Close this search box.

Make it Two in a Row for Ziehl in ASCS Southwest Action!

Lonnie Wheatley, TUCSON, Ariz. (June 4, 2011) – Rick Ziehl made it two Sunoco Fuel ASCS Southwest wins in a row by racing to victory lane in Saturday night’s 25-lap main event atop the 3/8-mile USA Raceway clay oval.

The three-time and reigning series champion race from the fourth starting position to capture his seventh career ASCS Southwest triumph aboard the Wesmar-powered Lucas Oil No. 20z Maxim.

Ziehl took the checkered flag ahead of John Carney II, with pole starter Joshua Hodges, 11th-starter Ben Gregg and Kyle McCutcheon rounding out the top five.

Lance Norick was sixth, with J.T. Imperial, Calvin Landis, Joshua Williams and Steve Stone completing the top ten.

McCutcheon and Carney II won Saturday night’s heat races.

Sunoco Fuel ASCS Southwest Region Results from USA Raceway:

Heat One (8 Laps): 1. 8-John Carney II, 2. 57x-Steve Stone, 3. 20z-Rick Ziehl, 4. 90-Lance Norick, 5. 77T-Colt Treharn, 6. 19-Wes Wofford, 7. 55T-Brent McKee, 8. 79-Calvin Landis, 9. 77-Dalten Gabbard.

Heat Two (8 Laps): 1. 5-Kyle McCutcheon, 2. 27-Perry McMillan, 3. 1x-J.T. Imperial, 4. 74x-Joshua Hodges, 5. 2b-Ben Gregg, 6. 8az-Jordan Stetson, 7. 15c-Joey Chester, 8. 41w-Joshua Williams.

“A” Feature (25 Laps): 1. 20z-Rick Ziehl, 2. 8-John Carney II, 3. 74x-Joshua Hodges, 4. 2b-Ben Gregg, 5. 5-Kyle McCutcheon, 6. 90-Lance Norick, 7. 1x-J.T. Imperial, 8. 79-Calvin Landis, 9. 41-Joshua Williams, 10. 57x-Steve Stone, 11. 15c-Joey Chester, 12. 8az-Jordan Stetson, 13. 19-Wes Wofford, 14. 55T-Brent McKee, 15. 77T-Colt Treharn, 16. 27-Perry McMillan. DNS: 77-Dalten Gabbard.

Sunoco Fuel ASCS Southwest Points (Top 10): 1. Rick Ziehl 994, 2. John Carney II 939, 3. Calvin Landis 869, 4. Kyle McCutcheon 864, 5. Joshua Williams 846, 6. Lance Norick 816, 7. Dalten Gabbard 757, 8. Joshua Hodges 697, 9. Steve Stone 682, 10. Joey Chester 600.

Photo – Attached Photo: Rick Ziehl picked off his second consecutive Sunoco Fuel ASCS Southwest main event by racing to victory lane in Saturday night’s 25-lapper at Tucson’s USA Raceway. (Terry Shaw photo)