Close this search box.

Lucas Oil ASCS Set for the “Diamond of Dirt Tracks” on Saturday

Lonnie Wheatley, TULSA, Okla. (September 20, 2010) – The $60,000 Lucas Oil ASCS presented by K&N Filters National championship chase resumes this Saturday night when the series makes its annual stop at Wheatland, Missouri’s Lucas Oil Speedway.

Saturday’s card atop the 3/8-mile Lucas Oil Speedway clay oval, appropriately dubbed the “Diamond of Dirt Tracks”, marks the series third and final stop of the 2010 season in the Show Me State. Oklahoma drivers Zach Chappell and Shane Stewart topped the previous pair of Missouri events.

Stewart, a Lucas Oil ASCS winner at La Monte, Missouri’s LA Raceway in late July, kicked off the 2009 stretch drive with a triumph at Lucas Oil Speedway. The Bixby, OK, native went on to claim the series championship.

Fresh off a second consecutive Canadian Sprint Car Nationals win this past weekend, Stewart enters Saturday’s action third in points behind 2008 series champion Jason Johnson of Eunice, LA, and 20-year-old Broken Arrow, OK, shoe Brady Bacon.

While Stewart carries the momentum of a $10,000 Canadian score into the weekend, Johnson has picked off five ASCS Regional wins over the past three weekends worth a total of $15,000 to run his overall ASCS win total for 2010 to 16.

Four of Johnson’s triumphs have come against the National ranks, most recently in preliminary action at Oregon’s Cottage Grove Speedway on July 23.

Matching Johnson, the 2008 series winner at Lucas Oil Speedway, in the Lucas Oil ASCS National win column at four are the duo of Bacon and Stewart. Bacon enters Saturday’s card just 72 points off the Ragin’ Cajun’s pace with Stewart another 18 points back in third.

Twenty-year-old Nebraska ace Jack Dover enters the weekend ranked fourth, just seven points ahead of four-time series champion Tim Crawley of Benton, AR.

Zach Chappell, Tony Bruce, Jr., Kyle Hirst, Danny Wood and Ricky Logan round out the current top ten, with Matt Covington, Darren Long, Dustin Morgan, Channin Tankersley, the Van Dyke No. 5h entry and Gary Wright battling it out as well for a portion of the $250,000 points fund that will be doled out at season’s end.

Joining in on Saturday night’s action will the Missouri-based Winged Outlaw Warriors, led by the likes of current points leader Eric Todd, Tyler Blank, J. Kinder, Jonathan Cornell, Jon Corbin and four-time WOW champion Randy Martin.

The Lucas Oil ASCS National series has attracted fields of more than 50 entries in all three previous visits to Lucas Oil Speedway, with winners at the “Diamond of Dirt Tracks” including Brian Brown, Jason Johnson and Shane Stewart.

The Series:

Lucas Oil ASCS Sprint Car Series presented by K&N Filters

When & Where:

Saturday night, September 25 at 7:30 p.m. – Lucas Oil Speedway

Track Information:

Lucas Oil Speedway (Wheatland, MO) – 3/8-mile semi-banked clay oval located 0.2 miles south of US 54 of SR 83. Track phone: 417-282-5984.

Lucas Oil ASCS Lucas Oil Speedway History:

The Lucas Oil Sprint Cars first took the “Diamond of Dirt Tracks” in September of 2006 with return visits over each of the past two years after the 2007 event fell victim to rain. Brian Brown defended the Missouri turf in the series 2006 debut at Lucas Oil Speedway, with Jason Johnson and Shane Stewart taking Lucas Oil Speedway wins en route to Lucas Oil ASCS National titles the past two years.

Lucas Oil Speedway Lucas Oil ASCS Winners include: Brian Brown 1, Jason Johnson 1, Shane Stewart 1.

Lucas Oil Speedway Lucas Oil ASCS Race-by-Race Winners: Brian Brown (9/30/06), Jason Johnson (4/19/08), Shane Stewart (9/26/09).

