Close this search box.

Shane Stewart Wins 20th Annual ASCS Knoxville Nationals!

Lonnie Wheatley, KNOXVILLE, Iowa (August 7, 2010) – Bixby, Oklahoma’s Shane Stewart showed exactly why he is the reigning Lucas Oil ASCS presented by K&N Filters National champion by coming away with the top spot over the 102-car field at the 20th Annual ASCS Knoxville Nationals.

Stewart assumed the point ten laps into Saturday night’s 25-lap championship main event atop the ½-mile Knoxville Raceway clay oval and then survived a late restart for his second career ASCS Knoxville Nationals triumph worth $10,000.

One last caution that flew as the white flag appeared was the third over the last half of the race and gave Sammy Swindell and Jason Johnson one last shot at overtaking Stewart in Paul Silva’s Wesmar-powered Rock Star Energy Drink No. 57 A.R.T.

Stewart was up to the task though, beating Swindell to the stripe by 0.471-seconds for his 22nd career Lucas Oil ASCS National triumph and fourth of the year.

“I think I had several out-of-body experiences there with all those restarts,” Stewart commented in victory lane. “You can’t mess up with Sammy and Jason behind you, especially with as fast as Jason has been lately.”

After starting third, Stewart made his way past Dustin Selvage for second on the fourth circuit and set his sights on Chad Humston, who led the initial circuits from the pole position.

Stewart moved in to challenge Humston for the lead just as the race’s first caution flew with eight laps in the books for Brian Brown, who came to a stop after suffering terminal engine problems while running fourth.

Humston’s hopes diminished when he lost a brake caliper under the caution period and two laps later he slipped high exiting turn four and slapped the wall. While Stewart and others scrambled by, Humston limped across the frontstretch sans steering due to front end damage. Johnny Herrera, running fifth at the time, had nowhere to go and took a wild ride down the frontstretch after tagging Humston.

Stewart led Selvage on the lap eleven restart, with eighth-starter Swindell up to third in front of Maeschen and 13th-starter Johnson. Swindell was up to second with a lap, with Johnson up to third by the 12th circuit. Johnson then blasted past Swindell for second on the 14th round, only to have the move negated by a caution for Davey Heskin’s stalled mount.

Stewart held off Swindell and Johnson on the restart and then duplicated the feat after another caution one lap later for Brady Bacon, who suffered front end damage after testing the turn one retaining fence.

With Stewart keeping his challengers at bay over the final laps, fourth-runner Randy Hannagan slowed and brought out one final caution as the white flag flew.

Stewart was flawless over the green-white-checkered run to the stripe, with Swindell in the Big Game Tree Stands No. 1s fending off Johnson’s Don Ott-powered Haynes No. 41 Maxim for runner-up honors.

Selvage represented the Knoxville Raceway regulars with a fourth-place run, while Maeschen rounded out the top five.

Jack Dover rallied from the 18th starting position to sixth in front of fellow Lucas Oil ASCS title contenders Tony Bruce, Jr., and Danny Wood, with siblings Tim Kaeding and Bud Kaeding completing the top ten.

Dave Hall kicked off the night with a win in the 8-lap “E” Main, Ricky Logan won the 10-lap “D” Main, Danny Heskin was best in the 12-lap “C” Main and Tim Kaeding bested the 15-lap “B” Main.

Lucas Oil ASCS Sprint Cars presented by K&N Filters
20th Annual ASCS Knoxville Nationals Saturday Feature Results

“E” Main – Top 9 Advance to “D” Main

“E” Feature (8 Laps): 1. 51-Dave Hall, 2. 04-Chad Heimbaugh, 3. 5-Dave Glennon, 4. 27-Jody Rosenboom, 5. 2k-Kevin Ingle, 6. 22n-Nate Mosher, 7. 9*-Brian Parker, 8. 1mx-Jim Moughan, 9. 18h-Mike Hess, 10. 13jm-Jordan Martens, 11. 93a-Alan Ambers, 12. A12-Doc Sloan, 13. 8h-Joey Moughan, 14. 15-Joe Riedel, 15. 33-Alan Zoutte, 16. 2T-Colin Entwisle.

