onto

Associate sponsors for the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MavTV include: Hoosier Racing Tire, Brodix, Geico, E3 Spark Plugs, General Tire, K&N Filters,, FSR Radiator and Racing Proucts, Schoenfeld Headers,, Weld Wheels, Maxwell Industries, Print Place, Simpson, Wesmar Racing Engines, and Hilborn Injection Systems.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at as well as Twitter (@LucasOilASCS) and Facebook. News and information can also be sent to you with the ASCS E-News Letter. Sign up with your Cell Phone by texting ASCS to 22828.

Photo Credit: Tim Aylwin