Close this search box.

Walker Walks Away with Lone Star Loot at Abilene

Cody Morris, Abilene, Texas (6-9-2012) – Following a Friday night rainout at Boyd Raceway, the Oil Medics ASCS Lone Star Region salvaged the planned weekend double with a Saturday night stand at Abilene Speedway.

The only penned event at Abilene’s ¼ mle bullring, Kolt Walker was all over it from the drop of the green. Walker blasted the field in a wire to wire effort, leading all 25 main event laps to snare is first Oil Medics ASCS Lone Star Region victory of the 2012 season.

The Kermit, Texas native had company in defending Lone Star Champ and current Lone Star leader Matt Covington, but the Print Place / Kolt Walker Racing no. 45k had the affair in order, never receiving immediately challenge in the 25 lap Oil Medics ASCS Lone Star Region feature event.

Covington settled for a runner up finish that enhanced his Lone Star point lead as the series’ nears the halfway point of the season. El Paso’s John Carney II earned show position honors and the Bishop’s Racing Components Hard Charger Award with his drive from 14th to third.

New Mexico’s Kyle McCutcheon and Dale Wester completed the top five finishing order.

Claud Estes, Kolt Walker, and Patrick Stasa each earned heat race wins over the 16 car field.

Oil Medics ASCS Lone Star Region / 16 cars
June 9th, 2012 / Event 6 of 13
Abilene Speedway / Abilene, Texas

A Feature (25 Laps): 1. 45K-Kolt Walker[2]; 2. 11c-Matt Covington[8]; 3. 224-John Carney II[14]; 4. 12m-Kyle McCutcheon[7]; 5. 12w-Dale Wester[3]; 6. 11-Justin Melton[6]; 7. 45-Martin Edwards[13]; 8. 54-Evan Pardo[11]; 9. 74E-Claud Estes III[5]; 10. 14B-Robert Byrom[12]; 11. 4x-Shawn Petersen[9]; 12. 19-Steven Elliott[16]; 13. 14-Michael Lang[1]; 14. 11s-Patrick Stasa[4]; 15. 12-Shawn Mize[10]; 16. 76-John Ricketts[15]
Lap Leaders: Kolt Walker 1-25

Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 74E-Claud Estes III; 2. 11c-Matt Covington; 3. 14-Michael Lang; 4. 12w-Dale Wester; 5. 45-Martin Edwards; 6. 19-Steven Elliott

Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 45K-Kolt Walker; 2. 11-Justin Melton; 3. 12-Shawn Mize; 4. 54-Evan Pardo; 5. 224-John Carney II

Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 11s-Patrick Stasa; 2. 12m-Kyle McCutcheon; 3. 4x-Shawn Petersen; 4. 14B-Robert Byrom; 5. 76-John Ricketts

2012 Oil Medics ASCS Lone Star Region point standings (top ten):

Patrick Grant Photo