Close this search box.

Johnson Takes Third Straight with Rapid Speedway Victory

Bryan Hulbert – Rock Rapids, Iowa (July 6, 2012) Forty drivers were on hand for this past Friday night $4,000 to win affair at Rapid Speedway in Rock Rapids, Iowa with Eunice, Louisiana’s Jason Johnson taking the check and the nearly nine foot tall trophy home in the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV’s inaugural visit to the 3/8 mile clay oval.

Drawing the outside of the second row, Johnson would dive into the runner up spot on the opening lap before a caution for a stalled car forced a complete restart. Again jumping into second, Johnson would begin his pursuit of early leader Stu Snyder.

Sliding into the lead on lap four, Johnson would hold off a pair of challenges from the Pepsi No. 23s as the caution flew the Champion Brands No. 45x of Johnny Herrera followed by a spin by the Fab Tech No. 6g of Gossel to force a second single file restart.

Following suit on Snyder, the Oil Medics No. 18 of Tony Bruce Jr. would occupy the runner up spot with Johnson maintaining a six car length advantage with slower traffic approaching.

Mingling with the back of the field by lap nine, the JJR/Stenhouse Jr. No. 41 of Johnson would be forced off the preferred high line; allowing Tony Bruce Jr. and third running Dustin Morgan to begin closing in.

Clearing the half-way point it was still Johnson in command with Bruce sitting second while Dustin Morgan contended with the Certified Transmission No. 53 of Jack Dover.

Moving up from eighth, the No. 53 of Dover would also have a challenger to contend with as sixteenth starting Wayne Johnson began closing the gap.

Making it a three car battle for the show position, a break in the race would occur on lap twenty-two as the 35 of Skyler Prochaska spun to a stop.

Taking the green for the final eight revolutions, Johnson would utilize a lapped car between him and the No. 18 of Tony Bruce Jr. along with rubber on the track to escape to a seven car length advantage for his third win in a row. Tony Bruce Jr. would hold on to a runner up finish with Dustin Morgan recording his second podium finish of the season in third. Fourth would go to Jack Dover with Wayne Johnson rounding out the top five.

Kaley Gharst laid down an impressive run to sixth after starting fourteenth with Brady Bacon taking seventh after winning the night’s second B-Feature landed the Fatheadz Eyewear No. 99 eighteenth on the feature line-up. Eighth went to Seth Bergman with Johnny Herrera, who had to drop to the tail after spinning, able to fight back from twenty-first able to rebound to ninth. Gregg Bakker, who started sixth, held on to round out the top ten.

Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV

Rapid Speedway – Rock Rapids, Iowa

July 6, 2012

Car Count: 40

Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 18-Tony Bruce Jr[2]; 2. 6g-Bryan Gossel[1]; 3. 5h-Logan Forler[3]; 4. 35-Skyler Prochaska[5]; 5. 57x-Jake Peters[6]; 6. 2d-Dusty Ballenger[4]; 7. 15-Joe Riedel[8]; 8. 47-Brant O’Banion[7]

Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 23s-Stu Snyder[2]; 2. 6-Kaley Gharst[1]; 3. 4-Jordan Boston[4]; 4. 9-Gary Wright[3]; 5. 77x-Wayne Johnson[8]; 6. 2k-Kevin Ingle[5]; 7. 21-Dustin Beenken[6]; DNF 13jm-Jordan Martens[7]

Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 09-Matt Juhl[1]; 2. 45x-Johnny Herrera[2]; 3. 05-Brad Loyet[8]; 4. 32-Scott Winters[3]; 5. 99-Brady Bacon[7]; 6. 4w-Matt Wasmund[4]; 7. 75c-Casey Heser[5]; DNF 13v-Seth Brahmer[6]

Heat 4 (8 Laps): 1. 53-Jack Dover[6]; 2. 41-Jason Johnson[5]; 3. 25-Dylan Peterson[1]; 4. 23-Seth Bergman[8]; 5. 18r-Ryan Roberts[2]; 6. 14-Jody Rosenboom[3]; 7. 4j-Lee Grosz[7]; DNF 10-Justin Jacobsma[4]

