Close this search box.

What is the ASCS?

America's Largest Sprint Car Sanctioning Body

The Founding

Created in 1992, Emmett Hahn founded the American Sprint Car Series with the simple idea of promoting and growing the sport of Sprint Car racing through honesty, fairness, and integrity. 

The first official season of competition for the American Sprint Car Series was a combination of Regional races in 1992 with Dodge City, Kansas shoe, Garry Lee Maier, named the first National Champion.

The first National Tour took place in 1993 with Little Rock’s I-30 Speedway hosting the first event, won by Mike Ward of Memphis, Tenn. That year, it was Tulsa’s John Hunt who would go on to be the first National Tour Champion.

World Racing Group purchased the ASCS from Hahn in 2024 and operates the series from it’s Concord, North Carolina office. 

The Regions

The American Sprint Car Series is the world’s largest sprint car sanctioning body. Supported by numerous regional series, the National Series offers thrilling ASCS Sprint Car races at tracks all over the United States. The nation’s elite winged sprint car drivers compete in the ASCS, all aiming for the highly coveted and prestigious National Championship.

The Champions

Jason Johnson is the leading champion in ASCS competition, taking his No. 41 to the top for his first of five championships in 2008. “The Rajin Cajun” traded the championship the next three years with Bixby’s Shane Stewart.

The Tracks

The American Sprint Car Series features some of the most iconic and challenging tracks in the U.S. These tracks vary from tight quarter-mile circuits to expansive half-mile tracks like Knoxville, setting the ASCS apart as a truly unique series.

Follow the ASCS

Keep up with all the action by following the series on Facebook, X or Instagram. Use the links below to stay in up-to-date.