Close this search box.

Sager Shines in Southern New Mexico

Lonnie Wheatley – LAS CRUCES, N.M. (July 21, 2012) – Kyle Sager picked off his first ASCS 305-ci Sprint Car feature win by charging to victory lane in Saturday night’s 25-lap main event at Southern New Mexico Speedway.

Sager took the lead away from Derek Drown on the tenth round and then withstood a late bid from Lorne Wofford to become the series’ fifth different winner of the year.

After the initial start was waved off for Billy Briley’s venture off the top of turn four, outside front row starter Derek Drown outgunned Joe Alvarado for the initial lead with sixth-starting Sager up to second in the initial five laps.

With traffic a factor by the sixth round, Sager pounced on the top spot on the tenth round and held the point over Drown, Cesar Fuentes and Wofford until a lap 14 caution for J.R. Patton and Dylan Harris in turn two.

With Sager setting the pace, Wofford made quick work of Fuentes and Drown to take over second by the 16th circuit. Wofford moved in to challenge for the point in traffic but a slight turn two bobble on the 22nd round was all it took for Sager to finish off the victory.

Sager took the checkered flag ahead of Kyle McCutcheon, who slipped around Wofford in the final corner for runner-up honors. Wofford rounded out the podium, with Drown and Fuentes rounding out the top five.

Rickey Hood advanced a handful of positions to claim sixth, with fellow sixth row starter John Carney II in seventh. Royal Jones, 18th-starter Tyler Jackson and Robert Herrera completed the top ten.

McCutcheon, Drown and Wofford topped heat race action.

Southern New Mexico Speedway ASCS 305-ci Sprint Car Results:

First Heat (8 Laps): 1. 12m-Kyle McCutcheon, 2. 9k-Kyle Sager, 3. 1m-Dylan Harris, 4. 6u-Anton Salopek, 5. 224-John Carney II, 6. 2-Tyler Jackson, 7. 25c-Lamar Skarta, 8. 3d-Don Reynolds.

Second Heat (8 Laps): 1. 74b-Derek Drown, 2. 131-Royal Jones, 3. 05-Billy Briley, 4. 1x-Rickey Hood, 5. 43-Curt Barnett, 6. 52-Aaron Quijano, 7. 99-Chuck Jackson. DNS: 148-Don Grable.

Third Heat (8 Laps): 1. 18-Lorne Wofford, 2. 186-J.R. Patton, 3. 36-Joe Alvarado, 4. 27-Cesar Fuentes, 5. 45x-Derek Demartino, 6. 9-Robert Herrera, 7. 52nm-David Burns.

“A” Feature (25 Laps): 1. 9k-Kyle Sager, 2. 12m-Kyle McCutcheon, 3. 18-Lorne Wofford, 4. 74b-Derek Drown, 5. 27-Cesar Fuentes, 6. 1x-Rickey Hood, 7. 224-John Carney II, 8. 131-Royal Jones, 9. 2-Tyler Jackson, 10. 9-Robert Herrera, 11. 6u-Anton Salopek, 12. 05-Billy Briley, 13. 1m-Dylan Harris, 14. 52nm-David Burns, 15. 25c-Lamar Skarta, 16. 99-Chuck Jackson, 17. 52-Aaron Quijano, 18. 148-Don Grable, 19. 186-J.R. Patton, 20. 45x-Derek Demartino, 21. 36-Joe Alvarado, 22. 43-Curt Barnett, 23. Don Reynolds (DNS).

Photo Credit: Jim Rosas