Close this search box.

Nick Smith Leads ASCS Sooners to Lawton!

Lonnie Wheatley, TULSA, Okla. (June 2, 2010) – Coming off a win in the most recent American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner competition, Broken Arrow, Oklahoma’s Nick Smith leads the way into Saturday night’s Sooner action at Lawton Speedway.

Smith’s May 8 triumph at Missouri’s Springfield Raceway, his 14th career Sooner score, moved him atop the ASCS Sooner point charts.

And, with Friday’s card at Outlaw Motor Speedway postponed, the next stop is now the site of a Nick Smith ASCS Speedweek triumph in 2009.

Smith’s Speedweek triumph was his second career score atop the ¼-mile Lawton Speedway red clay oval after a Sooner score in 2003. Smith also had an apparent Speedweek win at Lawton in 2006, only to roll across the scales below the required minimum weight of 1,475 pounds.

Smith lead a solid ASCS Sooner contingent into Saturday’s action that includes past Sooner champ Sean McClelland, a three-time ASCS Sooner winner at Lawton, defending champion Joe Wood, Jr., Donnie Ray Crawford, Sherman Davis, Andy Shouse and two-time champion Brian McClelland among others.

There have been six different winners in the last six ASCS Sooner events at Lawton Speedway.

Saturday’s action at Lawton Speedway fires off at 8:00 p.m.

Lawton Speedway is located in Lawton, OK, off I-44 Exit 36, then 2.5 miles west on Lee Boulevard, then 1.4 miles south on Sheridan Road. For more information, contact the track at 580-355-6417.

The American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region is slated for 15 nights of racing action at nine different tracks throughout Oklahoma, Texas and Missouri in 2010.

Past ASCS Sooner Region Feature Winners at Lawton Speedway:
8/22/09 – Jason Johnson
7/18/09 – Brady Bacon
8/16/08 – Robert Sellers
6/14/08 – Joe Wood, Jr.
4/12/08 – Gary Taylor
9/8/07 – Kevin Ramey
8/19/06 – Kevin Ramey
4/22/06 – Sean McClelland
9/17/05 – Kevin Ramey
7/2/05 – Sean McClelland
4/30/05 – Sean McClelland
9/11/04 – Danny Wood
7/3/04 – Danny Wood
5/1/04 – Travis Rilat
9/20/03 – Kevin Ramey
7/5/03 – Nick Smith
5/3/03 – Kevin Ramey
9/14/02 – Danny Jennings
8/3/02 – Zach Chappell
7/6/02 – Foster Landon
8/18/01 – Danny Jennings
8/4/01 – Danny Jennings
7/7/01 – Robert Sellers
6/2/01 – Travis Scott

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at