Close this search box.

Lutz Takes Another ASCS Win at I-90 Speedway

Lonnie Wheatley, HARTFORD, S.D. (June 25, 2010) – Eric Lutz knows the fast way around I-90 Speedway as he picked up another American Sprint Car Series feature win atop the high-banked, 3/8-mile clay oval with Friday night’s ASCS Midwest triumph.

Lutz gunned into the lead at the outset and led throughout, withstanding a late challenge from Chad Meyer for his fourth career ASCS Regional triumph and second in a row at I-90 Speedway after a July win last year.

Lutz took the checkered flag aboard Monte Lutz’ Bruns-powered Dell Rapids Chevrolet/Ahrens Chimney Technique No. 5 Maxim, with Meyer settling for runner-up honors.

Lee Grosz rallied from eleventh to claim the show position, Lane Brenden was fourth and current ASCS Midwest points leader Jack Dover made a last move around Jake Peters to round out the top five after starting 14th.

Peters was sixth, with Gregg Bakker, Dusty Wasmund, Kevin Ingle and Dale Furby completing the top ten.

Bryan Dobesh, Lutz, Wasmund and Mitch Runge topped heat race action for the 27-car field, with Casey Heser winning the “B” Main. Dobesh held second until lap 20 of the main event when he ran afoul of a lapped car, with third-runner Runge climbing a tire on the restart and launching over the turn four fence without injury.

ASCS Midwest Region Results from I-90 Speedway:

First Heat (8 Laps): 1. 54-Bryan Dobesh, 2. 8-Lane Brenden, 3. 57x-Jake Peters, 4. 12-Tyler Drueke, 5. 75c-Casey Heser, 6. 99j-Jake Ossenfort, 7. 7-Daryl Reverts.

Second Heat (8 Laps): 1. 5-Eric Lutz, 2. 2k-Kevin Ingle, 3. 1w-Chad Meyer, 4. 24a-Jack Dover, 5. 9m-Marlon Jones, 6. 12s-Brock Dump, 7. 32-Greg Valentine.

Third Heat (8 Laps): 1. 9-Dusty Wasmund, 2. 24-Randy Droescher, 3. 25-Dylan Peterson, 4. 11x-Gregg Bakker, 5. 44-Doug Lovegrove, 6. 13-Jordan Martens, 7. 15-Joe Riedel.

Fourth Heat (8 Laps): 1. 28-Mitch Runge, 2. 14-Jody Rosenboom, 3. 4j-Lee Grosz, 4. 2d-Dale Furby, 5. 21-Dustin Beenken, 6. 75-Tommy Barber.

“B” Feature (10 Laps): 1. 75c-Casey Heser, 2. 44-Doug Lovegrove, 3. 99j-Jake Ossenfort, 4. 12s-Brock Dump, 5. 21-Dustin Beenken, 6. 7-Daryl Reverts, 7. 32-Greg Valentine, 8. 75-Tommy Barber. DNS: 9m-Marlon Jones, 13-Jordan Martens, 15-Joe Riedel.

“A” Feature (25 Laps): 1. 5-Eric Lutz, 2. 1w-Chad Meyer, 3. 4j-Lee Grosz, 4. 8-Lane Brenden, 5. 24a-Jack Dover, 6. 57x-Jake Peters, 7. 11x-Gregg Bakker, 8. 9-Dusty Wasmund, 9. 2k-Kevin Ingle, 10. 2d-Dale Furby, 11. 12-Tyler Drueke, 12. 25-Dylan Peterson, 13. 99j-Jake Ossenfort, 14. 24-Randy Droescher, 15. 28-Mitch Runge, 16. 54-Bryan Dobesh, 17. 75c-Casey Heser, 18. 44-Doug Lovegrove, 19. 12s-Brock Dump, 20. 14-Jody Rosenboom.

ASCS Midwest Region Points (Top Ten): 1. Jack Dover 1,087, 2. Eric Lutz 936, 3. Doug Lovegrove 802, 4. Billy Alley 750, 5. Jason Danley 657, 6. John Klabunde 499, 7. Tyler Drueke 493, 8. Brian Brown 484, 9. Chad Humston 472, 10. Ryan Roberts 470.