Close this search box.

Sherman Strikes in ASCS Canyon Clash Opener!

Lonnie Wheatley, PEORIA, Ariz. (April 29, 2011) – Jeremy Sherman extended his Sunoco Fuel ASCS Canyon Region points lead by racing to victory lane in Friday night’s 30-lap main event that kicked off the two-night affair at Canyon Speedway Park’s Inaugural Canyon Clash.

After starting the main event inside row two, Sherman took command in the early going and raced on to his second series win of the season aboard the Gaerte-powered Ellis Race Cars/Beaver Stripes No. 21.

The two-time ASCS Canyon Region champion posted his 30th career series win in front of early leader Chris Bonneau, who matched his previous best ASCS Canyon Region finish by taking runner-up honors.

Defending series champion Charles Davis, Jr., claimed the show position in front of Danny Sheridan, with Bruce St. James snaring his first top-five finish of the season.

Ronnie Clark was sixth, with Joshua Hodges, Mike Martin, Dalten Gabbard and “B” Main winner R.J. Johnson completing the top ten.

Stevie Sussex, Sherman, St. James and Bonneau topped heat race action for Friday night’s 28-car field before Johnson won the 12-lap “B” Main.

Sunoco Fuel ASCS Canyon Region Results from Canyon Speedway Park’s Inaugural Canyon Clash:

First Heat (8 Laps): 1. 97-Stevie Sussex, 2. 62-Danny Sheridan, 3. 6-Ronnie Clark, 4. 48T-Thomas Ogle, 5. 51-R.J. Johnson, 6. 23-Josh Castro. DNS: 96-Carson Ditsch.

Second Heat (8 Laps): 1. 21-Jeremy Sherman, 2. 12-Josh Pelkey, 3. 8-Bob Ream, Jr., 4. 16-Mike Martin, 5. 9-Ryan Linder, 6. 93-Justin Quinn, 7. 29-Mike Bonneau.

Third Heat (8 Laps): 1. 7k-Bruce St. James, 2. 74x-Joshua Hodges, 3. 11g-Garrett Guilkey, 4. 77-Dalten Gabbard, 5. 99-James Aragon, 6. 12x-Josh Grady, 7. 98-Matt Lundy.

Fourth Heat (8 Laps): 1. 78-Chris Bonneau, 2. 19-Andrew Reinbold, 3. 50-Charles Davis, Jr., 4. 2-Matt Rossi, 5. 44-Nick Aiuto, 6. 32b-Brian Hosford. DNS: 74b-Derek Williams.

“B” Feature (12 Laps): 1. 51-R.J. Johnson, 2. 44-Nick Aiuto, 3. 9-Ryan Linder, 4. 23-Josh Castro, 5. 93-Justin Quinn, 6. 96-Carson Ditsch, 7. 29-Mike Bonneau, 8. 99-James Aragon, 9. 12x-Josh Grady, 10. 98-Matt Lundy, 11. 32b-Brian Hosford. DNS: 74b-Derek Williams.

“A” Feature (30 Laps): 1. 21-Jeremy Sherman, 2. 78-Chris Bonneau, 3. 50-Charles Davis, Jr., 4. 62-Danny Sheridan, 5. 7k-Bruce St. James, 6. 6-Ronnie Clark, 7. 74x-Joshua Hodges, 8. 16-Mike Martin, 9. 77-Dalten Gabbard, 10. 51-R.J. Johnson, 11. 12-Josh Pelkey, 12. 8-Bob Ream, Jr., 13. 19-Andrew Reinbold, 14. 2-Matt Rossi, 15. 48T-Thomas Ogle, 16. 44-Nick Aiuto, 17. 23-Josh Castro, 18. 11g-Garrett Guilkey, 19. 9-Ryan Linder, 20. 97-Stevie Sussex.

Sunoco Fuel ASCS Canyon Region Points (Top Ten): 1. Jeremy Sherman 584, 2. Charles Davis, Jr. 514, 3. R.J. Johnson 501, 4. Andrew Reinbold 470, 5. Ronnie Clark 464, 6. Josh Pelkey 448, 7. Bob Ream, Jr. 443, 8. Matt Rossi 437, 9. (tie) Thomas Ogle and Dalten Gabbard 424.

[i Photo – Attached Photo: Jeremy Sherman and company in Sunoco Fuel ASCS Canyon Region victory lane after topping the opening night of the Inaugural Canyon Clash on Friday at Canyon Speedway Park in Peoria, AZ. (Terry Shaw photo)]