Close this search box.

Walker a Winner in ASCS Red River Challenge at Devil’s Bowl

Lonnie Wheatley, MESQUITE, Texas (June 19, 2010) – Kenneth Walker scored one for the American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region forces by racing to victory lane in Saturday night’s 25-lap ASCS Red River Challenge feature event at Devil’s Bowl Speedway.

A regular force on the Lucas Oil ASCS National scene over the past three years, the Sapulpa, OK, racer snared his first career ASCS triumph in Saturday’s main event that pitted the ASCS Sooner and Lone Star Regions versus one another atop the storied half-mile clay oval.

Walker needed just seven rounds to work forward from the seventh starting position before taking the lead away from fellow Sooner shoe Andy Shouse, who paced the initial circuits from the pole position.

Walker went on to take the checkered flag in the Wesmar-powered Action Auto Collision No. 2 J&J ahead of current ASCS Sooner points leader Sean McClelland, with reigning ASCS Lone Star champ Kevin Ramey claiming the show position.

Shouse slipped to fourth at the stripe, with Tony Bruce, Jr., rounding out the top five. Fifteen-year-old Joshua Hodges was sixth, with Danny Jennings, reigning ASCS Sooner champ Joe Wood, Jr., two-time Sooner king Brian McClelland and current Lone Star leader Eric Baldaccini completing the top ten.

Sean McClelland, Hodges, Shouse and Baldaccini topped heat race action for Saturday night’s 30-car field, with Preston Peebles II winning the “B” Main.

ASCS Lone Star vs. Sooner Results from Devil’s Bowl Speedway:

First Heat (8 Laps): 1. 1-Sean McClelland, 2. 25-Brian McClelland, 3. 9-Brian Parker, 4. 2-Kenneth Walker, 5. 20w-Chad Wilson, 6. 2L-Logan Payne, 7. 90-Lance Norick, 8. 87a-Andrew Marshala.

Second Heat (8 Laps): 1. 74x-Joshua Hodges, 2. 7m-Kevin Ramey, 3. 1j-Danny Jennings, 4. 14e-Todd Evans, 5. 1r-Scott Reneau, 6. 6-Justin Spoerl, 7. 17w-Brad Welborn, 8. 55-Donnie Ray Crawford.

Third Heat (8 Laps): 1. 27-Andy Shouse, 2. 18-Tony Bruce, Jr., 3. 03-Joe Wood, Jr., 4. 30-Brandon Corn, 5. 76-John Ricketts, 6. 11-Justin Melton, 7. 45-J.P. Bailey.

Fourth Heat (8 Laps): 1. 4-Eric Baldaccini, 2. 45x-Martin Edwards, 3. 44w-Austen Wheatley, 4. 21$-Michelle Decker, 5. 0c-Preston Peebles II, 6. 74e-Claud Estes, 7. 29-Larry Long.

“B” Main (10 Laps): 1. 0c-Preston Peebles II, 2. 11-Justin Melton, 3. 6-Justin Spoerl, 4. 2L-Logan Payne, 5. 45-J.P. Bailey, 6. 74e-Claud Estes, 7. 17w-Brad Welborn, 8. 55-Donnie Ray Crawford, 9. 29-Larry Long, 10. 87a-Andrew Marshala, 11. 20w-Chad Wilson, 12. 90-Lance Norick.

“A” Feature (25 Laps): 1. 2-Kenneth Walker, 2. 1-Sean McClelland, 3. 7m-Kevin Ramey, 4. 27-Andy Shouse, 5. 18-Tony Bruce, Jr., 6. 74x-Joshua Hodges, 7. 1j-Danny Jennings, 8. 03-Joe Wood, Jr., 9. 25-Brian McClelland, 10. 4-Eric Baldaccini, 11. 21$-Michelle Decker, 12. 45x-Martin Edwards, 13. 11-Justin Melton, 14. 45-J.P. Bailey, 15. 30-Brandon Corn, 16. 1r-Scott Reneau, 17. 9-Brian Parker, 18. 74e-Claud Estes, 19. 2L-Logan Payne, 20. 44w-Austen Wheatley, 21. 76-John Ricketts, 22. 0c-Preston Peebles II, 23. 14e-Todd Evans, 24. 6-Justin Spoerl.

ASCS Lone Star Region Points (Top 10): 1. Eric Baldaccini 896, 2. Claud Estes 796, 3. Preston Peebles II 773, 4. Justin Melton 755, 5. John Ricketts 745, 6. Brandon Corn 740, 7. Martin Edwards 730, 8. Kevin Ramey 727, 9. Joshua Hodges 694, 10. Brian McClelland 624.

American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region Points (Top Ten): 1. Sean McClelland 780, 2. Kenneth Walker 745, 3. Joe Wood, Jr. 744, 4. Donnie Ray Crawford 711, 5. Andy Shouse 698, 6. Tony Bruce, Jr. 687, 7. Brian McClelland 595, 8. Nick Smith 509, 9. Michelle Decker 490, 10. Joshua Hodges 447.