Close this search box.

Stewart Dominates Southern Oregon

Bryan Hulbert – Medford, Oregon (July 16, 2012) Bixby, Oklahoma’s Shane Stewart left little to the imagination in round three of the 2012 Bully Dog ASCS Northwest Speedweek presented by Contingency Connection

Drawing the pole after winning his heat the Finley Farms No. 77f wired the field at Medford, Oregon’s Southern Oregon Speedway. Surviving five caution periods and a pair of red flags, one for fuel on lap 27, Stewart was chased across the line by eighth starting Mitch Olson.

Dan Menne would finish where he started with Cole Wood climbing from tenth to take fourth. Vern Wheeler, who race his way in through the night’s second B-Feature would charge from eighteenth to round out the top five. D.J. Netto, Jesse Whitney, John Michael Bunch, Roger Crockett, and Travis Rilat completed the top ten.

ASCS Northwest Region
Southern Oregon Speedway – Medford, Oregon
July 16, 2012 – Bully Dog ASCS Northwest Speedweek presented by Contingency Connection Round No. 3

Car Count: 30

Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 77f-Shane Stewart; 2. 75-Dan Menne; 3. 11ak-Justin Martin; 4. 11vs-John Michael Bunch; 5. 11-Roger Crockett; 6. 12-Cody Ridge; 7. 93-Marissa Earle; 8. 31-Colton Akerstrom

Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 88n-D.J. Netto; 2. 3-David Hibbard; 3. 33v-Henry VanDam; 4. 9R-Reece Goetz; 5. 94-Steven Tiner; 6. 17-Cam Smith; 7. 12p-Randy Pierce; 8. 51-Jason Solwold

Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 22-Garren Linder; 2. 88-Jesse Whitney; 3. 39c-Travis Rilat; 4. 6m-Phillip Del Rosa; 5. 26-Sammy Wright; 6. 88x-Brent Hoover; 7. 9a-Luke Didiuk

Heat 4 (8 Laps): 1. 98m-Mitch Olson; 2. 5n-Seth Nunes; 3. 17w-Cole Wood; 4. 6n-Billy Nutter; 5. 21w-Vern Wheeler; 6. 13-Chadd Noland; 7. 99d-Shawn Wright

B Feature 1 (12 Laps): 1. 26-Sammy Wright; 2. 11vs-John Michael Bunch; 3. 13-Chadd Noland; 4. 12-Cody Ridge; 5. 9a-Luke Didiuk; 6. 12p-Randy Pierce; DNS 51-Jason Solwold

B Feature 2 (12 Laps): 1. 21w-Vern Wheeler; 2. 9R-Reece Goetz; 3. 17-Cam Smith; 4. 88x-Brent Hoover; 5. 99d-Shawn Wright; 6. 93-Marissa Earle; 7. 31-Colton Akerstrom

A Feature (30 Laps): 1. 77f-Shane Stewart; 2. 98m-Mitch Olson; 3. 75-Dan Menne; 4. 17w-Cole Wood; 5. 21w-Vern Wheeler; 6. 88n-D.J. Netto; 7. 88-Jesse Whitney; 8. 11vs-John Michael Bunch; 9. 11-Roger Crockett; 10. 39c-Travis Rilat; 11. 94-Steven Tiner; 12. 26-Sammy Wright; 13. 9R-Reece Goetz; DNF 33v-Henry VanDam; DNF 6n-Billy Nutter; DNF 5n-Seth Nunes; DNF 6m-Phillip Del Rosa; DNF 22-Garren Linder; DNF 13-Chadd Noland; DNF 3-David Hibbard

The 2012 season marks the 21st year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing for the American Sprint Car Series, which brings the best of Sprint Car racing to dozens of different tracks throughout the nation and into Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series, ASCS also consists of ten different Regions throughout the nation.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at

Photo Credit: Nathan Prince