Close this search box.

Lorne Wofford Tops 305’s at Cardinal Motor Speedway

Lonnie Wheatley – EUNICE, N.M. (June 29, 2012) – Alamogordo, New Mexico’s Lorne Wofford wired the field as the ASCS 305-ci Sprint Car series invaded Cardinal Motor Speedway for the first time on Friday night.

After advancing from fifth to second in his heat race, Wofford redrew the pole for the 25-lap main event and never looked back en route to capturing his first series win.

Wofford paced the initial circuits ahead of Kyle McCutcheon and Derek Drown before McCutcheon looped it in turn two on the ninth round with Drown spinning as well to avoid contact.

Billy Briley kept the heat on Wofford after than until surrendering the second spot to Rickey Hood on the 21st lap. Hood, who had advanced from the ninth starting position closed to Wofford’s tailtank after a Preston Peebles II turn three flip set up a green-white-checkered run, but Wofford was up to the task.

Wofford took the checkered flag ahead of Hood, with Briley, Dylan Harris and Don Grable rounding out the top five.

Originally slated for the front row outside, current ASCS 305 points leader John Carney II collided with Brandon Williams in turn three when his throttle stuck as the field was aligning for the feature event. Both were done for the night.

After the front two rows of the feature passed on the opportunity to receive a $5,000 or $4,000 bonus by winning from tailback, third-row outside starter Scott Pace accepted a $3,000 challenge. Pace was only able to advance to tenth.

Cardinal Motor Speedway ASCS 305-ci Sprint Car Results:

First Heat (8 Laps): 1. 05-Billy Briley, 2. 1m-Dylan Harris, 3. 24-Scott Pace, 4. 16-Cory Riley, 5. 2x-Brandon Williams, 6. 26s-Pete Seidl (DNS).

Second Heat (8 Laps): 1. 12m-Kyle McCutcheon, 2. 18-Lorne Wofford, 3. 74b-Derek Drown, 4. 11p-Preston Peebles II, 5. 777-Brandon Black, 6. 77-Colt Treharn (DNS).

Third Heat (8 Laps): 1. 224-John Carney II, 2. 6u-Anton Salopek, 3. 1x-Rickey Hood, 4. 186-Don Grable, 5. 9k-Kyle Sager.

“A” Feature (25 Laps): 1. 18-Lorne Wofford, 2. 1x-Rickey Hood, 3. 05-Billy Briley, 4. 1m-Dylan Harris, 5. 186-Don Grable, 6. 9k-Kyle Sager, 7. 777-Brandon Black, 8. 6u-Anton Salopek, 9. 74b-Derek Drown, 10. 24-Scott Pace, 11. 12m-Kyle McCutcheon, 12. 11p-Preston Peebles II, 13. 16-Cory Riley, 14. 224-John Carney II, 15. 7x-Brandon Williams, 16. 77-Colt Treharn (DNS), 17. 26s-Pete Seidl (DNS).

The 2012 season marks the 21st year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing for the American Sprint Car Series, which brings the best of Sprint Car racing to dozens of different tracks throughout the nation and into Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil Sprint Car Series, ASCS also consists of ten different Regions throughout the nation.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at

Photo Credit: Lynn Thurman