Close this search box.

Swindell Scores Winter Nationals Prelim Victory

Bryan Hulbert – Mesquite, Texas (October 19, 2012) Jeff Swindell was in fine form this past Friday night at the Devil’s Bowl Speedway, leading all but one lap en-route to a $3,000 payday on night one of the 39th annual Winter Nationals.

Earning the FSR Radiator High Point Award, the H&H Container Service No. 94 then drew the pole in the night’s 25 lap feature event alongside Oklahoma’s Christopher Bell.

Jumping to the race led, Swindell nearly saw his night end after going sideways exiting turn two on lap two. Nearly stalling the engine, the MVT No. 94 would fall to second but would rally back around Christopher Bell on lap three.

Restart on lap ten after the caution flew for the spun No. 22 of Koby Barksdale, the field fanned out top to bottom as Swindell continued to lead with Wayne Johnson working on Travis Rilat for third. Getting the pass on lap thirteen, the Oil Medics No. 77x began running down Christopher Bell as the leaders neared the tail of the field.

Held up for a trio of laps, Swindell would see a two second lead diminished to car lengths as Bell and Johnson made the challenge for the race lead only to see the caution lights blink on as John Carney II rolled to a stop exiting turn four.

Rolling to green with six laps to run, Danny Lasoski and Jason Johnson began battling to be in the top five with Rilat in the mix. Going three wide, Lasoski would get the run but Jason Johnson would have the advantage as the MVT No. 41 grabbed the fourth spot with series rival Wayne Johnson within sight.

Going side by side from first to sixth for the final few laps, Jeff Swindell would hold off Christopher Bell for his third win of the 2012 season. Jason Johnson would rally past Wayne Johnson with three to go for third with Danny Lasoski taking the fourth transfer spot into the Winter Nationals finale on Saturday. Travis Rilat held on to round out the top five.

Wayne Johnson held on to finish sixth with Johnny Herrera seventh. Brian Brown earned the Hard Charger of the Race by charging from twentieth to eighth with Brady Bacon and Jack Dover making up the top ten.

The 39th annual Winter Nationals at the Devil’s Bowl Speedway concludes on Saturday October 20, 2012 with races scheduled to begin at 8pm.

Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV
39th annual Winter Nationals – Night #1
Devil’s Bowl Speedway – Mesquite, Texas
October 19, 2012

Car Count: 41

Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 10-George White[1]; 2. 50Z-Zach Chappell[3]; 3. 224-John Carney II[2]; 4. 05-Brad Loyet[4]; 5. 9-Gary Wright[5]; 6. 90-Lance Norick[6]; 7. 27-Andy Shouse[7]; 8. 36-Robert Sellers[9]

Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 77X-Wayne Johnson[2]; 2. 17-Chris Bell[6]; 3. 82-Justin Henderson[1]; 4. 11C-Matt Covington[5]; 5. 2-Dustin Morgan[3]; 6. 29X-Brandon Hahn[8]; 7. 15G-Bud Goodwin[7]; DNF 12M-Kyle McCutcheon[4]

Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 1J-Danny Jennings[2]; 2. 53-Jack Dover[1]; 3. 45X-Johnny Herrera[6]; 4. 99-Brady Bacon[8]; 5. 31-Brandon Berryman[5]; DNF 17R-Aaron Reutzel[4]; DNF 52-Blake Hahn[7]; DNF 14-Martin Edwards[3]

Heat 4 (8 Laps): 1. 1M-Danny Lasoski[1]; 2. 23-Seth Bergman[2]; 3. 22-Koby Barksdale[3]; 4. 41-Jason Johnson[7]; 5. 4-Gary Taylor[5]; 6. 21-Brian Brown[8]; 7. 12W-Dale Wester[6]; 8. 4X-Shawn Petersen[4]

Heat 5 (8 Laps): 1. 29-Travis Rilat[2]; 2. 94-Jeff Swindell[8]; 3. 1A-Kevin Ramey[1]; 4. 18-Tony Bruce Jr[4]; 5. 5H-Logan Forler[5]; 6. 21T-Ray Allen Kulhanek[7]; 7. 2L-Logan Payne[3]; 8. 48-Jake Martens[6]

