Close this search box.

Lucas Oil ASCS Championship Battle heads for the Devil’s Bowl

Tulsa, Oklahoma (June 11, 2012) After fifteen rounds contested in the 2012 season for the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV, the Devil’s Bowl Speedway and the Summer Nationals await the drivers of the Lucas Oil ASCS National Tour and Oil Medics ASCS Lone Star Region.

Happening Friday June 15th and Saturday June 16th, this weekend’s events in Mesquite, Texas represent rounds sixteen and seventeen in the 2012 Lucas Oil ASCS championship season as well as being the 69th and 70th event held at the historic half-mile clay oval since 1994.

Currently third in Lucas Oil ASCS points, Brady Bacon has put together a phenomenal performance over the past four races, taking a runner up finish on night one of the Steve King Memorial before marching to a trio of victories that includes the Steve King Memorial finale and a sweep of last weekend’s Eagle Nationals.

Being 101 points out of the lead before the Steve King Memorial, Bacon’s current hot streak has propelled the Fatheadz Eyewear/XXX Chassis No. 99 to within five markers of current National point’s leader Jason Johnson and only a single point behind current runner up Wayne Johnson.

This weekend’s Summer Nationals at the Devil’s Bowl could prove interesting as Both Jason and Wayne have had great success at the famed half mile with a combined total of fifteen triumphs; Jason with ten and Wayne with five while Brady, with four third place runs to his credit, is still in search of his first Devil’s Bowl victory.

Currently fourth in points, the MVT No. 45x of Johnny Herrera had a great points boost posting his sixth top five of 2012 with a second place run at Eagle. Herrera has only one victory at the Devil’s Bowl in 1996.

Rounding out the top five in points heading into this weekend is current Brodix Rookie of the Year leader Brad Loyet. Posting his ninth top five of the season at Eagle, Loyet has been very close to achieving his first Lucas Oil ASCS National Tour feature; having tied Jason Johnson in laps led this season at 74.

The Series:

Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV

When & Where:

Friday June 15th – Summer Nationals – Pits open at 5pm / Racing at 8pm

Saturday June 16th – Summer Nationals – Pits open at 5pm / Racing at 8pm

Track Information:

Devil’s Bowl Speedway (Mesquite, TX) – ½-mile, high-banked clay oval located six miles east of Dallas’ I-635 on I-20, then three miles north on Lawson Road. Lawson Road north of the track (and south off of US 80) has been closed for repair, so fans and racers are urged to use I-20 and then go north on Lawson.

Address: 1711 Lawson Rd. Mesquite, TX 75181

Phone #: 972-222-2421.


Lucas Oil ASCS Devil’s Bowl History:

Devil’s Bowl Lucas Oil ASCS winners include: Gary Wright 20, Jason Johnson 10, Wayne Johnson 5, Kevin Ramey 4, Danny Jennings 3, Sammy Swindell 3, Shane Carson 2, Terry Gray 2, Garry Lee Maier 2, Mike Peters 2, Travis Rilat 2, Shane Stewart 2, Tony Bruce, Jr. 1, Tim Crawley 1, Jack Dover 1, Edd French 1, Sam Hafertepe Jr. 1, Johnny Herrera 1, Danny Lasoski 1, Larry Neighbors 1, Alan Payne 1, Jake Peters 1, Mike Ward 1.

Devil’s Bowl Lucas Oil ASCS Race-by-race Winners: Shane Carson (6/21/94), Alan Payne (5/12/95), Mike Ward (7/23/95), Mike Peters (9/1/95), Sammy Swindell (9/2/95), Sammy Swindell (9/3/95), Wayne Johnson (6/18/96), Terry Gray (7/6/96), Terry Gray (11/1/96), Johnny Herrera (11/2/96), Shane Carson (4/5/97), Wayne Johnson (6/18/97), Edd French (10/31/97), Mike Peters (11/1/97), Gary Wright (6/19/98), Gary Wright (10/3/98), Garry Lee Maier (10/4/98), Gary Wright (7/8/99), Garry Lee Maier (7/30/99), Gary Wright (10/1/99), Gary Wright (10/2/99), Gary Wright (7/21/00), Gary Wright (10/6/00), Larry Neighbors (4/20/01), Gary Wright (7/20/01), Gary Wright (10/6/01), Travis Rilat (4/19/02), Jason Johnson (6/7/02), Wayne Johnson (10/4/02), Gary Wright (10/5/02), Kevin Ramey (4/18/03), Tim Crawley (10/17/03), Gary Wright (10/18/03), Shane Stewart (10/23/04), Danny Jennings (3/18/05), Danny Jennings (3/19/05), Danny Jennings (6/9/05), Gary Wright (10/21/05), Gary Wright (10/22/05), Kevin Ramey (6/24/06 – Spring Nationals makeup feature), Kevin Ramey (6/24/06 – Summer Nationals), Gary Wright (7/13/06), Jason Johnson (10/13/06), Travis Rilat (10/14/06), Wayne Johnson (3/16/07), Jake Peters (3/17/07), Gary Wright (5/12/07), Gary Wright (7/19/07), Jason Johnson (10/12/07), Jason Johnson (10/13/07), Tony Bruce, Jr. (3/14/08), Gary Wright (3/15/08), Jason Johnson (5/10/08), Gary Wright (7/17/08), Jason Johnson (10/17/08), Gary Wright (10/18/08), Shane Stewart (3/20/09), Jason Johnson (3/21/09), Gary Wright (10/17/09), Kevin Ramey (10/19/09), Sammy Swindell (3/19/10), Jason Johnson (10/15/10), Jack Dover (10/16/10), Jason Johnson (3/25/11), Sam Hafertepe Jr. (3/26/11), Wayne Johnson (10/21/11), Danny Lasoski (10/22/11), Jason Johnson (3/24/12).

2012 Feature Winners: Jason Johnson-3, Brady Bacon-3, Tony Bruce Jr.-2, Wayne Johnson-2, Seth Bergman-1, Danny Lasoski-1, Jason Martin-1, Dustin Morgan-1, Danny Wood-1

Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV Points (top 10): 1. Jason Johnson 1,956; 2. Wayne Johnson 1,952; 3. Brady Bacon 1,951; 4. Johnny Herrera 1,810; 5. Brad Loyet 1,783; 6. Tony Bruce Jr. 1,690; 7. Danny Wood 1,643; 8. Seth Bergman 1,586; 9. Dustin Morgan 1,490; 10. Gary Wright 1,410

The Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV is scheduled to compete 68 times in 15 states throughout the United States with divers competing for their share of a $250,000 point’s fund.

The 2012 season marks the 21st year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing for the American Sprint Car Series, which brings the best of Sprint Car racing to dozens of different tracks throughout the nation and into Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil Sprint Car Series, ASCS also consists of ten different Regions throughout the nation.

Lucas Oil Products is the title sponsor of the American Sprint Car Series. More information can be found on Lucas Oil Products at MAVTV is the presenting sponsor of the American Sprint Car Series. For information regarding availability and listings in your area log onto

Associate sponsors for the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MavTV include: Hoosier Racing Tire, Brodix, Geico, E3 Spark Plugs, General Tire, K&N Filters,, FSR Radiator and Racing Proucts, Schoenfeld Headers,, Weld Wheels, Maxwell Industries, Print Place, Simpson, Wesmar Racing Engines, and Hilborn Injection Systems.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at

Photo Credit: Ron Skinner