Close this search box.

Shouse Takes ASCS Sooner Honors at Lawton Winter Nationals

Lonnie Wheatley, LAWTON, Okla. (October 2, 2010) – Andy Shouse picked off his first American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region win of the year by reaching victory lane in Saturday night’s 25-lap feature event at the 21st Annual Lawton Speedway Winter Nationals.

The past series champion paced the final three rounds to secure his third career ASCS Sooner win and second overall ASCS Regional win of 2010 aboard the Bishop Racing Components No. 27.

Current ASCS Lone Star points leader Eric Baldaccini led the way for the opening 22 circuits before contact in turn two with ASCS Sooner points leader Sean McClelland opened the door for Shouse glory.

Shouse took the checkered flag in front of McClelland, with Joe Wood, Jr., Kolt Walker and Kevin Ramey, who rebounded from an early incident, rounding out the top five. Claud Estes was sixth, with Gary Floyd, Brian McClelland, Michelle Decker and Koby Barksdale completing the top ten.

Martin Edwards, Kenneth Walker, Shouse and Baldaccini topped heat race action for the 27-car field, with Danny Jennings winning the “B” Main.

American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Results from Lawton Speedway:

First Heat (8 Laps): 1. 45-Martin Edwards, 2. 45k-Kolt Walker, 3. 25-Brian McClelland, 4. 21$-Michelle Decker, 5. 17-Bruce Griffith, Jr., 6. 010-Brian Roberts, 7. 5-Brent Swift.

Second Heat (8 Laps): 1. 2-Kenneth Walker, 2. 7s-Robert Sellers, 3. 7m-Kevin Ramey, 4. 15b-Michael Brown, 5. 1j-Danny Jennings, 6. 33-Kris Miller, 7. 22a-Dan Adkins.

Third Heat (8 Laps): 1. 27-Andy Shouse, 2. 1-Sean McClelland, 3. 20s-Sheldon Barksdale, 4. 58-Gary Floyd, 5. 6-Terry Holland, 6. 31L-Lee Little. DNS: 22k-Kevin Barksdale.

Fourth Heat (8 Laps): 1. 4-Eric Baldaccini, 2. 55-Donnie Ray Crawford, 3. 03-Joe Wood, Jr., 4. 74e-Claud Estes, 5. 22-Koby Barksdale, 6. 35g-Barry Gifford.

“B” Feature (12 Laps): 1. 1j-Danny Jennings, 2. 22-Koby Barksdale, 3. 33-Kris Miller, 4. 35g-Barry Gifford, 5. 17-Bruce Griffith, Jr., 6. 6-Terry Holland, 7. 31L-Lee Little, 8. 010-Brian Roberts, 9. 5-Brent Swift, 10. 22k-Kevin Barksdale. DNS: 22a-Dan Adkins.

“A” Feature (25 Laps): 1. 27-Andy Shouse, 2. 1-Sean McClelland, 3. 03-Joe Wood, Jr., 4. 45k-Kolt Walker, 5. 7m-Kevin Ramey, 6. 74e-Claud Estes, 7. 58-Gary Floyd, 8. 25-Brian McClelland, 9. 21$-Michelle Decker, 10. 22-Koby Barksdale, 11. 1j-Danny Jennings, 12. 33-Kris Miller, 13. 35g-Barry Gifford, 14. 20s-Sheldon Barksdale, 15. 2-Kenneth Walker, 16. 4-Eric Baldaccini, 17. 55-Donnie Ray Crawford, 18. 7s-Robert Sellers, 19. 45-Martin Edwards, 20. 15b-Michael Brown.

American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region Points (Top Ten): 1. Sean McClelland 1,637, 2. Joe Wood, Jr. 1,505, 3. Andy Shouse 1,465, 4. Kenneth Walker 1,461, 5. Donnie Ray Crawford 1,386, 6. Brian McClelland 1,345, 7. Michelle Decker 1,054, 8. Nick Smith 776, 9. Tony Bruce, Jr. 687, 10. Danny Jennings 663.