Close this search box.

Reutzel Reels Off First ASCS Gulf South Win at…

[b Reutzel Reels Off First ASCS Gulf South Win at GTRP!]

Lonnie Wheatley, BEAUMONT, Texas (July 17, 2009) – The 19-year-old from Clute, TX, has been doing his part to earn the ASCS Gulf South championship by tearing off a Gulf South record 13 consecutive top-ten feature finishes.

On Friday night, Aaron Reutzel made it 14 top-tens in a row with an exclamation point by capturing his first career American Sprint Car Series feature win in the 25-lap Gulf South main event at Golden Triangle Raceway Park.

Reutzel gunned into the lead from the pole position and fought off several challenge from Michael Dupuy to post the win aboard the Motor Mike-powered KCR Racing No. 87 Triple-X, extending his series points lead to 78 markers in the process.

Tommy Bryant, second to Reutzel in the points race, claimed runner-up honors, with Channin Tankersley, Greg Rilat and Gary Watson rounding out the top five.

Ray Allen Kulhanek picked up Hard Charger honors by racing from 13th to sixth, with Kent Lewis, Jr., Scottie McDonald, Travis Elliott and Travis Knighton completing the top ten.

Blake Roberts, Knighton, Lewis and Tankersley topped heat race action for the 28-car field, with Eric Baldaccini winning the “B” Main.

ASCS Gulf South Region Results from Golden Triangle Raceway Park:

Heat One (8 Laps): 1. 21-Blake Roberts, 2. 30-Scottie McDonald, 3. 35-Greg Rilat, 4. 4-Eric Baldaccini, 5. 5-Ray Allen Kulhanek, 6. 11m-Brandon Moseley, 7. 20-Terry Monroe.

Heat Two (8 Laps): 1. 61-Travis Knighton, 2. 00-Michael Dupuy, 3. 10-George White, 4. 69-Larry Howery, 5. 93-Brandon Berryman, 6. 19-Klint Angelette, 7. 30x-Bean Elliott.

Heat Three (8 Laps): 1. 1b-Kent Lewis, Jr., 2. 21T-Tommy Bryant, 3. 70-Anthony Reaves, 4. 16-Cody Adams, 5. 52-Roger Oakes, 6. 17-Bruce Griffith, Jr. DNS: 12-Kent Lewis, Sr.

Heat Four (8 Laps): 1. 71-Channin Tankersley, 2. 87-Aaron Reutzel, 3. 3-Gary Watson, 4. 15T-Travis Elliott, 5. 40-Junior Jenkins, 6. 51-Jimmy Brooks. DNS: 23-Darryl Wills.

“B” Feature (12 Laps): 1. 4-Eric Baldaccini, 2. 40-Junior Jenkins, 3. 93-Brandon Berryman, 4. 20-Terry Monroe, 5. 30x-Bean Elliott, 6. 16-Cody Adams, 7. 19-Klint Angelette, 8. 11m-Brandon Moseley, 9. 17-Bruce Griffith, Jr., 10. 52-Roger Oakes, 11. 69-Larry Howery, 12. 51-Jimmy Brooks. DNS: 12-Kent Lewis, Sr., 23-Darryl Wills.

“A” Feature (25 Laps): 1. 87-Aaron Reutzel, 2. 21T-Tommy Bryant, 3. 71-Channin Tankersley, 4. 35-Greg Rilat, 5. 3-Gary Watson, 6. 5-Ray Allen Kulhanek, 7. 1b-Kent Lewis, Jr., 8. 30-Scottie McDonald, 9. 15T-Travis Elliott, 10. 61-Travis Knighton, 11. 40-Junior Jenkins, 12. 30x-Bean Elliott, 13. 16-Cody Adams, 14. 00-Michael Dupuy, 15. 21-Blake Roberts, 16. 93-Brandon Berryman, 17. 10-George White, 18. 4-Eric Baldaccini, 19. 70-Anthony Reaves, 20. 20-Terry Monroe.

ASCS Gulf South Region Points (Top Ten): 1. Aaron Reutzel 2,098, 2. Tommy Bryant 2,020, 3. Ray Allen Kulhanek 2,001, 4. Channin Tankersley 1,974, 5. Scottie McDonald 1,894, 6. Brandon Berryman 1,873, 7. Kent Lewis, Jr. 1,860, 8. Greg Rilat 1,793, 9. Gary Watson 1,638, 10. Jimmy Brooks 1,669.