Close this search box.

Lucas Oil ASCS Sprint Cars Make Debut at LA Raceway!

Lonnie Wheatley, TULSA, Okla. (July 26, 2010) – Following on the heels of a successful North by Northwest Tour, the Lucas Oil ASCS presented by K&N Filters National series invades La Monte, Missouri’s LA Raceway for the first time in series history this Friday night.

And, just when it looked as though defending series champion Shane Stewart and 2008 kingpin Jason Johnson were poised to break away into a two-way battle for the $60,000 Lucas Oil Sprint Car championship, Brady Bacon served notice in the Cottage Grove Nationals finale that he intends to be in that title mix as well.

The 20-year-old from Broken Arrow, OK, matched Eunice, Louisiana’s Johnson in the 2010 win column with Saturday night’s $6,000 score that brought an end to Johnson’s three-race win streak through Washington and Oregon.

Bacon’s fourth win came at an opportune time as well, as both Stewart and Johnson finished outside the top twenty in Saturday’s main event at Cottage Grove.

As a result, Bacon jumped to second in points, just 53 points behind “The Ragin’ Cajun”, with Bixby, OK, native Stewart another 22 points back in fourth.

Twenty-year-old Springfield, NE, shoe Jack Dover, who ranks as the only driver other than Johnson among the top ten in points to not yet use a provisional, is fourth in points, 135 markers off Johnson’s lead pace.

Three-time series champion Tim Crawley of Benton, AR, holds the fifth position by just one point over 2001 champion Zach Chappell of Talala, OK, with Liberal, KS, ace Tony Bruce, Jr., just eleven points behind Crawley in seventh. Veteran shoe Danny Wood of Norman, OK, is another 18 points back in eighth.

Kyle Hirst of Loomis, CA, is the leading Brodix Rookie of the Year contender in ninth, with Little Rock native Ricky Logan rounding out the current top ten in points.

Rookie shoe Matt Covington of Glenpool, OK, is just outside the top ten, with other Lucas Oil ASCS contenders including Ohio’s Darren Long and the remaining rookie crop of 19-year-old Channin Tankersley (Highlands, TX), 21-year-old Dustin Morgan (Tulsa, OK), 17-year-old Austen Wheatley (Lake Stevens, WA) and 16-year-old Justyn Cox (Clarksburg, CA).

Friday’s card atop the 3/8-mile LA Raceway clay oval marks the second of three stops during the 2010 season for the Lucas Oil National Sprint Cars in the Show-Me State. Oklahoma’s Zach Chappell cracked victory lane at Eldon, Missouri’s Lake Ozark Speedway last month, with Wheatland’s Lucas Oil Speedway hosting the series in September.

As is always the case, the Lucas Oil ASCS contenders will face a variety of top challengers in Missouri with the Winged Outlaw Warriors trying to knock off the National invaders. Eric Todd of Falcon, MO, is the current WOW points leader, with Tyler Blank, J. Kinder, Jonathan Cornell and Jon Corbin rounding out the current top five.

Friday’s card marks the final Lucas Oil ASCS event before the $10,000-to-win 20th Annual ASCS Knoxville Nationals in Knoxville, IA, on August 5-7.

The Series:

Lucas Oil ASCS Sprint Car Series presented by K&N Filters

When & Where:

Friday night, July 30 at 7:30 p.m. – LA Raceway

Track Information:

LA Raceway (La Monte, MO) – 3/8-mile, slightly banked clay oval located 3.5 miles west of SR 127 on Hwy Y. For more information, contact the track at 660-563-9878 or check

Lucas Oil ASCS LA Raceway History:

Friday’s card at LA Raceway marks the inaugural event for the Lucas Oil Sprint Cars atop the 3/8-mile clay oval.

