Close this search box.

Sellers Snares ASCS Sooner Win at Lawton

Lonnie Wheatley, LAWTON, Okla. (June 5, 2010) – Robert Sellers became the fourth different winner in as many American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region events contested this season by cracking victory lane in Saturday night’s 25-lap main event at Lawton Speedway.

Sellers outlasted 2004 ASCS Sooner co-champion Andy Shouse, leading the final nine circuits to secure his third career ASCS Sooner feature win.

While Sellers led the opening eleven rounds from the pole position, Shouse worked into the lead on the 12th circuit.

Sellers battled back in front on the 17th lap and led the rest of the way, with Shouse, ninth-starter Donnie Ray Crawford, Sean McClelland and 11th-starter Kevin Ramey rounding out the top five.

Eric Baldaccini was sixth, with Chris Lloyd, Kenneth Walker, Joe Wood, Jr., and Koby Barksdale completing the top ten.

Brian McClelland, Shouse and Barksdale topped heat race action for Saturday night’s 21-car field.

American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region Results from Lawton Speedway:

First Heat (8 Laps): 1. 25-Brian McClelland, 2. 7s-Robert Sellers, 3. 15s-Nick Smith, 4. 4-Eric Baldaccini, 5. 20s-Sheldon Barksdale, 6. 15-Kerry McAlister, 7. 010-Brian Roberts.

Second Heat (8 Laps): 1. 27-Andy Shouse, 2. 55-Donnie Ray Crawford, 3. 1-Sean McClelland, 4. 7m-Kevin Ramey, 5. 28-Chris Lloyd, 6. 18-Bruce Jennings, 7. 5-Brent Swift.

Third Heat (8 Laps): 1. 22-Koby Barksdale, 2. 21$-Michelle Decker, 3. 03-Joe Wood, Jr., 4. 2-Kenneth Walker, 5. 50-Cody Whitworth, 6. 31L-Lee Little, 7. 17-Bruce Griffith, Jr.

“A” Feature (25 Laps): 1. 7s-Robert Sellers, 2. 27-Andy Shouse, 3. 55-Donnie Ray Crawford, 4. 1-Sean McClelland, 5. 7m-Kevin Ramey, 6. 4-Eric Baldaccini, 7. 28-Chris Lloyd, 8. 2-Kenneth Walker, 9. 03-Joe Wood, Jr., 10. 22-Koby Barksdale, 11. 25-Brian McClelland, 12. 20s-Sheldon Barksdale, 13. 15k-Kerry McAlister, 14. 31L-Lee Little, 15. 17-Bruce Griffith, Jr., 16. 15s-Nick Smith, 17. 010-Brian Roberts, 18. 21$-Michelle Decker, 19. 5-Brent Swift, 20. 50-Cody Whitworth, 21. 18-Bruce Jennings.

American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region Points (Top Ten): 1. Sean McClelland 513, 2. Nick Smith 509, 3. Donnie Ray Crawford 493, 4. Joe Wood, Jr. 483, 5. Kenneth Walker 465, 6. Andy Shouse 453, 7. Tony Bruce, Jr. 407, 8. Brian McClelland 360, 9. Sherman Davis 318, 10. Taylor Velasquez 269.