Close this search box.

Lucas Oil Sprint Car Series Releases 2010 Schedule

[b Lucas Oil Sprint Car Series Releases Preliminary 2010 Schedule]

Lonnie Wheatley, TULSA, Okla. (December 9, 2009) – With a banner 2009 season recently logged into the record books, Lucas Oil Sprint Car Series presented by K&N Filters officials have already been hard at work on what will prove to be an even better 2010 season.

Praised by fans, promoters and competitors alike as the nation’s most intensively competitive touring Sprint Car series, a preliminary 2010 slate of 35 nights of competition at fifteen different tracks throughout a dozen different states was released for the Lucas Oil Sprint Car Series presented by K&N Filters.

The 2010 schedule of events very much reflects the 2009 schedule, with new venues added including a July stop at Spencer, Iowa’s Clay County Fairgrounds (leading into the annual event at South Dakota’s I-90 Speedway) and a two-day stand at Nebraska’s Eagle Raceway on June 11-12.

The series will also make its first appearance at Tri-City Speedway in Granite City, IL, where Mother Nature nixed the scheduled 2009 debut.

The Lucas Oil Sprint Cars will once again kick off the season with the Devil’s Bowl Speedway Spring Nationals on March 19-20 before rolling up I-35 for Oklahoma City’s State Fair Speedway Spring Nationals the following weekend.

From there, the Lucas Oil Sprint Cars move on to Little Rock’s I-30 Speedway on April 10 for the first of three one-night events (with other I-30 stops on June 5 and August 28) before taking to the high-banked, ¼-mile clay oval for the $15,000-to-win 23rd Annual Short Track Nationals on October 28-30.

The two-day event at the West Memphis, Arkansas’ fabled Riverside International Speedway has been shifted to April 23-24, with the two-night card at Kansas’ Jetmore Motorplex remaining on Memorial Day weekend.

In addition to I-30 Speedway, Tri-City Speedway, the Clay County Fairgrounds and I-90 Speedway, other venues hosting one-night events include Missouri speedplants in Eldon (Lake Ozark Speedway) and Wheatland (Lucas Oil Speedway).

The Lucas Oil Sprint Cars will also venture to the Northwest for the second year in a row to revisit Washington’s Grays Harbor Raceway and Oregon’s Cottage Grove Speedway.

The Northwest swing leads the way into Knoxville Raceway’s 20th Annual ASCS Knoxville Nationals on August 5-7.

The Lucas Oil Sprint Cars will once again lead into the Short Track Nationals with the Devil’s Bowl Winter Nationals on October 15-16 before taking on Tucson’s USA Raceway for the Western World Championships on November 18-20.

Several other events are under discussion and will be added to the schedule as details are finalized.

After averaging 55.3 cars per race night and 64.8 cars per event in 2009, the Lucas Oil Sprint Cars will continue on with no changes for 2010. The same format, same rules package including tires and wings, same purse structure, same tow money package and same $250,000 points fund with a $60,000 share for the series champion will all be in place.

Ten Lucas Oil Sprint Cars presented by K&N Filters events will also be taped for later broadcast on the VERSUS Network, with those dates to be announced soon.

Regional schedules will be released as available in the coming days and weeks.

Anchored by the Lucas Oil Sprint Car Series presented by K&N Filters, the American Sprint Car Series embarks upon its 19th year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing events throughout the nation in 2010.

Additional information regarding the Lucas Oil Sprint Cars and the dozen ASCS Regional Tours is available at