Close this search box.

Rilat Takes Coos Bay Cash

Bryan Hulbert – Coos Bay, Oregon (July 17, 2012) Outrunning the rain in Coos Bay, Oregon Travis Rilat led all 30 laps to claim his third career Speedweek triumph in round four of the 2012 ASCS Bully Dog Northwest Speedweek presented by Contingency Connection.

Drawing the outside of the front row, Rilat lasted three caution periods and a pair of reds to take the Tuesday night victory. Seventh starting Henry VanDam claimed the runner up spot with Roger Crockett rounding out the podium. Mitch Olson and Jason Solwold made up the top five.

Shane Stewart charged from fifteenth to sixth with Cole Wood, Steven Tiner, Jesse Whitney, and Cody Ridge completing the top ten.

ASCS Northwest Region
Coos Bay Speedway – Coos Bay, Oregon
July 17, 2012 – Bully Dog Speedweek presented by Contingency Connection Round No. 4

Car Count: 21

Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 12-Cody Ridge; 2. 33v-Henry VanDam; 3. 17-Cam Smith; 4. 88-Jesse Whitney; 5. 21s-Zack Spaulding; 6. 77f-Shane Stewart; 7. 12p-Randy Pierce

Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 11-Roger Crockett; 2. 11vs-John Michael Bunch; 3. 51-Jason Solwold; 4. 88n-D.J. Netto; 5. 88x-Brent Hoover; 6. 99d-Shawn Wright; 7. 26-Sammy Wright

Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 17w-Cole Wood; 2. 39c-Travis Rilat; 3. 98m-Mitch Olson; 4. 9R-Reece Goetz; 5. 94-Steven Tiner; 6. 31-Colton Akerstrom; 7. 9a-Luke Didiuk

A Feature (30 Laps): 1. 39c-Travis Rilat; 2. 33v-Henry VanDam; 3. 11-Roger Crockett; 4. 98m-Mitch Olson; 5. 51-Jason Solwold; 6. 77f-Shane Stewart; 7. 17w-Cole Wood; 8. 94-Steven Tiner; 9. 88-Jesse Whitney; 10. 12-Cody Ridge; 11. 21s-Zack Spaulding; 12. 88n-D.J. Netto; 13. 26-Sammy Wright; 14. 99d-Shawn Wright; 15. 88x-Brent Hoover; 16. 17-Cam Smith; 17. 31-Colton Akerstrom; 18. 9a-Luke Didiuk; 19. 9R-Reece Goetz; DNF 11vs-John Michael Bunch; DNF 12p-Randy Pierce

The 2012 season marks the 21st year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing for the American Sprint Car Series, which brings the best of Sprint Car racing to dozens of different tracks throughout the nation and into Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series, ASCS also consists of ten different Regions throughout the nation.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at

Photo Credit:Jim Marshall