Close this search box.

McCarl Sails to Victory on Lone Star Sprint Nationals Night Two

Bryan Hulbert – Kilgore, Texas (October 12, 2012) Terry McCarl was on a mission on the Oil Medics Qualifying Night #2 at the 2nd annual Lone Star Sprint Car Nationals at Kilgore’s Lone Star Speedway in the KJC Auto Title Loans No. 24.

Gridding the field sixth, McCarl watched early on as Channin Tankersley took off into the early lead from the outside of row one. Slowing for the spun No. 17t of Christopher Bell on lap two, the race resumed for a trio of laps before Shawn Petersen tagged the wall in turn one, sending the No. 4x spinning to the bottom of the Lone Star Speedway. Petersen would not continue.

Green to caution on lap six for Joe Wood Jr., the field would go red on lap seven when the Steward Builders No. 224 of John Carney II flipped hard in turns three and four. Carney was unharmed.

Grabbing the race lead from Tankersley on the lap six restart, the Deanfield Farms No. 24 of McCarl would pull to a half straight advantage before slower traffic brought the field to his back bumper. Held up on the inside line entering turn one, McCarl would see the lead up for grabs as Tankersley ran to the top of the track. Pulling nearly even with the No. 24, Tankersley would see his night come to an end after contact with the wall rendered the suspension of the Cooper Racing No. 71 useless.

Restarting for a pair of laps, the caution would fly again as Kevin Swindell spun across the track exiting turn four with cars lined up for the hit. Getting on the gas, Swindell avoided catastrophe and was able to restart.

Taking off with fifteen laps to run, McCarl continued to show the way with Blake Hahn holding off several charges from Jeff Swindell. Taking away fourth on the restart, Travis Rilat would begin working on Swindell as the leaders raced back into slower traffic before the caution waved again as the No. 11c of Matt Covington spun on the exit of turn four followed by team mate Joe Wood Jr. on lap twenty-six.

Green for the final time, Terry McCarl would run away for the win with Blake Hahn scoring his first podium finish with the Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV. After a horrible end to night one of the Lone Star Sprint Nationals, Jeff Swindell would take third with Travis Rilat holding onto the fourth transfer spot into Saturday’s $13,000 to win feature event. Sam Hafertepe Jr. rounded out the top five.

Tony Bruce Jr. ended up sixth with Seth Bergman seventh. Zach Pringle charged from nineteenth to eighth followed by Christopher Bell in ninth. After having to drop to the tail for a caution on lap fifteen, Kevin Swindell rebounded to round out the top ten.

The Lone Star Sprint Car Nationals concludes with the Eagle Motorsports Championship night on Saturday October 12, 2012. Races are scheduled to begin at 7:00pm.

Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV
Lone Star Sprint Car Nationals – The Oil Medics Night #2
Lone Star Speedway – Kilgore, Texas
October 12, 2012

Car Count:40
Event Car Count: 46

Heat 1 (10 Laps): 1. 4X-Shawn Petersen[2]; 2. 11C-Matt Covington[1]; 3. 39C-Travis Rilat[8]; 4. 45X-Johnny Herrera[3]; 5. 14Z-Zach Pringle[6]; 6. 9-Gary Wright[7]; 7. 17-Josh Baughman[4]; DNF 11G-Mike Goodman[5]

Heat 2 (10 Laps): 1. 18-Tony Bruce Jr[3]; 2. 71-Channin Tankersley[7]; 3. 81-Danny Wood[4]; 4. 69-Larry Howery[6]; 5. 11-Justin Melton[5]; 6. 21-Wes Wofford[8]; DNF 17R-Aaron Reutzel[2]; DNF 12M-Kyle McCutcheon[1]

Heat 3 (10 Laps): 1. 23-Seth Bergman[1]; 2. 39-Kevin Swindell[4]; 3. 224-John Carney II[6]; 4. 29-Brandon Hahn[2]; 5. 45-Martin Edwards[3]; 6. 41W-Joshua Williams[8]; 7. 5-Jerod Roller[5]; 8. 33-Mark Huddleston[7]

Heat 4 (10 Laps): 1. 15H-Sam Hafertepe Jr[2]; 2. 94-Jeff Swindell[4]; 3. 41-Jason Johnson[1]; 4. 11S-Joe Wood Jr[3]; 5. 4J-Jamie Passmore[5]; 6. 28-Tommy Bryant[6]; 7. 90-Lance Norick[7]; 8. 14B-Robert Byrom[8]

