Close this search box.

Swindell Grabs Wicked City Opener

Bryan Hulbert – Dodge City, Kansas (September 1, 2012) On a breezy night in Kansas the Wicked City Shootout kicked off with Bartlett, Tennessee’s Jeff Swindell grabbing the $3,000 Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV feature event.

Rolling off fourth in the Randy Washburn owned Team Zero Sprint Car, Swindell quickly jetted to second behind Joe Wood Jr. Taking off from the outside of the front row, the O.E.M. No. 11 looked to be in control before contact with an infield tractor tire sent the Oklahoma City native pit side as the field worked on completing lap nine.

Inheriting the lead, the Pride Ag Resources No. 0 was quickly challenged by eighth starting Brian Brown. Diving to the bottom of the track entering turn one on the restart, Brown gave Swindell no choice but to back out of the throttle but the top spot would only be for the back straight-a-way as Swindell retook the point exiting turn three.

Expanding to a comfortable advantage, Swindell left the battle for the runner up spot between Brian Brown and Logan Forler. Coming up from sixth, Forler swapped lines several times with the Casey’s General Store No. 21 throughout slower traffic before the Lucas Oil No. 5h secured the runner up spot on the seventeenth circuit.

Slowing for a caution with five laps remaining, a pair of lapped cars sat between Swindell and Forler as the green flew. With an exceptional restart, Swindell opened up his advantage as Brian Brown and Logan Forler continued their fight with Wayne Johnson and Jason Johnson battling it out for the final transfer spot into Sunday’s A-Feature.

Crossing under the white flag with better than three seconds between himself and Logan Forler, it was smooth sailing for Jeff Swindell to claim his third career Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV feature win. Logan Forler was second with Brian Brown and Wayne Johnson holding onto the final transfer spot. Jason Johnson was would claim fifth after starting fifteenth.

Brady Bacon was the Hard Charger after a engine problems forced Bacon to transfer out of the B-Main. The Fatheads Eyewear No. 99 crossed the line sixth after starting nineteenth. Johnny Herrera was seventh with Dustin Morgan eighth. Kaley Gharst and eighteenth starting Kyle McCutcheon made up the top ten.

The Wicked City Shootout concludes Sunday September 2, 2012 with races scheduled to begin at 7:30pm CT.

Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV
Wicked City Shootout
Dodge City Raceway Park – Dodge City, Kansas
September 1, 2012

Car Count: 32

Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 11-Joe Wood Jr[2]; 2. 17-Josh Baughman[1]; 3. 18-Tony Bruce Jr[4]; 4. 45X-Johnny Herrera[8]; 5. 1-Ty Williams[3]; 6. 05-Brad Loyet[7]; 7. 11G-Mike Goodman[6]; DNF 9M-Ricky Montgomery[5]

Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 21-Brian Brown[1]; 2. 77X-Wayne Johnson[2]; 3. 50Z-Zach Chappell[3]; 4. 6X-Kaley Gharst[6]; 5. E85-Gary Taylor[4]; 6. 12M-Kyle McCutcheon[7]; 7. 23-Seth Bergman[8]; 8. 21X-Taylor Velasquez[5]

Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 5H-Logan Forler[4]; 2. 92-Jordan Weaver[2]; 3. 0M-Steven Richardson[3]; 4. 29-Brandon Hahn[6]; 5. 38-Cody Baker[8]; DNF 99-Brady Bacon[1]; DNF 81-Danny Wood[7]; DNF 21W-Wes Wofford[5]

Heat 4 (8 Laps): 1. 0-Jeff Swindell[4]; 2. 72-Raymond Seemann[2]; 3. 9-Gary Wright[3]; 4. 2-Dustin Morgan[7]; 5. 41-Jason Johnson[8]; 6. 14K-Kyle Bellm[5]; 7. 11W-Wyatt Burks[1]; 8. 16K-Kaden Taylor[6]

B Feature (12 Laps): 1. 9-Gary Wright[2]; 2. 12M-Kyle McCutcheon[5]; 3. 99-Brady Bacon[10]; 4. 05-Brad Loyet[4]; 5. 0M-Steven Richardson[1]; 6. 23-Seth Bergman[8]; 7. 14K-Kyle Bellm[7]; 8. 81-Danny Wood[9]; 9. 11W-Wyatt Burks[12]; 10. 1-Ty Williams[6]; 11. E85-Gary Taylor[3]; 12. 21X-Taylor Velasquez[15]; DNF 16K-Kaden Taylor[13]; DNF 11G-Mike Goodman[11]; DNS 9M-Ricky Montgomery; DNS 21W-Wes Wofford

A Feature (25 Laps): 1. 0-Jeff Swindell[4]; 2. 5H-Logan Forler[6]; 3. 21-Brian Brown[8]; 4. 77X-Wayne Johnson[5]; 5. 41-Jason Johnson[15]; 6. 99-Brady Bacon[19]; 7. 45X-Johnny Herrera[7]; 8. 2-Dustin Morgan[1]; 9. 6X-Kaley Gharst[12]; 10. 12M-Kyle McCutcheon[18]; 11. 18-Tony Bruce Jr[11]; 12. 05-Brad Loyet[20]; 13. 23-Seth Bergman[22]; 14. 92-Jordan Weaver[3]; 15. 72-Raymond Seemann[9]; 16. 29-Brandon Hahn[13]; 17. 38-Cody Baker[14]; DNF 0M-Steven Richardson[21]; DNF 17-Josh Baughman[10]; DNF 11-Joe Wood Jr[2]; DNF 50Z-Zach Chappell[16]; DNF 9-Gary Wright[17]

Lap Leader(s): Joe Wood Jr. (1-8), Jeff Swindell (9-25) Hard Charger of the Night: Brady Bacon+13
FSR Radiator High Point Driver of the Night: Logan Forler
Provisional(s): N/A

2012 Feature Winners: Jason Johnson-10, Wayne Johnson-8, Brady Bacon-6, Tony Bruce Jr.-3, Danny Lasoski-2, Shane Stewart-2, Brian Brown-1, Seth Bergman-1, Jason Martin-1, Dustin Morgan-1, Danny Wood-1, Cody Baker-1, Jordan Boston-1, Brock Lemley-1, Mason Moore-1, Brad Loyet-1, Brooke Tatnell-1, Kevin Swindell-1, Jeff Swindell-1

Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV Points (top 10): 1. Jason Johnson 5,503; 2. Wayne Johnson 5,477; 3. Brady Bacon 5,315; 4. Johnny Herrera 5,034; 5. Brad Loyet 5,009; 6. Tony Bruce Jr. 4,904; 7. Seth Bergman 4,609; 8. Logan Forler 4,491; 9. Dustin Morgan 4,429; 10. Gary Wright 4,425

The 2012 season marks the 21st year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing for the American Sprint Car Series, which brings the best of Sprint Car racing to dozens of different tracks throughout the nation and into Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil Sprint Car Series, ASCS also consists of ten different Regions throughout the nation.

Lucas Oil Products is the title sponsor of the American Sprint Car Series. More information can be found on Lucas Oil Products at MAVTV is the presenting sponsor of the American Sprint Car Series. For information regarding availability and listings in your area log onto

Associate sponsors for the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MavTV include: Hoosier Racing Tire, Brodix, Geico, E3 Spark Plugs, General Tire, K&N Filters,, FSR Radiator and Racing Proucts, Schoenfeld Headers,, Weld Wheels, Maxwell Industries, Print Place, Simpson, Wesmar Racing Engines, and Hilborn Injection Systems.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at as well as Twitter and Facebook.