Close this search box.

Rilat Rules ASCS Northwest Speedweek Opener at SOS

Lonnie Wheatley, MEDFORD, Ore. (July 12, 2010) – Travis Rilat made the nearly 1,800 mile haul from Saturday night’s Lucas Oil ASCS presented by K&N Filters National event in Hartford, SD, to Oregon pay off with a $2,000 win in Monday night’s ASCS Northwest Speedweek opener at Southern Oregon Speedway.

The Forney, TX, shoe kicked off ASCS Northwest festivities with his first ASCS win of the year aboard the Shark-powered F&J Construction No. 29 Triple-X.

Rilat took the checkered flag in the 30-lapper ahead of Mitch Olson, with leading National Rookie contender Kyle Hirst of Loomis, CA, claiming the show position.

Vern Wheeler crossed the stripe fourth, with current ASCS Northwest points leader Roger Crockett rounding out the top five. Seth Bergman was sixth, with 16th-starter Chadd Noland, 15th-starter Jayme Barnes, Steven Tiner and dan Menne completing the top ten.

Hirst, Steve Vague, Rilat and Olson topped heat race action for the 36-car field, with Barnes and Noland winning the twin “B” Main.

Round Two of the ASCS Northwest Speedweek is set for Tuesday night at Lebanon Speedway in Willamette, OR, before moving on to Sunset Speedway in Banks, OR, on Wednesday and then concluding with the Lucas Oil ASCS National Series at Washington’s Grays Harbor Raceway with the Fourth Annual Fred Brownfield Memorial on Friday and Saturday.

[b ASCS Northwest Results from Southern Oregon Speedway:]

Heat One: 1. 6-Kyle Hirst, 2. 6n-Billy Nutter, 3. 21v-Vern Wheeler, 4. 22-Garen Linder, 5. 7n-Jayme Barnes, 6. 0j-Jay Cole, 7. 55x-Ryan Gomes, 8. 33v-Henry Van Dam, 9. 23b-Colin Baker.

Heat Two: 1. 08-Steve Vague, 2. 11-Roger Crockett, 3. 39c-Jason Solwold, 4. 13-Chadd Noland, 5. 2z-Todd Zeitler, 6. 5n-Seth Nunes, 7. 12p-Randy Pierce, 8. 11w-Shane Broers, 9. 2L-Logan Forler.

Heat Three: 1. 29-Travis Rilat, 2. 26f-Shane Forte, 3. 75-Dan Menne, 4. 73-Danielle Huson, 5. 55-Trey Starks, 6. 96-Mack Brown, 7. 94-Steven Tiner, 8. 19-T.J. Hartman, 9. 27dd-David Hoiness.

Heat Four: 1. 98m-Mitch Olson, 2. 10-Kyle Miller, 3. 33v-Henry Van Dam, 4. 23-Seth Bergman, 5. 4c-Charlie Cash, 6. 88-Brent Hoover, 7. 25c-Chad Groves, 8. 93-Marissa Earle, 9. 87a-Andrew Marshala.

First “B” Feature: 1. 7n-Jayme Barnes, 2. 55-Trey Starks, 3. 11w-Shane Broers, 4. 55x-Ryan Gomes, 5. 5n-Seth Nunes, 6. 5d-Josh DeWitt, 7. 19-T.J. Hartman, 8. 25c-Chad Groves, 9. 2L-Logan Forler, 10. 88-Brent Hoover, 11. 2z-Todd Zeitler.

Second “B” Feature: 1. 13-Chadd Noland, 2. 94-Steven Tiner, 3. 33v-Henry Van Dam, 4. 4c-Charlie Cash, 5. 0j-Jay Cole, 6. 27dd-David Hoiness, 7. 12p-Randy Pierce, 8. 23b-Colin Baker, 9. 96-Mack Brown, 10. 93-Marissa Earle, 11. 87a-Andrew Marshala.

“A” Feature (30 Laps): 1. 29-Travis Rilat, 2. 98m-Mitch Olson, 3. 6-Kyle Hirst, 4. 21v-Vern Wheeler, 5. 11-Roger Crockett, 6. 23-Seth Bergman, 7. 13-Chadd Noland, 8. 7n-Jayme Barnes, 9. 94-Steven Tiner, 10. 75-Dan Menne, 11. 22-Garen Linder, 12. 10-Kyle Miller, 13. 39c-Jason Solwold, 14. 33v-Henry Van Dam, 15. 55-Trey Starks, 16. 26f-Shane Forte, 17. 11w-Shane Broers, 18. 08-Steve Vague, 19. 73-Danielle Huson, 20. 6n-Billy Nutter.

ASCS Northwest Region Points (Top Ten): 1. Roger Crockett 847, 2. Jason Solwold 784, 3. Mitch Olson 747, 4. Seth Bergman 734, 5. Jayme Barnes 680, 6. Henry Van Dam 649, 7. Brock Lemley 608, 8. Trey Starks 575, 9. Garen Linder 571, 10. T.J. Hartman 523.