Close this search box.

Reutzel Rallies to Gulf South Victory

Reutzel Rallies to ASCS Gulf South Victory
Bryan Hulbert – Chatham, Louisiana (July 7, 2012) With plenty of good track to operate on Clute, Texas racer Aaron Reutzel sailed to a $2,000 payday at Jones Motor Speedway in Chatham, Louisiana this past Saturday night with the Griffith Truck and Equipment ASCS Gulf South Region.

Taking the top spot following a red for Ray Allen Kulhanek on lap fifteen, the Griffith Truck and Equipment No. 87 survived the final ten circuits with Brandon Berryman taking second after taking away the spot on lap twenty. Channin Tankersley rounded out the podium after starting the night’s feature tenth.

Greg Rilat and Tommy Bryant rounded out the top five with Brian Bell setting for sixth after leading the better portion of the night’s feature. Michael McNeil, Gary Watson, Beau Smith, and Larry Howery completed the top ten.

Griffith Truck and Equipment ASCS Gulf South Region
Jones Motor Speedway – Chatham, Louisiana
July 7, 2012
Car Count: 23

Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 69-Larry Howery; 2. 19-Klint Angelette; 3. 7-Kent Lewis Sr; 4. 52x-Roger Oakes; 5. 8-Logan Bledsoe; 6. 17-Bruce Griffith Jr; 7. 02-Harry Yerrington

Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 51-Beau Smith; 2. 11-Channin Tankersley; 3. 3-Gary Watson; 4. 93-Chris Sweeney; 5. 15-Andrew VanBlarcum; 6. 24-Brandie Jass

Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 15T-Travis Elliott; 2. 35-Greg Rilat; 3. 28-Tommy Bryant; 4. 2-Wes Miller; 5. 25M-Michael McNeil; 6. 30x-Bean Elliott

B Feature (12 Laps): 1. 52x-Roger Oakes; 2. 8-Logan Bledsoe; 3. 25M-Michael McNeil; 4. 30x-Bean Elliott; 5. 17-Bruce Griffith Jr; 6. 24-Brandie Jass; 7. 15-Andrew VanBlarcum; 8. 2-Wes Miller; 9. 02-Harry Yerrington

A Feature (25 Laps): 1. 87-Aaron Reutzel[3]; 2. 31-Brandon Berryman[4]; 3. 11-Channin Tankersley[10]; 4. 35-Greg Rilat[5]; 5. 28-Tommy Bryant[12]; 6. 23b-Brian Bell[1]; 7. 25M-Michael McNeil[17]; 8. 3-Gary Watson[9]; 9. 51-Beau Smith[7]; 10. 69-Larry Howery[6]; 11. 93-Chris Sweeney[11]; 12. 17-Bruce Griffith Jr[19]; 13. 7-Kent Lewis Sr[13]; 14. 24-Brandie Jass[20]; 15. 15T-Travis Elliott[8]; DNF 21T-Ray Allen Kulhanek[2]; DNF 19-Klint Angelette[14]; DNF 30x-Bean Elliott[18]; DNF 8-Logan Bledsoe[16]; DNF 52x-Roger Oakes[15]

Weld Wheel Hard Charger: Michael McNeil +10

The 2012 season marks the 21st year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing for the American Sprint Car Series, which brings the best of Sprint Car racing to dozens of different tracks throughout the nation and into Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil Sprint Car Series, ASCS also consists of ten different Regions throughout the nation.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at