Heat 5 (8 Laps): 1. 2-Dustin Morgan[6]; 2. 11x-Gregg Bakker[7]; 3. 28-Mitch Runge[5]; 4. 3-Donovan Peterson[8]; DNF 1-Sean McClelland[4]; DNF 17b-Ryan Bickett[3]; DNF 12-Brock Dump[2]; 8. 3j-Jeremiah Jordahl[1]

B Feature 1 (12 Laps): 1. 9-Gary Wright[3]; 2. 5h-Logan Forler[1]; 3. 57x-Jake Peters[4]; 4. 17b-Ryan Bickett[8]; 5. 25-Dylan Peterson[2]; 6. 18r-Ryan Roberts[5]; 7. 4w-Matt Wasmund[7]; 8. 21-Dustin Beenken[9]; 9. 15-Joe Riedel[6]; DNF 10-Justin Jacobsma[12]; DNS 12-Brock Dump; DNS 13jm-Jordan Martens

B Feature 2 (12 Laps): 1. 99-Brady Bacon[2]; 2. 35-Skyler Prochaska[1]; 3. 32-Scott Winters[3]; 4. 4j-Lee Grosz[8]; 5. 2d-Dusty Ballenger[6]; 6. 2k-Kevin Ingle[5]; 7. 14-Jody Rosenboom[7]; 8. 75c-Casey Heser[9]; DNF 1-Sean McClelland[4]; DNF 3j-Jeremiah Jordahl[12]; DNS 47-Brant O’Banion; DNS 13v-Seth Brahmer

A Feature (30 Laps): 1. 41-Jason Johnson[4]; 2. 18-Tony Bruce Jr[3]; 3. 2-Dustin Morgan[5]; 4. 53-Jack Dover[8]; 5. 77x-Wayne Johnson[16]; 6. 6-Kaley Gharst[14]; 7. 99-Brady Bacon[18]; 8. 23-Seth Bergman[9]; 9. 45x-Johnny Herrera[12]; 10. 11x-Gregg Bakker[6]; 11. 5h-Logan Forler[19]; 12. 09-Matt Juhl[2]; 13. 32-Scott Winters[22]; 14. 57x-Jake Peters[21]; 15. 35-Skyler Prochaska[20]; 16. 6g-Bryan Gossel[13]; DNF 3-Donovan Peterson[10]; DNF 28-Mitch Runge[11]; DNF 05-Brad Loyet[7]; DNF 23s-Stu Snyder[1]; DNF 9-Gary Wright[17]; DNF 4-Jordan Boston[15]

Lap Leader(s): Stu Snyder 1-4, Jason Johnson 5-30 Hard Charger of the Night: Wayne Johnson +11

FSR Radiator High Point Driver: Jack Dover

Provisional(s): N/A

2012 Feature Winners: Jason Johnson-8, Brady Bacon-4, Wayne Johnson-4, Tony Bruce Jr.-3, Brian Brown-1, Seth Bergman-1, Danny Lasoski-1, Jason Martin-1, Dustin Morgan-1, Danny Wood-1, Cody Baker-1

Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV Points (top 10): 1. Jason Johnson 3,455 2. Wayne Johnson 3,421; 3. Brady Bacon 3,261; 4. Johnny Herrera 3,118; 5. Tony Bruce Jr. 3,051; 6. Brad Loyet 3,041; 7. Seth Bergman 2,809; 8. Dustin Morgan 2,655; 9. Gary Wright 2,816; 9. ; 10. Logan Forler 2,604

The Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV is scheduled to compete 66 times in 15 states throughout the United States with drivers competing for their share of a $250,000 point’s fund.

The 2012 season marks the 21st year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing for the American Sprint Car Series, which brings the best of Sprint Car racing to dozens of different tracks throughout the nation and into Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil Sprint Car Series, ASCS also consists of ten different Regions throughout the nation.

Lucas Oil Products is the title sponsor of the American Sprint Car Series. More information can be found on Lucas Oil Products at MAVTV is the presenting sponsor of the American Sprint Car Series. For information regarding availability and listings in your area log onto

Associate sponsors for the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MavTV include: Hoosier Racing Tire, Brodix, Geico, E3 Spark Plugs, General Tire, K&N Filters,, FSR Radiator and Racing Proucts, Schoenfeld Headers,, Weld Wheels, Maxwell Industries, Print Place, Simpson, Wesmar Racing Engines, and Hilborn Injection Systems.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at

Photo Credit: Jeff Bylsma