Close this search box.

Lucas Oil ASCS heads for Double Header at I-30 Speedway

Tulsa, OK (May 7, 2012) – Affectionately known as “Hammer Hill” I-30 Speedway in Little Rock, Arkansas is set to host the Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV this Friday May 11th and Saturday May 12th.

This weekend’s double-header marks rounds ten and eleven in the 2012 championship hunt which took a dramatic turn coming out of competition at the Salina Highbanks and Riverside International Speedway two weeks ago.

Taking the points lead after his second national tour win of 2012 at the Salina Highbanks Speedway, Oklahoma native Wayne Johnson was able to stretch his advantage from three to thirty markers over Jason Johnson after the MVT 41 was forced to use his second provisional of the season when a failed ignition switch in his qualifying heat put Johnson deep in a B-Feature.

Continuing a season of unmatched consistency, Wayne Johnson’s Missile Motorsports 77x has yet to finish outside the top five; even holding onto a fifth place finish at the Rock ‘N Roll 50 after sustaining a broken nose when what was described as a muffler destroyed Wayne’s helmet.

Although the last outing of the Roush/Yates 41 was less than desirable, it was not enough to remove Jason Johnson far from the top tier and has certainly not put much of a kink in a season of otherwise strong runs. Entering this weekend’s two nights of competition Johnson has claimed victory on three occasions along with six top five and nine top ten finishes.

Still searching for his first win of the season Brady Bacon continues to sit third in points. With eight top ten runs to go along with five podium finishes in only nine starts, with four being runner up finishes, the driver of the Fatheadz Eyewear 99 has again proven to be a formidable opponent having already past a combined 71 cars in A-Main competition this season.

After getting upside down to start off the 2012 season, the Champion Brands 45x of Johnny Herrera has been on the comeback trail. Fighting into fourth in the championship standings Herrera, who has four top five and six top ten runs so far this season, sits a mere three points away from taking away the third spot.

Rounding out the top five in points heading into I-30 Speedway is Gary Wright. After fire consumed his car at the Rock ‘N Roll 50, Wright spent this past weekend shaking down a new ride with the Speedway Motors ASCS Warrior Region at Lucas Oil Speedway. It proved to be a test run worth making a wright was able to uncover a faulty steering gear in the process. Also looking for his first win of the season, Wright has still managed a pair of top five runs as well as seven top ten finishes.

Brad Loyet currently occupies sixth in national points, bouncing back from a low of twelfth earlier this year with four consecutive top five finishes including a second at the Rock ‘N Roll 50. Tony Bruce Jr. sits seventh after missing the show at Riverside with Danny Wood eighth. Seth Bergman, who picked up his first National Tour win at the Rock N’ Roll 50, sits ninth with Dustin Morgan rounding out the top ten.

Of the driver in the top ten half have visited victory lane at I-30 Speedway. Gary Wright leads in overall wins with thirteen. Jason Johnson has four wins to his credit while Tony Bruce Jr. and Wayne Johnson each have three. Brady Bacon currently has a pair of wins at the Arkansas quarter mile oval.
The Series:

Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV

When and Where:
Friday May 11th – I-30 Speedway – Little Rock, AR – Pits open @ 5pm / Racing begins @ 7:30pm

Saturday May 12th – I-30 Speedway – Little Rock, AR – Pits open @ 5pm / Racing begins at 7:30pm

Track Information:
Directions (according to NSD) – I-30 Speedway – Located 7 miles southwest of Little Rock on I-30 to exit 126 (county line road), then south to frontage road, then east (SSR)
Address: 12297 Interstate 30, Little Rock, AR 72209
Phone #: 501-455-4567

ASCS I-30 History: For every journey there must be a beginning and the American Sprint Car Series National Tour that means I-30 Speedway. Founded in 1992 in Oklahoma, the first official National Tour event was held on May 15, 1993 at I-30 with Mike Ward taking the win. Since then the Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV has returned 56 times with 23 different winners.

I-30 Speedway Winners: Gary Wright (13), Garry Lee Maier (4), Jason Johnson (4), Tim Crawley (4), Mike Ward (4), Terry Gray (4), Tony Bruce Jr. (3), Wayne Johnson (3), Brad Sweet (3), Brady Bacon (2), Shane Stewart (2), Travis Rilat (2), Danny Lasoski (2), Eric Sandage (1), Jason Myers (1), Jeff Swindell (1), Nick Smith (1), Pete Butler (1), Ricky Logan (1), Sam Hafertepe Jr. (1), Sammy Swindell (1), Tim Schaffer (1), Zach Chappell (1)

Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV Driver Points (top 10): 1. Wayne Johnson 1,217; 2. Jason Johnson 1,187; 3. Brady Bacon 1,157 4. Johnny Herrera 1,060; 5. Gary Wight 1,039; 6. Brad Loyet 1,023; 7. Tony Bruce Jr. 997; 8. Danny Wood 984; 9. Seth Bergman 944; 10. Dustin Morgan 931

Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV Owner Points (top 10): 1. Wayne Johnson 1,217; 2. JJR/Stenhouse 1,185; 3. B.B.R. 1,157 4. Herrera/Main 1,060; 5. Gary Wight 1,039; 6. Loyet Motorsports 1,023; 7. One Eight Motorsports. 997; 8. Wood Racing 984; 9. P.P.M 944; 10. M&M Motorsports 931

2012 Feature Winners: Jason Johnson-3, Wayne Johnson-2, Tony Bruce Jr., Seth Bergman-1, Dustin Morgan-1, Danny Wood-1

Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV – A Look Ahead

May 23 Valley Speedway (Grain Valley, MO)
May 24 I-80 Speedway (Greenwood, NE)
May 26-27 Great American Dirt Track (Jetmore, KS) – 4th Steve King Memorial
June 8-9 Eagle Raceway (Eagle, NE) – Eagle Nationals
June 15-16 Devil’s Bowl Speedway (Mesquite, TX) – Summer Nationals

Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV on the web:
All Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series national events are broadcast live on for anyone who is unable to attend the races live.

Official results, points, and race notes are posted at The Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV can also be found on Facebook and Twitter.
Lucas Oil ASCS on TV: A full schedule of tape-delayed races for the 2012 season can found at

The Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV is scheduled to compete 68 times throughout the United States with divers competing for their share of a $250,000 point’s fund.

The 2012 season marks the 21st year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing for the American Sprint Car Series, which brings the best of Sprint Car racing to dozens of different tracks throughout the nation and into Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series, ASCS also consists of ten different Regions throughout the nation.

Lucas Oil Products is the title sponsor of the American Sprint Car Series. More information can be found on Lucas Oil Products at
MavTv is the presenting sponsor of the American Sprint Car Series. For information regarding availability and listings in your area log onto

Associate sponsors for the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MavTV include: Hoosier Racing Tire, Brodix, Geico, E3 Spark Plugs, General Tire, K&N Filters,, Schoenfeld Headers,, Weld Wheels, Maxwell Industries, Print Place, Simpson, Wesmar Racing Engines, and Hilborn Injection Systems.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at

Photo Credit: Jimmy Jones (Jones Sports Media)