Close this search box.

Mike Bonneau Sizzles at Canyon Speedway Park

Bryan Hulbert – Peoria, Arizona (June 30, 2012) The 2nd annual Summer Sizzle at Peoria, Arizona’s Canyon Speedway Park lived up to its name in more ways than one.

With afternoon temperatures in excess of 110 degrees Fahrenheit, thirty-one drivers checked -in to do battle with the ASCS Canyon Region.

Taking the early lead, front row starter Charles Davis Jr. would find himself tangled in the first of the three cautions during the feature event.

Swapping the led between Shon Deskins and eighth starting Mike Bonneau, it was Bonneau who crossed the stripe ahead of tenth starting R.J. Johnson with Shon Deskins fading to third in the closing laps.

Josh Pelkey utilized a wide selection of racing grooves to advanced ten positions to claim fourth with Thomas Olge rounding out the top five.

Mike Martin, who started twelfth, would advance to sixth with Rick Ziehl seventh. Andrew Reinbold, Josh Shipley, and Justin Quinn filled out the rest of the top ten.

American Sprint Car Series Canyon Region
Canyon Speedway Park – Peoria, Arizona
June 30, 2012

Car Count: 31

Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 93-Justin Quinn; 2. 48T-Thomas Ogle; 3. 7k-Bruce St. James; 4. 32B-Brian Hosford; 5. 9-Ryan Linder; 6. 8-Bob Ream Jr; 7. 78-Chris Bonneau; 8. 0x-Matt Martinez

Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 41w-Rick Ziehl; 2. 51-R.J. Johnson; 3. 21-Shon Deskins; 4. 2-Josh Shipley; 5. 14-Darrell Sickles; 6. 17k-Kyle Danielson; 7. 16A-Mike Visser; 8. 82-Tom Kamrath

Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 29-Michael Bonneau; 2. 19-Andrew Reinbold; 3. 23x-Josh Castro; 4. 23-Colby Copeland; 5. 80-Bugs Norbury; 6. 4c-Billy Chester III; 7. 7J-Kiley Fellars; 8. 53-Tom Lee

Heat 4 (8 Laps): 1. 50-Charles Davis Jr; 2. 16-Mike Martin; 3. 12-Josh Pelkey; 4. XXX-Zach Sawyers; 5. 77-Dalten Gabbard; 6. 6JT-Michael Curtis; 7. 94-James Aragon

B Feature 1: 1. 32B-Brian Hosford; 2. 9-Ryan Linder; 3. 80-Bugs Norbury; 4. 4c-Billy Chester III; 5. 78-Chris Bonneau; 6. 7J-Kiley Fellars; 7. 23x-Josh Castro; 8. 8-Bob Ream Jr; 9. 82-Tom Kamrath; 10. 94-James Aragon

B Feature 2: 1. 12-Josh Pelkey; 2. 23-Colby Copeland; 3. 17k-Kyle Danielson; 4. 77-Dalten Gabbard; 5. 6JT-Michael Curtis; 6. 16A-Mike Visser; 7. 14-Darrell Sickles; 8. 53-Tom Lee; 9. 0x-Matt Martinez

A Feature (25 Laps): 1. 29-Michael Bonneau[8]; 2. 51-R.J. Johnson[10]; 3. 21-Shon Deskins[1]; 4. 12-Josh Pelkey[14]; 5. 48T-Thomas Ogle[4]; 6. 16-Mike Martin[12]; 7. 41w-Rick Ziehl[7]; 8. 19-Andrew Reinbold[11]; 9. 2-Josh Shipley[6]; 10. 93-Justin Quinn[5]; 11. 77-Dalten Gabbard[20]; 12. 9-Ryan Linder[15]; 13. XXX-Zach Sawyers[9]; 14. 32B-Brian Hosford[13]; 15. 4c-Billy Chester III[19]; 16. 7k-Bruce St. James[3]; 17. 80-Bugs Norbury[17]; 18. 17k-Kyle Danielson[18]; 19. 23-Colby Copeland[16]; 20. 50-Charles Davis Jr[2]

The 2012 season marks the 21st year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing for the American Sprint Car Series, which brings the best of Sprint Car racing to dozens of different tracks throughout the nation and into Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil Sprint Car Series, ASCS also consists of ten different Regions throughout the nation.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at

Photo Credit: Terry Shaw