Close this search box.

Ortega Tops ASCS Southwest at Canyon

Bryan Hulbert – Peoria, Arizona (October 6, 2012) In one of only three appearances with the ASCS Southwest Region in 2012 Albuquerque, New Mexico’s Derrik Ortega made the most of it with a win at Peoria, Arizona’s Canyon Speedway Park this past Saturday night.

Gridding the field from the pole position, the No. 35 of Ortega stayed on the cushion to lead the distance in the night’s 25 lap affair; challenged briefly by Canyon Region regular Bob Ream Jr. who settled for second with Rick Ziehl making up the podium. Dalten Gabbard and Joshua Williams completed the top five. Mike Martin, J.T. Imperial, Ryan Linder, Lance Norick, and Mike Rux Jr. rounded out the top ten.

The ASCS Southwest Region continues their 2012 schedule of events on at the El Paso Speedway Park in El Paso, Texas with the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV on Friday November 9th.

ASCS Southwest Region
Canyon Speedway Park – Peoria, Arizona
October 6, 2012

Car Count: 15

Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 35-Derrik Ortega; 2. 41W-Joshua Williams; 3. 20Z-Rick Ziehl; 4. 1X-J.T. Imperial; 5. 90-Lance Norick; 6. 22X-Mike Rux Jr; 7. 91-Casey Buckman; 8. 91D-Michael Dayney

Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 2M-Mike Martin; 2. 01-Kaylene Verville; 3. 8-Bob Ream Jr; 4. 9-Ryan Linder; 5. 77-Dalten Gabbard; 6. 99X-Chuck Jackson; 7. 14-Darrell Sickles

A Feature (25 Laps): 1. 35-Derrik Ortega; 2. 8-Bob Ream Jr; 3. 20Z-Rick Ziehl; 4. 77-Dalten Gabbard; 5. 41W-Joshua Williams; 6. 2M-Mike Martin; 7. 1X-J.T. Imperial; 8. 9-Ryan Linder; 9. 90-Lance Norick; 10. 22X-Mike Rux Jr; 11. 91-Casey Buckman; 12. 99X-Chuck Jackson; 13. 14-Darrell Sickles; DNF 91D-Michael Dayney; DNF 01-Kaylene Verville

Photo Credit: Terry Shaw