Close this search box.

Lucas Oil ASCS ready for Eagle Nationals

Tulsa, Oklahoma (June 4, 2012) Working on completing the first fifth of the 2012 lineup, a week off after the Steve King Memorial will find the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV back at the track for the 28th running of the Eagle Nationals at the world’s fastest third mile; Eagle Raceway just east of Lincoln, Nebraska.

Presented by TBJ Promotions for the third year, event promoter Tony Bruce Jr. holds Eagle Raceway in high regards, “Eagle is probably one of the coolest places we get to go to. The fans are great and very appreciative to have such a great facility.”

Featuring a $3,000 winner’s purse on June 8th and a $5,000 check on June 9th, the Eagle Nationals stands as one of the most respected open wheel events in the mid-west and for local favorite and reigning champion, Jack Dover, the Eagle Nationals bears even greater meaning.

“It’s awesome being this close to home and having your local crowd cheering you on.” Says Dover of the Eagle Nationals. “I’d say that’s the best thing I like about this race is the fans going crazy for me. It gets me pumped up and makes me drive harder.”

After taking a hard hit during the opening laps of ASCS competition at I-80 Speedway on Thursday May 24th, Dover was absent from the Steve King Memorial, doing so in order to rebuild. The decision was a lucrative one as Dover was victorious in double features at Eagle Raceway on Saturday May 26th. “After you get your first win of the season it is real confidence booster. I see us getting a lot more wins this year.” Related Dover about his Eagle Raceway triumphs giving thanks to his parents, crew, and sponsors Home Pride and Certified Transmission for the continued support.

In their fourth visit to the third mile oval, the Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV enters this weekend’s events with the MVT 41 of Jason Johnson reclaiming the points lead by a slim four point margin over series rival Wayne Johnson in the Oil Medics 77. Settings up for a very long title run, neither Jason nor Wayne have yet to finish outside the top 10 this season.

After mechanical woes at Valley and I-80 Speedway, current show position holder Brady Bacon was able to garner an impressive runner up finish before landing the win at the Steve King Memorial; putting the Oil Field Equipment 99 back in the points battle only 45 markers behind after having been 101 points in the hole.

Johnny Herrera currently finds himself forth in points after claiming his fifth top five finish of the season at Jetmore. Still in search of his first win of the season, Herrera sits only 36 points ahead of Brodix Rookie of the Year contender Brad Loyet who has picked up great speed as of late taking six top five finishes in his last eight outings with the Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV.

Tony Bruce Jr. holds sixth after getting his second win of the year at Valley Speedway with Gary Wright seventh. Danny Wood, who won the Eagle Nationals in 2010, currently sits eighth with Seth Bergman and Dustin Morgan rounding out the top ten.

The Series:

Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV

When and Where:

June 8th & 9th – Eagle Raceway – Eagle, Nebraska – Gates Open at 4pm / Racing at 6:30pm

Track Information:

Directions (according to NSD) – I-80 to exit 420, then 11 miles south of SR 63, then west.

Address: 617 South 238th St. Eagle, Nebraska 68347

Phone #: 402-781-2243 or 402-238-2595


Past ASCS Winners (Eagle Raceway): Danny Wood (2010), Jason Johnson (2011), Jack Dover (2012)

Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV Points (top 10): 1. Jason Johnson 1,696; 2. Wayne Johnson 1,692; 3. Brady Bacon 1,651 4. Johnny Herrera 1,552; 5. Brad Loyet 1,516; 6. Tony Bruce Jr. 1,488; 7. Gary Wright 1,410; 8. Danny Wood 1,408; 9. Seth Bergman 1,342; 10. Dustin Morgan 1,321

2012 Feature Winners: Jason Johnson-3, Tony Bruce Jr.-2, Wayne Johnson-2, Brady Bacon-1, Seth Bergman-1, Danny Lasoski-1, Jason Martin-1, Dustin Morgan-1, Danny Wood-1

Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV – A Look Ahead

June 15-16 Devil’s Bowl Speedway (Mesquite, TX) – Summer Nationals

June 18 Jones Motor Speedway – Chatham, LA (Speedweek)

June 19 Diamond Park Speedway – Murfreesboro, AR (Speedweek)

June 20 Lawton Speedway – Lawton, OK (Speedweek)

June 22 Salina Highbanks – Salina, OK (Speedweek)

June 23 Lucas Oil Speedway – Wheatland, MO (Speedweek)

June 29-30 I-30 Speedway – Little Rock, AR (Rain Make-up date)

Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV on the web:

All Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series national events are broadcast live on for anyone who is unable to attend the races live. Official results, points, and race notes are posted at The Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV can also be found on Facebook and Twitter.

Lucas Oil ASCS on TV: A full schedule of tape-delayed races for the 2012 season can found at

The Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV is scheduled to compete 68 times throughout the United States with divers competing for their share of a $250,000 point’s fund.

The 2012 season marks the 21st year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing for the American Sprint Car Series, which brings the best of Sprint Car racing to dozens of different tracks throughout the nation and into Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series, ASCS also consists of ten different Regions throughout the nation.

Lucas Oil Products is the title sponsor of the American Sprint Car Series. More information can be found on Lucas Oil Products at MAVTV is the presenting sponsor of the American Sprint Car Series. For information regarding availability and listings in your area log onto

Associate sponsors for the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MavTV include: Hoosier Racing Tire, Brodix, Geico, E3 Spark Plugs, General Tire, K&N Filters,, Schoenfeld Headers,, Weld Wheels, Maxwell Industries, Print Place, Simpson, Wesmar Racing Engines, FSR Radiators, and Hilborn Injection Systems.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at

Photo Credit: AJ Lusk Photography