Close this search box.

Shane Stewart takes Elma Prelim Victory

Bryan Hulbert – Elma, Washington (July 21, 2012) Shane Stewart proved why he is a two time national champion with the Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV, making the pass form the win over Wayne Johnson coming into the final two laps at Grays Harbor Raceway.

Jumping to the race lead at the drop of the green, Stewart would set sail on the field before running into the back of the field by lap seven where Johnson would quickly become a factor as the Finley Farms No. 77f found all roads blocked. Wheel to wheel for the top spot in slower traffic, the City Vending No. 77x of Wayne Johnson would take over the point on lap nine.

Slowing on lap twelve for the spun 45x of Johnny Herrera, racing resumed with the lapped car of Cole Wood between Johnson and Stewart. Clearing the No. 17w with ease, Stewart would be joined by Sam Hafertepe Jr. , Brady Bacon, and Jason Johnson as the top five moved away from the field before a second caution flew for Rick Fauver who stopped on the bottom of turn four.

Taking the green with fourteen laps complete, the red would soon follow as Cole Wood turned over after tripping the cushion entering turn one.

Taking the green for the final time, Johnson would have Stewart and Hafertepe breathing down his neck as slower traffic approached after only a couple of laps. Going three wide in every other corner with slower traffic, Stewart would run the middle grove coming to the final two laps to pull even with Wayne Johnson for the lead.

Taking over the top spot Stewart would go uncontested the final lap and a half to the win. Wayne Johnson would hold off Sam Hafertepe Jr. for second with Brady Bacon securing fourth for the final transfer position after several fierce battles with fifth finishing Jason Johnson.

J.J. Hickle climbed from tenth to take sixth with Reece Goetz seventh. Mitch Olson claimed eighth after starting thirteenth with Jason Solwold and Logan Forler rounding out the top ten.

Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV

Bully Dog ASCS Northwest Speedweek presented by Contingency Connection.

Grays Harbor Raceway – Elma, Washington

July 21, 2012

Car Count: 35

Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 17-Cam Smith[1]; 2. 41-Jason Johnson[5]; 3. 99-Brady Bacon[6]; 4. 0j-Randy VanAagten[2]; 5. 55-Trey Starks[4]; 6. 88-Jesse Whitney[7]; 7. 45x-Johnny Herrera[9]; 8. 94-Steven Tiner[3]; 9. 18j-Travis Jacobson[8]

Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. F1-Rick Fauver[1]; 2. 26F-Shane Forte[2]; 3. 23-Seth Bergman[3]; 4. 7k-Jason Solwold[4]; 5. 5h-Logan Forler[5]; 6. 17w-Cole Wood[7]; 7. 12-Cody Ridge[6]; 8. 2-Dustin Morgan[9]; 9. 9a-Luke Didiuk[8]

Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 77x-Wayne Johnson[1]; 2. 9R-Reece Goetz[2]; 3. 98m-Mitch Olson[3]; 4. 3-J.J. Hickle[6]; 5. 8x-Jonathan Jorgenson[4]; 6. 18-Tony Bruce Jr[7]; 7. 33v-Henry VanDam[5]; 8. 11ak-Justin Martin[9]; 9. 56-Justin Youngquist[8]

Heat 4 (8 Laps): 1. 77f-Shane Stewart[2]; 2. 26r-Sam Hafertepe Jr[4]; 3. 26-Sammy Wright[1]; 4. 9-Gary Wright[6]; 5. 05-Brad Loyet[5]; 6. 11-Roger Crockett[7]; 7. 77n-Garrett Netto[8]; DNF 88n-D.J. Netto[3]

B Feature (12 Laps): 1. 5h-Logan Forler[1]; 2. 55-Trey Starks[3]; 3. 17w-Cole Wood[6]; 4. 45x-Johnny Herrera[9]; 5. 12-Cody Ridge[11]; 6. 18-Tony Bruce Jr[7]; 7. 11ak-Justin Martin[14]; 8. 88n-D.J. Netto[16]; 9. 18j-Travis Jacobson[17]; 10. 9a-Luke Didiuk[18]; 11. 56-Justin Youngquist[19]; 12. 05-Brad Loyet[2]; 13. 88-Jesse Whitney[5]; 14. 2-Dustin Morgan[12]; DNF 11-Roger Crockett[8]; DNF 77n-Garrett Netto[10]; DNF 33v-Henry VanDam[13]; DNS 8x-Jonathan Jorgenson; DNS 94-Steven Tiner

A Feature (25 Laps): 1. 77f-Shane Stewart[2]; 2. 77x-Wayne Johnson[4]; 3. 26r-Sam Hafertepe Jr[7]; 4. 99-Brady Bacon[6]; 5. 41-Jason Johnson[5]; 6. 3-J.J. Hickle[10]; 7. 9R-Reece Goetz[9]; 8. 98m-Mitch Olson[13]; 9. 7k-Jason Solwold[15]; 10. 5h-Logan Forler[17]; 11. 55-Trey Starks[18]; 12. 17-Cam Smith[3]; 13. 9-Gary Wright[11]; 14. 2-Dustin Morgan[24]; 15. 18-Tony Bruce Jr[22]; 16. 05-Brad Loyet[23]; 17. 45x-Johnny Herrera[20]; 18. F1-Rick Fauver[8]; 19. 23-Seth Bergman[12]; 20. 12-Cody Ridge[21]; 21. 26-Sammy Wright[14]; 22. 0j-Randy VanAagten[16]; DNF 26F-Shane Forte[1]; DNF 17w-Cole Wood[19]

Lap Leader(s): Shane Stewart (1-8) (24-25), Wayne Johnson (9-23) Hard Charger of the Night: Dustin Morgan+10
FSR Radiator High Point Driver: Jason Johnson
Provisional(s): Brad Loyet (1), Dustin Morgan (2-B)

2012 Feature Winners: Jason Johnson-8, Wayne Johnson-6, Brady Bacon-4, Tony Bruce Jr.-3, Brian Brown-1, Seth Bergman-1, Danny Lasoski-1, Jason Martin-1, Dustin Morgan-1, Danny Wood-1, Cody Baker-1, Jordan Boston-1, Brock Lemley-1, Shane Stewart-1

Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV Points (top 10): 1. Jason Johnson 4,157; 2. Wayne Johnson 4,148; 3. Brady Bacon 3,985; 4. Johnny Herrera 3,813; 5. Brad Loyet 3,709; 6. Tony Bruce Jr. 3,682; 7. Seth Bergman 3,413; 8. Dustin Morgan 3,303; 9. Logan Forler 3,281; 10. Gary Wright 3,219

The Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV is scheduled to compete 66 times in 15 states throughout the United States with drivers competing for their share of a $250,000 point’s fund.

The 2012 season marks the 21st year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing for the American Sprint Car Series, which brings the best of Sprint Car racing to dozens of different tracks throughout the nation and into Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil Sprint Car Series, ASCS also consists of ten different Regions throughout the nation.

Lucas Oil Products is the title sponsor of the American Sprint Car Series. More information can be found on Lucas Oil Products at MAVTV is the presenting sponsor of the American Sprint Car Series. For information regarding availability and listings in your area log onto

Associate sponsors for the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MavTV include: Hoosier Racing Tire, Brodix, Geico, E3 Spark Plugs, General Tire, K&N Filters,, FSR Radiator and Racing Proucts, Schoenfeld Headers,, Weld Wheels, Maxwell Industries, Print Place, Simpson, Wesmar Racing Engines, and Hilborn Injection Systems.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at

Photo Credit: Tim Aylwin