Current Lucas Oil Sprint Car Series presented by K&N Filters Points:

Top Twenty: 1. Jason Johnson (Eunice, LA) 1,791, 2. Brady Bacon (Broken Arrow, OK) 1,738, 3. Shane Stewart (Bixby, OK) 1,716, 4. Jack Dover (Springfield, NE) 1,656, 5. Tim Crawley (Benton, AR) 1,561, 6. Zach Chappell (Talala, OK) 1,560, 7. Tony Bruce, Jr. (Liberal, KS) 1,550, 8. Danny Wood (Norman, OK) 1,532, 9. Kyle Hirst (Loomis, CA) 1,507, 10. Ricky Logan (Little Rock, AR) 1,445, 11. Matt Covington (Glenpool, OK) 1,390, 12. Channin Tankersley (Highlands, TX) 1,217, 13. Darren Long (Elida, OH) 1,211, 14. Dustin Morgan (Tulsa, OK) 1,190, 15. (tie) Austen Wheatley (Lake Stevens, WA) and Travis Rilat (Forney, TX) 1,152, 17. Justyn Cox (Clarksburg, CA) 1,150, 18. Gary Wright (Hooks, TX) 911, 19. Andrew Marshala (Shawnee, OK) 823, 20. Johnny Herrera (Albuquerque, NM) 501.

Brodix Rookie of the Year Points: 1. Kyle Hirst (Loomis, CA) 1,507, 2. Matt Covington (Glenpool, OK) 1,390, 3. Channin Tankersley (Highlands, TX) 1,217, 4. Dustin Morgan (Tulsa, OK) 1,190, 5. Austen Wheatley (Lake Stevens, WA) 1,152, 6. Justyn Cox (Clarksburg, CA) 1,1,50, 7. Andrew Marshala (Shawnee, OK) 823.

2010 Lucas Oil Sprint Car Feature Winners:

Brady Bacon 4, Jason Johnson 4, Zach Chappell 2, Matt Covington 1, Shane Stewart 1, Sammy Swindell 1, Danny Wood 1.

Lucas Oil Sprint Cars presented by K&N Filters – A Look Ahead:

August 5-7 – ASCS Knoxville Nationals (Knoxville, IA)
August 27 – Tri-City Speedway (Granite City, IL)
August 28 – I-30 Speedway (Little Rock, AR)

Lucas Oil Sprint Cars on the Web:

Those unable to catch all the action in person can listen to every Lucas Oil Sprint Car Series presented by K&N Filters live at

Also, the Lucas Oil ASCS Show airs on each Tuesday night at 8:00 p.m. ET, recapping the previous week’s events while also previewing upcoming action.

Official results, championship point updates, photos and race notes will be available at

Lucas Oil Sprint Cars on TV:

The Lucas Oil Sprint Car Series presented by K&N Filters will be featured in ten one-hour shows broadcast on a tape-delayed basis on the VERSUS Network and MavTV.

Events to be aired on VERSUS and MavTV include the following:

Event Date – Track (Location) – VERSUS Air Date & Time (All Times Eastern & Subject to Change):
March 19 – Devil’s Bowl Speedway (Mesquite, TX) – 6/6/10 @ 6:00 p.m.
March 20 – Devil’s Bowl Speedway (Mesquite, TX) – Rained Out
June 11 – Eagle Raceway (Eagle, NE) – 11/21/10 @ 4:00 p.m.
June 12 – Eagle Raceway (Eagle, NE) – 11/21/10 @ 5:00 p.m.
September 25 – Lucas Oil Speedway (Wheatland, MO) – 11/28/10 @ 6:00 p.m.
October 1 – Riverside Speedway (W. Memphis, AR) – TBD
October 2 – Riverside Speedway (W. Memphis, AR) – TBD
October 28 – I-30 Speedway (Little Rock, AR) – 12/5/10 @ 5:00 p.m.
October 29 – I-30 Speedway (Little Rock, AR) – 12/5/10 @ 6:00 p.m.
October 30 – I-30 Speedway (Little Rock, AR) – 12/19/10 @ 4:00 p.m.

The Lucas Oil Sprint Car Series presented by K&N Filters is currently slated for 36 nights of racing action at 17 different tracks throughout the nation, with the country’s top Sprint Car drivers set to battle it out for their share of the $250,000 points fund.

In its 19th year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing, the American Sprint Car Series brings the best of Sprint Car racing to approximately 100 different tracks throughout 30 states and Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil Sprint Car Series presented by K&N Filters, ASCS also consists of ten different Regions throughout the nation.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at