Close this search box.

Loyet Leads ASCS Warrior Charge to Lucas Oil Speedway!

Cody Morris, Tulsa, Oklahoma (4-30-2012) – Returning with the sophmore outing of a sophmore Speedway Motors ASCS Warrior Region campaign filled with 24 events, the Warrior forces head to Wheatland, Missouri’s Lucas Oil Speedway.

Quite possibly the finest dirt track racing facility in the nation, this Saturday’s Warrior card features the first of four ASCS scheduled events at the “Diamond of Dirt Tracks”. It will also showcase the sole standalone Warrior outing at Lucas Oil, as the three remaining events will be held in conjunction with the Lucas Oil ASCS National Tour presented by MavTV.

Formerly known as the Winged Outlaw Warriors, 2011 featured the first full season of action under the ASCS Warrior Region banner.

Sunset Hills, Missouri’s Brad Loyet turned a rookie sprint car effort into an inaugural ASCS Warrior Championship. Loyet also won the POWRi Midget title, making him a clear favorite heading into Lucas Oil Speedway’s “Open Wheel Showdown” featuring the ASCS Warrior Region sprints and Lucas Oil POWRi National Midget Series.

Sedalia, Missouri’s Jonathan Cornell bested Australian Chad Ely in the 2012 Speedway Motors ASCS Warrior Region season opener on April 13th at Grain Valley, Missouri’s Valley Speedway. Cornell takes an identical advantage into the second event of a twenty-four race 2012 season.

Grain Valley, Missouri’s Brian Brown was victorious in the only standalone ASCS Warrior Region show of the inaugural season on June 18th, 2011.

Lucas Oil ASCS National Tour presented by MavTV competitors Tim Crawley and Jason Johnson each took honored wins in the first annual Jesse Hockett/Daniel McMillin Memorial held on September 23rd and 24th of last season.

Saturday night‘s “Open Wheel Showdown” featuring the Speedway Motors ASCS Warrior Region and POWRi Midgets at Wheatland, Missouri’s Lucas Oil Speedway begins at 730pm. Gates will open at 5pm with hot laps scheduled to be run at 7pm.

For more information regarding Lucas Oil Speedway, including ticket pricing and directions, please visit

Featured Photo: Lonnie Wheatley

Past Speedway Motors ASCS Warrior Region feature winners at Lucas Oil Speedway:
9/24/11 – Jason Johnson (*with National)
9/23/11 – Tim Crawley (*with National)
6/18/11 – Brian Brown

The 2012 season marks the 21st year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing for the American Sprint Car Series, which brings the best of Sprint Car racing to dozens of different tracks throughout the nation and into Canada.

Anchored by the Lucas Oil Sprint Car Series presented by MavTV, ASCS also consists of eleven different Regions throughout the nation.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at