Close this search box.

Ramey Tops Gulf South Field in Waco

Bryan Hulbert – Waco, Texas (July 20, 2012) On a wide slick race track in Waco, Texas it was Ft. Worth’s Kevin Ramey who took the cash with a win at the Heart ‘O Texas Speedway with the Griffith Truck and Equipment ASCS Gulf South Region.

Drawing the pole for the night’s feature event, Ramey was light on the throttle as the surface was wide and slick, offering few chances at redemption if a mistake was made. With Ramey taking the win, Mike Goodman would take the runner up spot with Ray Allen Kulhanek taking advantage of last lap tangle between Aaron Reutzel and Michal Lang to jump from fifth to third. Reutzel would recover to finish fourth with Travis Elliot coming from eleventh to round out the top five.

Brandon Berryman was sixth with Klint Angelette seventh. Beau Smith, Tommy Bryant, and Larry Howery finishing out the top ten.

Griffith Truck and Equipment ASCS Gulf South Region

Heart ‘O Texas Speedway – Waco, Texas

July 20, 2012

Car Count: 30

Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 87-Aaron Reutzel; 2. 11g-Mike Goodman; 3. 35-Greg Rilat; 4. 12-Shawn Mize; 5. 51-Beau Smith; 6. 27-Andy Shouse; 7. 15-Andrew VanBlarcum; 8. 24-Brandie Jass

Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 45K-Kolt Walker; 2. 15T-Travis Elliott; 3. 19-Klint Angelette; 4. 14-Michael Lang; 5. 30-Brandon Corn; 6. 54-Evan Pardo; 7. 25M-Michael McNeil; 8. 69-Larry Howery

Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 31-Brandon Berryman; 2. 21T-Ray Allen Kulhanek; 3. 7m-Kevin Ramey; 4. 10-George White; 5. 11s-Patrick Stasa; 6. 74E-Claud Estes III; 7. 52-Roger Oakes

Heat 4 (8 Laps): 1. 11-Justin Melton; 2. 85-Gary Bell; 3. 79-Ryan Hall; 4. 28-Tommy Bryant; 5. 4x-Shawn Petersen; 6. 2-Wes Miller; 7. 3-Gary Watson

B Feature: 1. 35-Greg Rilat; 2. 19-Klint Angelette; 3. 28-Tommy Bryant; 4. 27-Andy Shouse; 5. 12-Shawn Mize; 6. 69-Larry Howery; 7. 25M-Michael McNeil; 8. 24-Brandie Jass; 9. 4x-Shawn Petersen; 10. 15-Andrew VanBlarcum; 11. 2-Wes Miller; 12. 11s-Patrick Stasa; DNS 74E-Claud Estes III; DNS 3-Gary Watson; DNS 52-Roger Oakes

A Feature: 1. 7m-Kevin Ramey[1]; 2. 11g-Mike Goodman[4]; 3. 21T-Ray Allen Kulhanek[6]; 4. 87-Aaron Reutzel[3]; 5. 15T-Travis Elliott[11]; 6. 31-Brandon Berryman[7]; 7. 19-Klint Angelette[16]; 8. 51-Beau Smith[13]; 9. 28-Tommy Bryant[17]; 10. 69-Larry Howery[20]; 11. 14-Michael Lang[5]; 12. 79-Ryan Hall[12]; 13. 45K-Kolt Walker[2]; DNF 35-Greg Rilat[15]; DNF 27-Andy Shouse[18]; DNF 10-George White[9]; DNF 11-Justin Melton[8]; DNF 12-Shawn Mize[19]; DNF 85-Gary Bell[10]; DNS 30-Brandon Corn

Weld Wheel Hard Charger: Larry Howery+10

The 2012 season marks the 21st year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing for the American Sprint Car Series, which brings the best of Sprint Car racing to dozens of different tracks throughout the nation and into Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series, ASCS also consists of ten different Regions throughout the nation.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at

Photo Credit: Craig Johnson