Close this search box.

Naida takes S.O.D Season Finale

Bryan Hulbert/Mike Strevel – Auburn, Michigan (September 22, 2012) In front of a near standing room only crowd in Auburn, Michigan the Speed Pro Season Championship feature was picked up by Dain Naida of Belleville,MI. The Engine Pro ASCS Sprints on Dirt Presented by ARP season championship race held at Tri City Motor Speedway Saturday evening.

Gregg Dalman of Bellevue, MI captured the 2012 S.O.D. championship after 13 years of competing in sprint cars and counts as his first S.O.D. championship.

The outside front row starting Naida raced hard with pole sitter Jared Horstman the first handful of laps before Dalman overtook both for the lead on lap nine.

Hard contact with a lapped car on lap 18, saw Dalman losing the lead to Naida. Suffering front end damage, mainly to his nose wing, the Fausey Racing No. 49t battled back to second while gaining on Naida at the checkered flag.

Naida thanked the dedicated crowd who enjoyed the show on a very chilly night and thanked the Tri City staff who promised that the feature would start earlier than normal and it did with a 9:00 PM push off of the 20 car feature field. The Belleville driver thanked Miles Hill and Glenn Styres, along with the hard working crew that got him to victory lane.

Dalman brought his car back out to Tri City victory lane where he was officially introduced as the 2012 Engine Pro ASCS Sprints on Dirt Presented by ARP Champion. The veteran driver will be honored at the 2012 banquet on Friday evening November 2.

Engine Pro ASCS Sprints on Dirt Presented by ARP
Tri City Motor Speedway–Auburn, MI
September 22, 2012

Car Count: 28

Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 49T-Gregg Dalman; 2. 7X-Jamie Collard; 3. 21T-Troy Chehowski; 4. 27K-Ryan Kirkendall; 5. 22T-Tank Brakenberry; DNS 2T-Ralph Brakenberry; DNS 81L-Keith Love

Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 2M-Dustin Daggett; 2. 49-Shawn Dancer; 3. 7-Darren Long; 4. 16-Ryan Ruhl; 5. 10S-Jay Steinbach; 6. 16C-Greg Wheeler; 7. 70-Jim Lingar

Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 00-Ryan Grubaugh; 2. 5-Keith Dempster; 3. 2G-Joe Geibe; 4. 88-Mike Daggett; 5. 46-Robert Huisken; 6. 20A-Andy Chehowski; DNS 26-Davey Brown

Heat 4 (8 Laps): 1. 07X-Dain Naida; 2. 17-Jared Horstman; 3. 10-Brett Mann; 4. 31-Andy Teunessen; 5. 89-Chris Pobanz; 6. 1-Chad Blonde; 7. 4-Eric Smith

B Feature (10 Laps): 1. 31-Andy Teunessen; 2. 10S-Jay Steinbach; 3. 16C-Greg Wheeler; 4. 46-Robert Huisken; 5. 20A-Andy Chehowski; 6. 81L-Keith Love; 7. 1-Chad Blonde; 8. 4-Eric Smith; 9. 22T-Tank Brakenberry; DNS 26-Davey Brown; DNS 2T-Ralph Brakenberry; DNS 70-Jim Lingar

A Feature (30 Laps): 1. 07X-Dain Naida; 2. 49T-Gregg Dalman; 3. 17-Jared Horstman; 4. 7X-Jamie Collard; 5. 16-Ryan Ruhl; 6. 00-Ryan Grubaugh; 7. 2M-Dustin Daggett; 8. 5-Keith Dempster; 9. 7-Darren Long; 10. 88-Mike Daggett; 11. 31-Andy Teunessen; 12. 49-Shawn Dancer; 13. 10-Brett Mann; 14. 21T-Troy Chehowski; 15. 46-Robert Huisken; 16. 10S-Jay Steinbach; 17. 16C-Greg Wheeler; 18. 2G-Joe Geibe; 19. 27K-Ryan Kirkendall; 20. 89-Chris Pobanz

Photo Credit: Jenifer Peterson