Close this search box.

Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Entry Update…

Lonnie Wheatley, TULSA, Okla. (December 9, 2009) – “I’m bringing five cars to the Chili Bowl and I want to see all five in the Saturday night feature, ” Loyet Motorsports ringleader Joe Loyet explains, likely echoing the sentiments similar to a number of the other super-teams that are gearing up for the upcoming 24th Annual Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Midget Nationals.

Loyet is now one driver closer to filling out his stable of entries after appointing Arizona native Casey Shuman to the No. 05s entry, joining fellow Loyet Motorsports stablemates Brad Loyet, Jesse Hockett and Danny Lasoski.

With several other entries filed over the past two days, the entry count has climbed to 148 for the event slated for January 12-16, 2010 at the QuikTrip Center’s Tulsa Expo Raceway.

One of several “super-teams” among the field of entries, the Loyet camp placed three entries in last year’s 50-lap Chili Bowl championship main event, tops among any other teams. Loyet and Hockett return to the familiar orange No. 05 machines this year, with Lasoski trying for his 15th career Chili Bowl main event after a three-year dry spell. Shuman fills the fourth car, with the fifth driver still to be announced.

Shuman, who has made the Chili Bowl finale on three occasions including an eleventh-place showing last year, will try to put another No. 05 among the feature field next month. “This equipment is as good as anything I’ve ever driven, if not better. Now it’s just up to me to get the job done.”

While Show-Me Staters Hockett and Loyet made last year’s feature cut in Loyet Motorsports entries, the third “A” Main Loyet rep from 2009 has shifted over to the Keith Kunz Motorsports stable.

Indiana’s Jon Stanbrough, who made his fifth consecutive Chili Bowl main event last year carrying the Loyet colors, will pilot one of six Kunz Motorsports entries this time around with fellow Kunz entries including Cole Whitt, Henry Clarke, Chris Windom and another pair of drivers yet to be announced.

Scott Benic’s 2B Racing team matches Kunz in the quantity department with six entries headed up by USAC champions Levi Jones (Sprint Car) and Brad Kuhn (Midget) along with top finishing 2009 Chili Bowl rookie Shane Hmiel, Cale Conley, Canadian Glenn Styres and another driver to be determined.

Kruseman Motorsports is next on the super-team list with five entries including past Chili Bowl champions Cory Kruseman and Jay Drake along with young shoe Austin Mero and another pair of drivers to be determined.

Wilke Pak Motorsports boasts a stout lineup of 2005 Chili Bowl champion Tracy Hines, 2006 winner Tim McCreadie and Triple Crown champions Jerry Coons, Jr., and Dave Darland, a fearsome foursome that has combined for 42 career Chili Bowl championship feature starts.

Donnie Lehmann once again fields four entries, while the current RFMS stable of Darren Hagen, A.J. Fike and Casey Riggs is expected to swell to four by week’s end.

Several three-car teams fill the field as well including the Kasey Kahne Racing trio (Kasey Kahne, Brad Sweet and Joey Saldana), the Corey Tucker Racing-BCI team (Bryan Clauson and two drivers to be determined), the Kenny Brown Racing team (Josh Wise, Randy Hannagan and Austin Brown) and the newly entered Nine Racing team (Jason Meyers, P.J. Jones and Tanner Mullens).

Casey Shuman was one of five entries filed today that carry past Chili Bowl championship feature experience, with others including Wayne Johnson, Danny Stratton, Paul White and 1990 Chili Bowl champion Johnny Heydenreich.

Also among today’s entries is young gun Chad Boat, son of 1997 Chili Bowl winner Billy Boat. A likely candidate to crack the Chili Bowl championship feature field for the first time, an Indiana Sprint Week score at Kokomo was among the younger Boat’s four feature wins in 2009.

The current list of entries for the 24th Annual Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals is available at Driver entry is just $150 if filed by December 15. Entries filed after the pre-entry deadline are $200.

Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals Quick Facts:

What: 24th Annual Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Midget Nationals

Where: Tulsa Expo Raceway – ¼-mile clay oval inside the QuikTrip Center at the Tulsa State Fairgrounds

January 12-16, 2010
Tuesday – Warren CAT Qualifying Night plus Vacuworx Chili Bowl Race of Champions
Wednesday – River Spirit Casino Qualifying Night
Thursday – Bully Dog Qualifying Night
Friday – E3 Spark Plugs Qualifying Night
Saturday – Rockstar Energy Drink Championship Feature Events

Past Winners: Sammy Swindell (2009, 1998, 1996, 1992 and 1989), Damion Gardner (2008), Tony Stewart (2007 and 2002), Tim McCreadie (2006), Tracy Hines (2005), Cory Kruseman (2004 and 2000), Dan Boorse (2003 and 1999), Jay Drake (2001), Billy Boat (1997), Donnie Beechler (1995), Andy Hillenburg (1994), Dave Blaney (1993), Lealand McSpadden (1991), Jon Heydenreich (1990), Scott Hatton (1988), Rich Vogler (1987).

Trade Show: Always a popular attraction at the Chili Bowl Midget Nationals is the Trade Show, which is open to the public each day (Tuesday through Saturday) free of charge. All variety of racing products, apparel and more is available with well over 100 different vendors. The Trade Show covers approximately 20,000 square feet.

Tickets: Four-night tickets for Wednesday through Saturday of the 24th Annual Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals were depleted by the end of May. A limited number of reserved seats for Tuesday night’s Warren CAT Qualifying Event and the Second Annual Vacuworx International Chili Bowl Race of Champions are available for $26 per person and may be obtained by calling 918-838-3777 or at the gate. Pit passes for all five nights are available at the gate as well.

Chili Bowl on TV: Portions of the 24th Annual Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Midget Nationals will be broadcast on SPEED TV on a tape-delayed basis.

Chili Bowl on the Net: All official news pertaining to the 24th Annual Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Midget Nationals, including official entry lists, race results and recaps, is available first at Also, all five nights of the Chili Bowl Nationals will be broadcast live (audio) on

Additional information regarding the Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Midget Nationals is available at or by calling 918-838-3777.