Close this search box.

Johnson Battles to U.S. 36 Nationals Triumph

Bryan Hulbert – Cameron, Missouri (July 3, 2012) The inaugural U.S. 36 Nationals presented by and TBJ Promotions was one for the record books as Jason Johnson notched his seventh win of the 2012 season with the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV.

Starting ninth, Johnson would have ground to make up as the race began with the Superior Marine No. 23 of Seth Bergman led the field to the green only to see the red fly as Jonathan Cornell met the front straight-a-way wall.

Pulling to the restart, the battle for the lead would go wheel to wheel for the first three laps as Bergman worked to hold off local favorite Jack Dover.

Settling at the front of the field, the P.P.M No. 23 would work to a ten car length advantage as the fight for second saw the Oil Medics No. 77x of Wayne Johnson going wheel to wheel with Dover for a moment before the Certified Transmission No. 53 marched to the highline to hold the runner up spot.

Chasing Bergman into slower traffic with, Dover would close the gap with Wayne Johnson and Logan Forler in tow but as slower traffic thinned, Bergman pulled away.

Moving past the half-way point, Dover would suddenly slow in order to force the caution on lap seventeen. Returning after visiting the work area, the Nebraska native would restart at the tail.

Restarting sixth with thirteen laps remaining, the MVT No. 41 of Johnson would begin his final march to the front. Battling into third over Logan Forler on lap twenty, the next car in line would be Wayne Johnson. Getting the run for the slide-job, things would get close as the Oil Medics No. 77x fell to third on lap twenty one.

Running down Seth Bergman on the same lap, Johnson would stay to the high line off the exit turn four; taking the point on the twenty-second circuit. Clicking through the closing laps, the Stenhouse/JJR No. 41 pulled a comfortable lead as the checkered flag fell

Commenting on his run to the front, the driver of the MVT No. 41 stated, “You had to put on brutal slide jobs to get by the guys. You’ve just had to shut the door on these guys because it was so slick getting off of four and you had to fight to get the run but that seemed to be the corner where I could get around these guys.”

With emotions running high, post-race interviews would become heated between Jason and second finishing Wayne Johnson, causing Lucas Oil ASCS officials to intervene in order to keep the peace.

Seth Bergman crossed the line third and commented on the antics, “it’s getting interesting back here. Feel like we’re at the WWF or something.” Bergman would also collect the night’s Weld Wheels Smooth Move of the Race after holding off Jack Dover, who had the preferred line, for the race lead.

Taking his best finish in Lucas Oil ASCS competition, Logan Forler would cross the line fourth with Brady Bacon rounding out the top five.

Brad Loyet was sixth with Johnny Herrera advancing from tenth to seventh. Tony Bruce Jr. claimed eighth after starting seventeenth with Kyle Bellm and Dustin Morgan completing the top ten.

Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV

U.S. 36 Raceway – Cameron, Missouri

July 3, 2012

Car Count: 27

Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 53-Jack Dover[4]; 2. 9-Gary Wright[6]; 3. 05-Brad Loyet[5]; 4. 29-Brandon Hahn[2]; 5. 28-Jonathan Cornell[7]; 6. 93a-Alan Ambers[1]; 7. 32L-David Langford[3]

Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 23-Seth Bergman[2]; 2. 77x-Wayne Johnson[4]; 3. 99-Brady Bacon[6]; 4. 18-Tony Bruce Jr[1]; 5. 74x-Joshua Hodges[3]; 6. 3z-Zach Davis[5]; 7. 76-Jay Russell[7]

Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 2-Dustin Morgan[1]; 2. 45x-Johnny Herrera[2]; 3. 4-Jordan Boston[4]; 4. 86-Kyle Bellm[6]; 5. 21k-Ryan Kitchen[3]; 6. 23s-Stu Snyder[5]; 7. 9m-Chad Ely[7]

Heat 4 (8 Laps): 1. 5h-Logan Forler[2]; 2. 38-Cody Baker[1]; 3. 41-Jason Johnson[5]; 4. 33-Austin Alumbaugh[4]; 5. 5M-Miranda Arnold[3]; 6. 2A-Randy Hibbs[6]

B Feature (12 Laps): 1. 18-Tony Bruce Jr[1]; 2. 74x-Joshua Hodges[2]; 3. 21k-Ryan Kitchen[3]; 4. 5M-Miranda Arnold[4]; 5. 9m-Chad Ely[8]; 6. 23s-Stu Snyder[7]; 7. 2A-Randy Hibbs[5]; 8. 93a-Alan Ambers[9]; DNF 3z-Zach Davis[6]; DNF 76-Jay Russell[11]; DNF 32L-David Langford[10]

A Feature (30 Laps): 1. 41-Jason Johnson[9]; 2. 77x-Wayne Johnson[4]; 3. 23-Seth Bergman[1]; 4. 5h-Logan Forler[5]; 5. 99-Brady Bacon[7]; 6. 05-Brad Loyet[6]; 7. 45x-Johnny Herrera[10]; 8. 18-Tony Bruce Jr[17]; 9. 86-Kyle Bellm[13]; 10. 2-Dustin Morgan[3]; 11. 4-Jordan Boston[12]; 12. 53-Jack Dover[2]; 13. 33-Austin Alumbaugh[15]; 14. 23s-Stu Snyder[22]; 15. 29-Brandon Hahn[16]; DNF 5M-Miranda Arnold[20]; DNF 9m-Chad Ely[21]; DNF 9-Gary Wright[8]; DNF 38-Cody Baker[11]; DNF 28-Jonathan Cornell[14]; DNF 74x-Joshua Hodges[18]; DNF 21k-Ryan Kitchen[19]

Lap Leader(s): Seth Bergman 1-21, Jason Johnson 22-30 Hard Charger of the Night: Tony Bruce Jr. +9

FSR Radiator High Point Driver: Jack Dover

Provisional(s): N/A

2012 Feature Winners: Jason Johnson-7, Brady Bacon-4, Wayne Johnson-4, Tony Bruce Jr.-3, Brian Brown-1, Seth Bergman-1, Danny Lasoski-1, Jason Martin-1, Dustin Morgan-1, Danny Wood-1, Cody Baker-1

Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV Points (top 10): 1. Jason Johnson 3,305 2. Wayne Johnson 3,296; 3. Brady Bacon 3,142; 4. Johnny Herrera 3,005; 5. Brad Loyet 2,949; 6. Tony Bruce Jr. 2,909; 7. Seth Bergman 2,693; 8. Danny Wood 2,572; 9. Gary Wright 2,529; 10. Dustin Morgan 2,520

The Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV is scheduled to compete 66 times in 15 states throughout the United States with drivers competing for their share of a $250,000 point’s fund.

The 2012 season marks the 21st year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing for the American Sprint Car Series, which brings the best of Sprint Car racing to dozens of different tracks throughout the nation and into Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil Sprint Car Series, ASCS also consists of ten different Regions throughout the nation.

Lucas Oil Products is the title sponsor of the American Sprint Car Series. More information can be found on Lucas Oil Products at MAVTV is the presenting sponsor of the American Sprint Car Series. For information regarding availability and listings in your area log onto

Associate sponsors for the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MavTV include: Hoosier Racing Tire, Brodix, Geico, E3 Spark Plugs, General Tire, K&N Filters,, FSR Radiator and Racing Proucts, Schoenfeld Headers,, Weld Wheels, Maxwell Industries, Print Place, Simpson, Wesmar Racing Engines, and Hilborn Injection Systems.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at

Photo credit: Nicole Lee (High Fly’n Photos)