Close this search box.

Ziehl Takes ASCS Southwest Honors at CSP!

Lonnie Wheatley, PEORIA, Ariz. (October 21, 2011) – Rick Ziehl landed another Sunoco Fuel ASCS Southwest feature win on Friday night as Canyon Speedway Park kicked off its Second Annual Canyon Southwest Championships.

Closing in on a fourth consecutive ASCS Southwest championship, Ziehl captured his sixth series win of the year from the front row aboard the Wesmar-powered Lucas Oil No. 20z Maxim.

Ziehl took the checkered flag ahead of ninth-starter Kyle McCutcheon, with Jesse Baker, Calvin Landis and Colt Treharn rounding out the top five. R.J. Johnson was sixth, with Dalten Gabbard, Logan Forler, Derrik Ortega and Bill Mitchell completing the top ten.

Joshua Williams and Ziehl topped heat race action.

Sunoco Fuel ASCS Southwest Region Results from Canyon Speedway Park:

Heat One (10 Laps): 1. 41w-Joshua Williams, 2. 35-Derrik Ortega, 3. 79-Calvin Landis, 4. 90-Lance Norick, 5. 77c-Colt Treharn, 6. 51-R.J. Johnson, 7. 62-Bill Mitchell, 8. 77-Dalten Gabbard.

Heat Two (10 Laps): 1. 20z-Rick Ziehl, 2. 8az-Jordan Stetson, 3. 22x-Jesse Baker, 4. 2L-Logan Forler, 5. 5-Kyle McCutcheon, 6. 15c-Joey Chester, 7. 16-Mike Martin, 8. 22-Mike Rux, Jr.

“A” Feature (30 Laps): 1. 20z-Rick Ziehl, 2. 5-Kyle McCutcheon, 3. 22x-Jesse Baker, 4. 79-Calvin Landis, 5. 77c-Colt Treharn, 6. 51-R.J. Johnson, 7. 77-Dalten Gabbard, 8. 2L-Logan Forler, 9. 35-Derrik Ortega, 10. 62-Bill Mitchell, 11. 15c-Joey Chester, 12. 16-Mike Martin, 13. 8az-Jordan Stetson, 14. 90-Lance Norick, 15. 22-Mike Rux, Jr., 16. 41w-Joshua Williams.

Sunoco Fuel ASCS Southwest Points (Top 10): 1. Rick Ziehl 2,101, 2. Calvin Landis 1,855, 3. Kyle McCutcheon 1,768, 4. Dalten Gabbard 1,750, 5. Lance Norick 1,683, 6. Joshua Williams 1,653, 7. (tie) Joey Chester and Jordan Stetson 1,437, 9. Steve Stone 1,436, 10. Joshua Hodges 1,362.