Close this search box.

Sprint Bandits TNT Stopped Short at I-80 by Rain; Feature Reset for Thursday

Lonnie Wheatley, GREENWOOD, Neb. (August 16, 2010) – The Sixth Annual TNT Husker Nationals championship feature event will have to wait another 72 hours, as Monday night’s Lucas Oil Sprint Bandits Tour ‘N Topless card at I-80 Speedway was halted by rain as the feature event hit the track.

After rushing through the program of heat races and qualifying races, rain hit the 4/10-mile dirt oval just as the feature field was firing off at 9:00 p.m. The feature event, along with the balance of the late model and modified program, will be made up this Thursday night with racing action going green at 7:00 p.m.

After capturing his first career Sprint Bandits TNT feature win on Sunday night at Rapid Speedway in Rock Rapids, IA, Daron Clayton earned the pole position for the I-80 feature event with a heat race win and then a runner-up showing in his qualifying race. Kyle Larson is scheduled to start outside Clayton on the front row.

The evening was marred by Jack Dover’s vicious flip into the turn three fencing on the second lap of the night’s opening heat race. Dover was transported to a local hospital for treatment.

The Sixth Annual Lucas Oil Sprint Bandits TNT Midwest Swing moves on to Sedalia’s Missouri State Fair Speedway on Tuesday night, before returning to I-80 Speedway on Thursday night for the conclusion of the TNT Husker Nationals. The week of racing action then concludes on Friday and Saturday with the $10,000-to-win Ron Shuman Classic at Kansas City’s Lakeside Speedway.

Pit passes and rain checks from the Monday night event at I-80 Speedway will be honored on Thursday night.

Sixth Annual Lucas Oil Sprint Bandits Tour ‘N Topless Midwest Swing
I-80 Speedway TNT Husker Nationals Results:

Heat Races:

Heat One (8 Laps): 1. 81-Robert Ballou, 2. 4g-Casey Shuman, 3. 35-Hunter Schuerenberg, 4. 18-Mike Hess, 5. 21-Chris Parkinson, 6. 19-Patrick Stasa, 7. 53-Jack Dover, 8. 16-Anthony Nicholson.

Heat Two (8 Laps): 1. 92-Daron Clayton, 2. 2-Kyle Larson, 3. 99-Brady Bacon, 4. 98-J.C. Bland, 5. 69-Mike Moore, 6. 23s-Stu Snyder, 7. 91-Jeff Stasa. DNS: 23-Mitch Wissmiller.

Qualifying Races:

Qualifier One (8 Laps): 1. 99-Brady Bacon, 2. 92-Daron Clayton, 3. 18-Mike Hess, 4. 35-Hunter Schuerenberg, 5. 23-Mitch Wissmiller, 6. 23s-Stu Snyder, 7. 21-Chris Parkinson, 8. 91-Jeff Stasa.

Qualifier Two (8 Laps): 1. 2-Kyle Larson, 2. 4g-Casey Shuman, 3. 81-Robert Ballou, 4. 98-J.C. Bland, 5. 69-Mike Moore. DNS: 19-Patrick Stasa, 16-Anthony Nicholson, 53-Jack Dover.

Sixth Annual I-80 Speedway TNT Husker Nationals Main Event:

“A” Feature (30 Laps): Postponed by rain to Thursday night, August 19.

Scheduled “A” Feature Lineup
92 Daron Clayton – 2 Kyle Larson
4g Casey Shuman – 81 Robert Ballou
99 Brady Bacon – 35 Hunter Schuerenberg
18 Mike Hess – 98 J.C. Bland
69 Mike Moore – 21 Chris Parkinson
23s Stu Snyder – 91 Jeff Stasa
23 Mitch Wissmiller – 19 Patrick Stasa
16 Anthony Nicholson

Lucas Oil Sprint Bandits TNT Points (Top 10): 1. Brady Bacon 842, 2. (tie) Robert Ballou and Casey Shuman 834, 4. J.C. Bland 753, 5. Anthony Nicholson 740, 6. Travis Rilat 661, 7. Matt Sherrell 572, 8. Jesse Hockett 412, 9. Patrick Stasa 401, 10. Gary Taylor 382.