Heat 5 (10 Laps): 1. 52-Blake Hahn[4]; 2. 24-Terry McCarl[7]; 3. 17T-Christopher Bell[1]; 4. 76-John Ricketts[6]; 5. 74E-Claud Estes III[2]; 6. 12W-Dale Wester[5]; 7. 11P-Preston Peebles II[8]; 8. 32-Derek Weaver[3]

B Feature 1 (15 Laps): 1. 76-John Ricketts[1]; 2. 14Z-Zach Pringle[3]; 3. 45-Martin Edwards[4]; 4. 74E-Claud Estes III[5]; 5. 41W-Joshua Williams[6]; 6. 5-Jerod Roller[9]; 7. 11P-Preston Peebles II[10]; 8. 14B-Robert Byrom[12]; DNF 29-Brandon Hahn[2]; DNF 28-Tommy Bryant[7]; DNS 17-Josh Baughman; DNS 12M-Kyle McCutcheon

B Feature 2 (15 Laps): 1. 11S-Joe Wood Jr[2]; 2. 17R-Aaron Reutzel[8]; 3. 4J-Jamie Passmore[4]; 4. 12W-Dale Wester[7]; 5. 90-Lance Norick[9]; 6. 33-Mark Huddleston[11]; DNF 11-Justin Melton[3]; DNF 21-Wes Wofford[5]; DNS 45X-Johnny Herrera; DNS 9-Gary Wright; DNS 11G-Mike Goodman; DNS 32-Derek Weaver

A Feature (30 Laps): 1. 24-Terry McCarl[6]; 2. 52-Blake Hahn[1]; 3. 94-Jeff Swindell[10]; 4. 39C-Travis Rilat[7]; 5. 15H-Sam Hafertepe Jr[5]; 6. 18-Tony Bruce Jr[3]; 7. 23-Seth Bergman[8]; 8. 14Z-Zach Pringle[19]; 9. 17T-Christopher Bell[15]; 10. 39-Kevin Swindell[9]; 11. 45-Martin Edwards[21]; 12. 41-Jason Johnson[14]; 13. 81-Danny Wood[13]; 14. 11S-Joe Wood Jr[18]; 15. 69-Larry Howery[16]; DNF 12W-Dale Wester[24]; DNF 11C-Matt Covington[12]; DNF 74E-Claud Estes III[23]; DNF 71-Channin Tankersley[2]; DNF 4J-Jamie Passmore[22]; DNF 224-John Carney II[11]; DNF 4X-Shawn Petersen[4]; DNF 76-John Ricketts[17]; DNS 17R-Aaron Reutzel

Lap Leader(s): Channin Tankersley (1-5), Terry McCarl (6-30) Hard Charger of the Night: Zach Pringle+11
FSR Radiator High Point Driver of the Night: Blake Hahn
Provisional(s): N/A

2012 Feature Winners: Jason Johnson-12, Wayne Johnson-8, Brady Bacon-7, Tony Bruce Jr.-3, Danny Lasoski-2, Shane Stewart-2, Jeff Swindell-2, Brian Brown-1, Seth Bergman-1, Jason Martin-1, Dustin Morgan-1, Danny Wood-1, Cody Baker-1, Jordan Boston-1, Brock Lemley-1, Mason Moore-1, Brad Loyet-1, Brooke Tatnell-1, Kevin Swindell-1, Justin Henerson-1, Terry McCarl-1

Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV Points (top 10): 1. Jason Johnson 6,035; 2. Wayne Johnson 5,985; 3. Brady Bacon 5,850; 4. Johnny Herrera 5,487; 5. Tony Bruce Jr. 5,429; 6. Brad Loyet 5,427; 7. Seth Bergman 5,012; 8. Logan Forler 4,972; 9. Dustin Morgan 4,848; 10. Gary Wright 4,815

The 2012 season marks the 21st year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing for the American Sprint Car Series, which brings the best of Sprint Car racing to dozens of different tracks throughout the nation and into Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil Sprint Car Series, ASCS also consists of ten different Regions throughout the nation.

Lucas Oil Products is the title sponsor of the American Sprint Car Series. More information can be found on Lucas Oil Products at MAVTV is the presenting sponsor of the American Sprint Car Series. For information regarding availability and listings in your area log onto

Associate sponsors for the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MavTV include: Hoosier Racing Tire, Brodix, Geico, E3 Spark Plugs, General Tire, K&N Filters,, FSR Radiator and Racing Proucts, Schoenfeld Headers,, Weld Wheels, Maxwell Industries, Print Place, Simpson, Wesmar Racing Engines, and Hilborn Injection Systems.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at as well as Twitter (@LucasOilASCS) and Facebook. News and information can also be sent to you with the ASCS E-News Letter. Sign up with your Cell Phone by texting ASCS to 22828.

Photo Credit: Tim Aylwin