Close this search box.

Two More in Texas for ASCS Lone Star Region

Lonnie Wheatley, TULSA, Okla. (July 6, 2009) – The North Texas Sprint Car racing scene fires back to life this weekend as the American Sprint Car Series Lone Star Region takes to a pair of DFW Metroplex ovals.

On Friday night, the series breaks new ground at Crandall’s RPM Speedway. Then, on Saturday night, the series travels west to Kennedale Speedway Park near Fort Worth.

Friday’s card atop the cozy confines of RPM Speedway marks the series debut atop the newly-built oval in its first year of operation. The series’ originally scheduled RPM debut on May 15 was rained out.

Saturday’s event at Kennedale Speedway Park marks the first of two events at the track just across the parking lot from series fixture Cowtown Speedway. Oklahoma City’s Joe Wood, Jr., topped both Regional events at Kennedale Speedway Park last year.

In the inaugural season of ASCS Lone Star competition, Fort Worth’s Kevin Ramey is out to the lead in championship points chase with a 66-point advantage over Princeton’s Brad Welborn. Two-time and reigning Sooner Region champion Brian McClelland of Tulsa, OK, is third in points, with the Flower Mound duo of Matt Clevenger and Justin Melton rounding out the current top five.

The balance of the current top ten in ASCS Lone Star points includes Michael Lang (Mesquite), Claud Estes (Godley), Kolt Walker (Graham), J.P. Bailey (Fort Worth) and Eric Baldaccini (Keller).

With the initial seven events of the season in the books, Ramey is the series only repeat winner by topping both events at Cowtown. Other event winners include Skip Wilson, Nick Smith, Gary Wright, Jerry Bell and Baldaccini.

Friday’s racing action at RPM Speedway is slated to go green at 8:30 p.m., with Saturday’s card at Kennedale Speedway Park firing off at 7:00 p.m.

The semi-banked, ¼-mile RPM Speedway dirt oval is located southeast of Crandall, TX, on US 175 to CR 4106 (Bud Story Road exit) to the intersection of CR 4104. For more information, contact the track at 972-427-6822.

The semi-banked, ¼-mile Kennedale Speedway Park dirt oval is located in Kennedale, TX, just east of Fort Worth off I-20 Exit 442-A, then 1.7 miles southeast on Mansfield Highway, then 1.6 miles southwest on New Hope Road, then 0.3 miles east on Hudson Village Creek Road. For more information, contact the track at 817-478-7223 or 817-229-0287.

The inaugural slate of ASCS Lone Star Region competition consists of 18 events at nine different tracks throughout North Texas in addition to one venture north of the Red River to Oklahoma City’s State Fair Speedway.

Past ASCS Regional Feature Winners at RPM Speedway:

None – First Sprint Car event in track history

Past ASCS Regional Feature Winners at Kennedale Speedway Park:

7/25/08 – Joe Wood, Jr.

6/27/08 – Joe Wood, Jr.

The American Sprint Car Series, in its 18th year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing events, brings the best of Sprint Car racing to nearly 100 different tracks throughout 25 states and Canada in 2009. Anchored by the Lucas Oil ASCS Sprint Car Dirt Series presented by K&N Filters, ASCS also consists of a dozen different Regions throughout the nation.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at