Current Lucas Oil ASCS presented by K&N Filters National Points:

Top Twenty: 1. Jason Johnson (Eunice, LA) 2,281, 2. Brady Bacon (Broken Arrow, OK) 2,209, 3. Shane Stewart (Bixby, OK) 2,191, 4. Jack Dover (Springfield, NE) 2,056, 5. Tim Crawley (Benton, AR) 2,049, 6. Zach Chappell (Talala, OK) 2,028, 7. Tony Bruce, Jr. (Liberal, KS) 1,999, 8. Kyle Hirst (Loomis, CA) 1,924, 9. Danny Wood (Norman, OK) 1,899, 10. Ricky Logan (Little Rock, AR) 1,859, 11. Matt Covington (Glenpool, OK) 1,785, 12. Darren Long (Elida, OH) 1,642, 13. Dustin Morgan (Tulsa, OK) 1,638, 14. Channin Tankersley (Highlands, TX) 1,570, 15. Justyn Cox (Clarksburg, CA) 1,513, 16. Austen Wheatley (Lake Stevens, WA) 1,344, 17. Gary Wright (Hooks, TX) 1,322, 18. Travis Rilat (Forney, TX) 1,152, 19. Andrew Marshala (Shawnee, OK) 823, 20. Brian Brown (Grain Valley, MO) 752.

Brodix Rookie of the Year Points: 1. Kyle Hirst (Loomis, CA) 1,924, 2. Matt Covington (Glenpool, OK) 1,785, 3. Dustin Morgan (Tulsa, OK) 1,638, 4. Channin Tankersley (Highlands, TX) 1,570, 5. Justyn Cox (Clarksburg, CA) 1,513, 6. Austen Wheatley (Lake Stevens, WA) 1,344.

2010 Lucas Oil ASCS National Feature Winners:

Brady Bacon 4, Shane Stewart 4, Jason Johnson 4, Zach Chappell 2, Brian Brown 1, Matt Covington 1, Tim Crawley 1, Jerrod Hull 1, Sammy Swindell 1, Danny Wood 1.

Lucas Oil ASCS presented by K&N Filters – A Look Ahead:

October 1 – Riverside Speedway (West Memphis, AR)
October 2 – Riverside Speedway (West Memphis, AR)
October 15 – Devil’s Bowl Speedway (Mesquite, TX)
October 16 – Devi’s Bowl Speedway (Mesquite, TX)
October 28 – I-30 Speedway (Little Rock, AR)
October 29 – I-30 Speedway (Little Rock, AR)
October 30 – I-30 Speedway (Little Rock, AR) – $15,000 to win

Lucas Oil ASCS on the Web:

Those unable to catch all the action in person can listen to every Lucas Oil Sprint Car Series presented by K&N Filters live at

Also, the Lucas Oil ASCS Show airs on each Tuesday night at 8:00 p.m. ET, recapping the previous week’s events while also previewing upcoming action.

Official results, championship point updates, photos and race notes will be available at

Lucas Oil ASCS on TV:

The Lucas Oil Sprint Car Series presented by K&N Filters will be featured in ten one-hour shows broadcast on a tape-delayed basis on the VERSUS Network and MavTV.

Events to be aired on VERSUS and MavTV include the following:

Event Date – Track (Location) – VERSUS Air Date & Time (All Times Eastern & Subject to Change):
March 19 – Devil’s Bowl Speedway (Mesquite, TX) – 6/6/10 @ 6:00 p.m.
March 20 – Devil’s Bowl Speedway (Mesquite, TX) – Rained Out
June 11 – Eagle Raceway (Eagle, NE) – 9/4/10 @ 6:00 p.m.
June 12 – Eagle Raceway (Eagle, NE) – 10/3/10 @ 5:00 p.m.
September 25 – Lucas Oil Speedway (Wheatland, MO) – 11/21/10 @ 6:00 p.m.
October 1 – Riverside Speedway (W. Memphis, AR) – 11/28/10 @ 6:00 p.m.
October 2 – Riverside Speedway (W. Memphis, AR) – 12/5/10 @ 5:00 p.m.
October 28 – I-30 Speedway (Little Rock, AR) – 12/5/10 @ 6:00 p.m.
October 29 – I-30 Speedway (Little Rock, AR) – 12/11/10 @ 6:00 p.m.
October 30 – I-30 Speedway (Little Rock, AR) – 12/12/10 @ 6:00 p.m.

The Lucas Oil Sprint Car Series presented by K&N Filters is currently slated for 35 nights of racing action at 17 different tracks throughout the nation, with the country’s top Sprint Car drivers set to battle it out for their share of the $250,000 points fund.

In its 19th year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing, the American Sprint Car Series brings the best of Sprint Car racing to approximately 100 different tracks throughout 30 states and Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil Sprint Car Series presented by K&N Filters, ASCS also consists of ten different Regions throughout the nation.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at