Close this search box.

An ASCS Lone Star Saturday Night

[i Lonnie Wheatley, TULSA, Okla. (September 8, 2009)]

It’s going to be an all out Lone Star Saturday night, as the American Sprint Car Series Lone Star Region takes to the high-banked, ½-mile Lone Star Speedway in Kilgore, TX, this Saturday.

It marks the lone Lone Star event of the season at Lone Star, where Brandon Berryman bested a 37-car field of Gulf South entries in May.

Leading the way into Saturday’s card is Fort Worth’s Kevin Ramey, who is just three race nights away from adding the inaugural ASCS Lone Star title to a pair of previous ASCS Sooner Region championships.

Ramey added his fourth ASCS Lone Star win of the season this past Friday night at Crandall’s Speedway before picking up another top-five finish at Devil’s Bowl Speedway the following night.

With nine top-fives and 11 top-tens in 14 points, Ramey has amassed a 167-point advantage wit just the Cowtown Sprint Nationals that includes the Lone Star, Gulf South and Sooner Regions on October 9-10 remaining after the Lone Star card.

While Ramey holds a solid lead, Brad Welborn of Princeton, TX, holds down the second position, just 31 markers ahead of 22-year-old Flower Mound, TX, shoe Justin Melton.

Twenty-one-year-old Eric Baldaccini of Keller, TX, has climbed to fourth in points, with Godley’s Claud Estes rounding out the current top five.

The balance of the current top ten in ASCS Lone Star points includes Michael Lang (Mesquite), Matt Clevenger (Flower Mound), Scott Reneau (Kemp), Brian McClelland (Broken Arrow, OK) and John Ricketts (Burleson, TX).

Saturday’s ASCS Lone Star action at Lone Star Speedway is set to go green at 7:30 p.m.

Lone Star Speedway is located in Kilgore, TX, off I-20 Exit 583, then 0.5 miles north on SR 135, then one mile east on FM 1252, then 0.5 miles south. For more information, contact the track at 903-986-9731.

The inaugural slate of ASCS Lone Star Region competition consists of 18 events at nine different tracks throughout North Texas in addition to one venture north of the Red River to Oklahoma City’s State Fair Speedway.

The American Sprint Car Series, in its 18th year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing events, brings the best of Sprint Car racing to nearly 100 different tracks throughout 25 states and Canada in 2009. Anchored by the Lucas Oil ASCS Sprint Car Dirt Series presented by K&N Filters, ASCS also consists of a dozen different Regions throughout the nation.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at