Close this search box.

King of California Set for Chili Bowl – Count Climbs to 196

Lonnie Wheatley, TULSA, Okla. (December 14, 2010) – Just 18 years old, he’s already been crowned the King of California. Now, Kyle Larson is set to make a run at becoming the youngest Chili Bowl king.

Larson is among the latest additions to the entry list for the 25th Annual Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals, which takes place at the QuikTrip Center’s Tulsa Expo Raceway on January 11-15, 2011. Larson and fellow 2010 Chili Bowl championship feature starters Cole Whitt, Zach Daum and Shane Golobic will be among the young guns vying to unseat Kevin Swindell as the event’s youngest winner.

With the pre-entry deadline just one day away, the count has now climbed to 196 entries with drivers from 27 different states as well as Australia and New Zealand among the forming Chili Bowl mix.

After cracking the top ten in the 24th Annual Chili Bowl Nationals championship finale, Elk Grove, California’s Larson picked off a handful of feature wins, including a triumph in the 25th Annual Cotton Classic at Hanford’s Kings Speedway, en route to the Golden State Challenge King of California Sprint Car championship.

Taking the seat of Glenn Crossno’s Fontana-powered ITI Motorsports No. 38 Viper-chassis, Larson will be among several vying to become the youngest winner in Chili Bowl history after Kevin Swindell staked that claim last January.

Swindell became the youngest winner a year after father Sammy Swindell became the oldest victor in event history with his unprecedented fifth win. The younger Swindell was little more than a month away from his 21st birthday when he snared his Golden Driller.

Just 19 years old, Alpine, CA, native Cole Whitt will also be among the leading contenders for the Golden Driller after a runner-up finish between Swindell and Swindell last January. The Silver Anniversary at the Chili Bowl will mark Whitt’s first time back on dirt after a year on the NASCAR K&N Pro Series East trail.

Pocahontas, IL, shoe Zach Daum, also 19 years old, snared a Tuesday night preliminary win at last year’s Chili Bowl Nationals before becoming an early casualty in the 50-lap Saturday night finale.

Nineteen-year-old Golobic, another of the strong California contingent of entries that currently numbers 38, made last year’s Chili Bowl championship finale as well as a Larson teammate.

Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals Pre-Entry Stats:

Most Chili Bowls Competed In (Among Pre-Entered Drivers): Sammy Swindell 20, Johnny Heydenreich 19, Tracy Hines 14, J.J. Yeley 14, Jerry Coons, Jr. 13, Jay Drake 13, Cory Kruseman 13, Tony Elliott 13, P.J. Jones 13, Johnny Murdock 13, A.J. Fike 12, Mike Hess 12, Tim Siner 12, Nick O’Neal 12, Matt Westfall 12, Shane Cottle 11, Floyd Alvis 9, Shane Hollingsworth 9, Josh Ford 9, Thomas Meseraull 9, Davey Ray 9, Brandon Waelti 9, Paul White 9, Aaron Berryhill 8, Steve Buckwalter 8, Don Droud, Jr. 8, Ryan Durst 8, Bobby East 8, Damion Gardner 8, Garrett Hansen 8, Brad Kuhn 8, Matt Mitchell 8, Daryn Pittman 8, Gary Taylor 8, Josh Wise 8.

Chili Bowl Championship Feature Starts (Among Pre-Entered Drivers): Sammy Swindell 17, Jerry Coons, Jr. 11, Tracy Hines 11, Cory Kruseman 9, Shane Cottle 7, Jay Drake 7, P.J. Jones 6, J.J. Yeley 6, Brad Kuhn 5, Jimmy Sills 5, Matt Westfall 5, Steve Buckwalter 4, Bobby East 4, Tony Elliott 4, Davey Ray 4, Josh Ford 3, Damion Gardner 3, Mike Hess 3, Johnny Heydenreich 3, Tim McCreadie 3, Casey Shuman 3, Cole Whitt 3, Chris Windom 3, Aaron Berryhill 2, Don Droud, Jr. 2, Garrett Hansen 2, Wayne Johnson 2, Levi Jones 2, Brad Loyet 2, Thomas Meseraull 2, Michael Pickens 2, Daryn Pittman 2, Danny Stratton 2, Kevin Swindell 2, Josh Wise 2, Daniel Adler 1, Brady Bacon 1, Bryan Clauson 1, Zach Daum 1, Ryan Durst 1, A.J. Fike 1, Shane Golobic 1, David Gough 1, Jonathan Hendrick 1, Shane Hollingsworth 1, Kyle Larson 1, Tony Roney 1, Ricky Stenhouse, Jr. 1, Gary Taylor 1, Brandon Waelti 1, Paul White1.

Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals Quick Facts:

What: 25th Annual Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Midget Nationals

Where: Tulsa Expo Raceway – ¼-mile clay oval inside the QuikTrip Center at the Tulsa State Fairgrounds

January 11-15, 2011
Tuesday – Warren CAT Qualifying Night plus Vacuworx Int’l Chili Bowl Race of Champions
Wednesday – River Spirit Casino Qualifying Night
Thursday – Qualifying Night
Friday – Vacuworx International Qualifying Night
Saturday – Lucas Oil Championship Feature Events

Past Winners: Kevin Swindell (2010), Sammy Swindell (2009, 1998, 1996, 1992 and 1989), Damion Gardner (2008), Tony Stewart (2007 and 2002), Tim McCreadie (2006), Tracy Hines (2005), Cory Kruseman (2004 and 2000), Dan Boorse (2003 and 1999), Jay Drake (2001), Billy Boat (1997), Donnie Beechler (1995), Andy Hillenburg (1994), Dave Blaney (1993), Lealand McSpadden (1991), Jon Heydenreich (1990), Scott Hatton (1988), Rich Vogler (1987).

Trade Show: Always a popular attraction at the Chili Bowl Midget Nationals is the Trade Show, which is open to the public each day (Tuesday through Saturday) free of charge. All variety of racing products, apparel and more is available with well over 100 different vendors. The Trade Show covers approximately 20,000 square feet.

Tickets: A limited number of reserved seats for Tuesday night’s Warren CAT Qualifying Event and the Third Annual Vacuworx International Chili Bowl Race of Champions are available for $43 per person and may be obtained by calling 918-838-3777 or at the gate if still available. Pit passes for all five nights are available at the gate as well.

Chili Bowl on TV: Portions of the 25th Annual Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Midget Nationals will be broadcast on SPEED TV on a tape-delayed basis.

Chili Bowl on the Net: All official news pertaining to the 25th Annual Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Midget Nationals, including official entry lists, race results and recaps, is available first at Also, all five nights of the Chili Bowl Nationals will be broadcast live (audio) on

Additional information regarding the Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Midget Nationals is available at or by calling 918-838-3777.