B Feature 1 (12 Laps): 1. 82-Justin Henderson[1]; 2. 05-Brad Loyet[2]; 3. 21T-Ray Allen Kulhanek[6]; 4. 9-Gary Wright[4]; 5. 4-Gary Taylor[5]; 6. 12W-Dale Wester[9]; 7. 12M-Kyle McCutcheon[11]; 8. 29X-Brandon Hahn[3]; 9. 90-Lance Norick[7]; 10. 2L-Logan Payne[10]; 11. 15G-Bud Goodwin[8]; DNF 69-Larry Howery[12]; DNS 17R-Aaron Reutzel

B Feature 2 (12 Laps): 1. 18-Tony Bruce Jr[2]; 2. 21-Brian Brown[3]; 3. 1A-Kevin Ramey[1]; 4. 27-Andy Shouse[7]; 5. 5H-Logan Forler[5]; 6. 48-Jake Martens[10]; DNF 31-Brandon Berryman[4]; DNF 2-Dustin Morgan[6]; DNF 4X-Shawn Petersen[11]; DNF 52-Blake Hahn[8]; DNF 36-Robert Sellers[9]; DNS 14-Martin Edwards

A Feature (25 Laps): 1. 94-Jeff Swindell[1]; 2. 17-Chris Bell[2]; 3. 41-Jason Johnson[11]; 4. 1M-Danny Lasoski[8]; 5. 29-Travis Rilat[6]; 6. 77X-Wayne Johnson[3]; 7. 45X-Johnny Herrera[4]; 8. 21-Brian Brown[20]; 9. 99-Brady Bacon[9]; 10. 53-Jack Dover[13]; 11. 23-Seth Bergman[12]; 12. 50Z-Zach Chappell[10]; 13. 82-Justin Henderson[17]; 14. 21T-Ray Allen Kulhanek[21]; 15. 11C-Matt Covington[16]; 16. 18-Tony Bruce Jr[18]; 17. 05-Brad Loyet[19]; 18. 1A-Kevin Ramey[22]; 19. 5H-Logan Forler[23]; 20. 10-George White[7]; DNF 224-John Carney II[15]; DNF 22-Koby Barksdale[14]; DNF 1J-Danny Jennings[5]

Lap Leader(s): Jeff Swindell (1) (3-25), Christopher Bell (2) Hard Charger of the Night: Brian Brown+12
FSR Radiator High Point Driver of the Night: Jeff Swindell
Provisional(s): Logan Forler (BP2)

2012 Feature Winners: Jason Johnson-12, Wayne Johnson-9, Brady Bacon-7, Tony Bruce Jr.-3, Danny Lasoski-2, Shane Stewart-2, Jeff Swindell-3, Brian Brown-1, Seth Bergman-1, Jason Martin-1, Dustin Morgan-1, Danny Wood-1, Cody Baker-1, Jordan Boston-1, Brock Lemley-1, Mason Moore-1, Brad Loyet-1, Brooke Tatnell-1, Kevin Swindell-1, Justin Henerson-1, Terry McCarl-1

Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV Points (top 10): 1. Jason Johnson 6,170; 2. Wayne Johnson 6,107; 3. Brady Bacon 5,963; 4. Johnny Herrera 5,606; 5. Tony Bruce Jr. 5,527; 6. Brad Loyet 5,523; 7. Seth Bergman 5,120; 8. Logan Forler 5,064; 9. Dustin Morgan 4,913; 10. Gary Wright 4,880

The 2012 season marks the 21st year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing for the American Sprint Car Series, which brings the best of Sprint Car racing to dozens of different tracks throughout the nation and into Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil Sprint Car Series, ASCS also consists of ten different Regions throughout the nation.

Lucas Oil Products is the title sponsor of the American Sprint Car Series. More information can be found on Lucas Oil Products at MAVTV is the presenting sponsor of the American Sprint Car Series. For information regarding availability and listings in your area log onto

Associate sponsors for the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MavTV include: Hoosier Racing Tire, Brodix, Geico, E3 Spark Plugs, General Tire, K&N Filters,, FSR Radiator and Racing Proucts, Schoenfeld Headers,, Weld Wheels, Maxwell Industries, Print Place, Simpson, Wesmar Racing Engines, and Hilborn Injection Systems.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at as well as Twitter (@LucasOilASCS) and Facebook. News and information can also be sent to you with the ASCS E-News Letter. Sign up with your Cell Phone by texting ASCS to 22828.

Photo Credit: Tim Aylwin