“D” Main – Top 4 Advance to “C” Main

“D” Feature (10 Laps): 1. 10a-Ricky Logan, 2. 93-Dustin Morgan, 3. 33a-Austin Alumbaugh, 4. 10-Jesse Giannetto, 5. 47T-Tony Shilling, 6. 94z-Zach Zimmerly, 7. 51-Dave Hall, 8. 71-Channin Tankersley, 9. 3-Nate Van Haaften, 10. 53x-Joe Beaver, 11. 22n-Nate Mosher, 12. 5-Dave Glennon, 13. 04-Chad Heimbaugh, 14. 3d-Donovan Peterson, 15. 18h-Mike Hess, 16. 2k-Kevin Ingle, 17. 9*-Brian Parker, 18. 20-Casey Friedrichsen, 19. 1mx-Jim Moughan, 20. 19L-Rob Kubli, 21. 22j-John Gaston, 22. 27-Jody Rosenboom.

“C” Main – Top 4 Advance to “B” Main

“C” Feature (12 Laps): 1. 6x-Danny Heskin, 2. 5j-Jamie Ball, 3. 14-Randy Martin, 4. 6-Kyle Hirst, 5. 71x-R.J. Johnson, 6. 5h-Justyn Cox, 7. 1w-Chad Meyer, 8. 99j-Jake Ossenfort, 9. 98m-Mitch Olson, 10. 25-Dylan Peterson, 11. 28-Jonathan Cornell, 12. 10a-Ricky Logan, 13. 45k-Kolt Walker, 14. 10-Jesse Giannetto, 15. 20s-Kyle Sager, 16. 0-Jake Martens, 17. 93-Dustin Morgan, 18. 33a-Austin Alumbaugh, 19. D12-Dennis Moore, Jr., 20. 44-Kelly Miller, 21. 21b-D.J. Brink, 22. 7-Don Young.

“B” Main – Top 4 Advance to “A” Main

“B” Feature (15 Laps): 1. 83-Tim Kaeding, 2. 14T-Brooke Tatnell, 3. 56-Davey Heskin, 4. 2m-Matt Moro, 5. 40-Clint Garner, 6. 4j-Lee Grosz, 7. 9x-Gary Wright, 8. 11x-Gregg Bakker, 9. 50z-Zach Chappell, 10. 4-Jon Agan, 11. 88-Tim Crawley, 12. 4b-Eric Baldaccini, 13. 54-Bryan Dobesh, 14. 10v-Rager Phillips, 15. 18r-Ryan Roberts, 16. 6x-Danny Heskin, 17. 2-Josh Higday, 18. 7k-Robby Wolfgang, 19. 22-Billy Alley, 20. 6-Kyle Hirst, 21. 5j-Jamie Ball, 22. 14-Randy Martin.

20th Annual ASCS Knoxville Nationals “A” Main

“A” Feature (25 Laps): 1. 57-Shane Stewart, 2. 1s-Sammy Swindell, 3. 41-Jason Johnson, 4. 7s-Dustin Selvage, 5. 1-Bronson Maeschen, 6. 53-Jack Dover, 7. 18-Tony Bruce, Jr., 8. 94-Danny Wood, 9. 83-Tim Kaeding, 10. 1x-Bud Kaeding, 11. 23w-Scott Winters, 12. 95-Matt Covington, 13. 3g-Darren Long, 14. 7a-Johnny Anderson, 15. 3c-Cale Conley, 16. 2m-Matt Moro, 17. 35au-Jamie Veal, 18. 22d-Randy Hannagan, 19. 99-Brady Bacon, 20. 56-Davey Heskin, 21. 14T-Brooke Tatnell, 22. 1m-Chad Humston, 23. 45x-Johnny Herrera, 24. 21-Brian Brown.

Lap Leaders: Chad Humston 1-9, Shane Stewart 10-25.

Lucas Oil ASCS Sprint Cars presented by K&N Filters Points (Top 20): 1. Jason Johnson 2,033, 2. Shane Stewart 1,966, 3. Brady Bacon 1,942, 4. Jack Dover 1,881, 5. Zach Chappell 1,795, 6. Tony Bruce, Jr. 1,772, 7. Tim Crawley 1,769, 8. Danny Wood 1,722, 9. Kyle Hirst 1,717, 10. Ricky Logan 1,643, 11. Matt Covington 1,606, 12. Darren Long 1,430, 13. Dustin Morgan 1,420, 14. Channin Tankersley 1,417, 15. (tie) Austen Wheatley and Justyn Cox 1,344, 17. Travis Rilat 1,152, 18. Gary Wright 1,099, 19. Andrew Marshala 823, 20. Brian Brown 658.