Close this search box.

Sooner Region in Gear for Season Opener at Lawton!

Cody Morris, Tulsa, Oklahoma (4-22-2012) – The American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region begins their 12th season of competition this Saturday night at Lawton Speedway.

Saturday night’s season opener at Lawton, Oklahoma’s famed red clay ¼ mile oval will launch an impressive 2012 campaign featuring 17 events spread across four states, while also serving as the first of four American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region events at the historic Lawton Speedway.

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma’s defending American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region champion Joe Wood Jr. will lead the pack into Saturday night action at Lawton, after joining several other Sooner shoes in Lucas Oil ASCS National Tour presented by MavTV action Friday night at northeast Oklahoma’s Salina Highbanks.

Having won two of the past 3 Sooner season campaigns, Joe Wood Jr. enters the fray hungry for his first Sooner score at Lawton since June of 2008. Even more remarkable than Wood’s winless streak at Lawton is that of Collinsville, Oklahoma’s Brian McClelland.

Collinsville, Oklahoma native Brian McClelland is also a former two-time Sooner champion (2007,2008), and yet the pilot of Ronnie Davis’ Wichita Falls, Texas based mount is seeking his first ASCS Sooner strike at Lawton.

Oil Medics ASCS Lone Star 2011 champion Matt Covington, Guthrie, Oklahoma’s Michelle Decker, and Mustang, Oklahoma’s Andy Shouse each chased Joe Wood Jr. to last season’s finish line, and are expected Saturday at Lawton for the first shot at subduing the consistently fast Oklahoma City racer.

Burleson, Texas’ John Ricketts and current Oil Medics ASCS Lone Star leader Martin Edwards have expressed their intent to take the loot back to the Lone Star State. While Lawton’s hometown gunner Joe Bob Lee intends to throw his hat in the ring for Sooner Region Rookie of the Year honors.

Saturday night’s American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region season opener at Lawton Speedway gets underway at 8pm.

For more information regarding Lawton Speedway, including ticket prices and directions, visit

Past American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region Feature Winners at Lawton Speedway:
8/20/11 – Brandon Corn
7/16/11 – Danny Wood
6/4/11 – Sean McClelland
5/14/11 – Matt Covington
10/2/10 – Andy Shouse
7/10/10 – Sean McClelland (vs. Lone Star Region)
6/5/10 – Robert Sellers
8/22/09 – Jason Johnson
7/18/09 – Brady Bacon
8/16/08 – Robert Sellers
6/14/08 – Joe Wood, Jr.
4/12/08 – Gary Taylor
9/8/07 – Kevin Ramey
8/19/06 – Kevin Ramey
4/22/06 – Sean McClelland
9/17/05 – Kevin Ramey
7/2/05 – Sean McClelland
4/30/05 – Sean McClelland
9/11/04 – Danny Wood
7/3/04 – Danny Wood
5/1/04 – Travis Rilat
9/20/03 – Kevin Ramey
7/5/03 – Nick Smith
5/3/03 – Kevin Ramey
9/14/02 – Danny Jennings
8/3/02 – Zach Chappell
7/6/02 – Foster Landon
8/18/01 – Danny Jennings
8/4/01 – Danny Jennings
7/7/01 – Robert Sellers
6/2/01 – Travis Scott

The 2012 season marks the 21st year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing for the American Sprint Car Series, which brings the best of Sprint Car racing to dozens of different tracks throughout the nation and into Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil Sprint Car Series presented by MavTV, ASCS also consists of eleven different Regions throughout the nation.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at