Close this search box.

McNeil a First-Time ASCS Winner at Texas Thunder Speedway!

Cody Morris, Killeen, Texas (4-28-2012) – Rolling out an impressive eighth Griffith Truck & Equipment ASCS Gulf South Region event of the 2012 campaign before May has even arrived, the Gulf South forces assembled for the first ever ASCS battle at Killeen’s Texas Thunder Speedway.

A pair of southern Texas talents vied for their first ASCS victory at the first ASCS visit to TSS, and after a race long duel it was Michael McNeil taking the $2,000 winners purse and his first career ASCS victory of his career.

A 2010 I-30 Speedway Mini Sprint Nationals Champion, McNeil began his racing career in 1998 at the same venue he was destined to score his first ever achievement at: Texas Thunder Speedway.

McNeal advanced from the 6 spot at the start of the race to battle past Travis Elliott, also seeking his first ASCS victory; on the 13th round and fought off several Elliott attempts over the final half of the 25 lap ASCS Gulf South main event to snare the win aboard the Hi-Tech and Left Turn Productions no. 25m.

Elliott settled for runner up honors with Highlands, Texas native Channin Tankersley moving up a spot to claim show position honors. Michael Lang and Larry Howery completed the top five running order.

New Mexico’s Josh Hodges joined Gulf South veteran Greg Rilat and Tankersley as heat race winners over the 22 car field, with Brandon Berryman victorious in the night’s lone 12 lap B Feature.

Featured Photo Credit: Craig Johnson

Griffith Truck & Equipment ASCS Gulf South Region
April 28th, 2012 / Event 8 of 26
Texas Thunder Speedway / Killeen, Texas

A Feature (25 Laps): 1. 25M-Michael McNeil[6]; 2. 15T-Travis Elliott[1]; 3. 0-Channin Tankersley[4]; 4. 14-Michael Lang[11]; 5. 69-Larry Howery[7]; 6. 21T-Ray Allen Kulhanek[16]; 7. 28-Tommy Bryant[12]; 8. 54-Evan Pardo[9]; 9. 35-Greg Rilat[5]; 10. 51-Beau Smith[18]; 11. 19-Klint Angelette[2]; 12. 31-Brandon Berryman[15]; 13. 93-Chris Sweeney[17]; 14. 2-Wes Miller[14]; 15. 52-Roger Oakes[13]; 16. 24-Brandie Jass[20]; 17. 3-Gary Watson[3]; 18. 7W-Dustin Welch[19]; 19. 66-J.J. Simmons[10]; DNF 74x-Joshua Hodges[8]
Lap Leaders: Travis Elliott 1-12, Michael McNeil 13-25

B Feature (12 Laps): 1. 31-Brandon Berryman; 2. 21T-Ray Allen Kulhanek; 3. 93-Chris Sweeney; 4. 51-Beau Smith; 5. 7W-Dustin Welch; 6. 24-Brandie Jass; 7. 4x-Shawn Petersen; 8. 15-Andrew VanBlarcum
Top 6 advance to A Feature

Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 74x-Joshua Hodges; 2. 19-Klint Angelette; 3. 66-J.J. Simmons; 4. 28-Tommy Bryant; 5. 2-Wes Miller; 6. 15-Andrew VanBlarcum; 7. 4x-Shawn Petersen; DNS 21T-Ray Allen Kulhanek

Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 35-Greg Rilat; 2. 54-Evan Pardo; 3. 15T-Travis Elliott; 4. 14-Michael Lang; 5. 31-Brandon Berryman; 6. 24-Brandie Jass; 7. 93-Chris Sweeney

Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 0-Channin Tankersley; 2. 25M-Michael McNeil; 3. 69-Larry Howery; 4. 3-Gary Watson; 5. 52-Roger Oakes; 6. 7W-Dustin Welch; 7. 51-Beau Smith

Griffith Truck & Equipment ASCS Gulf South Region point standings: 1. Ray Allen Kulhanek 986; 2. Brandon Berryman 934; 3. Michael McNeil 928; 4. Travis Elliott 908; 5. Beau Smith 858; 6. Wes Miller 836; 7. Larry Howery 819; 8. Greg Rilat 818; 9. Klint Angelette 805; 10. Gary Watson 741