Close this search box.

Lemley takes Lucas Oil ASCS Montana Debut

Bryan Hulbert – Great Falls, Montana (July 11, 2012) In their Montana debut Bellingham, Washington’s Brock Lemley bested the field of 22 cars to take his first Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV feature win at Electric City Speedway in Great Falls, Montana.

“This is unbelievable. Once I saw him [Jason Johnson] go by me in the rubber I thought it was all over” commented by Lemley in his post-race interview. “This has got to be my biggest win.”

Drawing the outside of the front row in the 30-lap feature event the Halftime Sports Bar No. 23n jumped to the early lead with pole sitting Johnny Herrera battling for the runner up spot with Seth Bergman.

Racing into the night’s feature via the B-Main, the City Vending No. 77x of Wayne Johnson was on the move; cracking into the top five in the first six laps. Keeping pace from eighth, the MVT No. 41 of Jason Johnson would find the first hints of rubber.

Running into the runner up spot with Brock Lemley in sight, Johnson would bolt into the race lead just prior to the halfway point.

Slowing for a caution on lap 15 for a pair of cars crossed up in turn two, nearly collecting Herrera, the race would resume for another lap before the caution waved again for single car spun in turn one.

Restarting with 16 laps completed, the battle for the lead would ignite with Lemley taking the wing all the way forward to free up the car. Shooting to the low line, the Western States Insurance No. 23n would grab the lead and run away to the win. Jason Johnson would take the runner up spot with Seth Bergman fighting back to third after falling back to seventh.

Johnny Herrera would salvage a top five with a fourth place finish with Gary Wright rounding out the top five.

Brad Loyet would charge from eighteenth to sixth with Dustin Morgan seventh. Fighting a loose car from the start, Brady Bacon would have to fight back from as far back to sixteenth to finish eighth.

Logan Forler would climb from fifteenth to ninth with Wayne Johnson fading in the later half to round out the top ten.

Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV
Electric City Speedway – Great Fall, Montana
July 11, 2012

Car Count: 26

Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 45x-Johnny Herrera[6]; 2. 18-Tony Bruce Jr[2]; 3. 19-Dennis MacEachern[3]; 4. 1x-Vernon Hill[4]; 5. 27-Drew MacDonell[7]; 6. 3-Kelly Trerice[5]; 7. 31-Colton Akerstrom[1]

Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 23N-Brock Lemley[1]; 2. 2-Dustin Morgan[6]; 3. 99-Brady Bacon[2]; 4. 5h-Logan Forler[4]; 5. 28-Joe Perry; 6. 44-Kelly Miller[5]; 7. 2w-Wheeler Boys[7]

Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 41-Jason Johnson[1]; 2. 23-Seth Bergman[3]; 3. 9-Gary Wright[5]; 4. 77x-Wayne Johnson[2]; 5. 05-Brad Loyet[4]; DNF 98-Joe Ramaker[6]

Heat 4 (8 Laps): 1. 37-Trever Kirkland[1]; 2. 9x-Sean MacDonell[3]; 3. 27dd-David Hoiness[4]; 4. 2x-Kyle Evans[2]; 5. 35-Chip Rowe[6]; 6. 77-Mark Sweet[5]

B Feature (12 Laps): 1. 77x-Wayne Johnson[1]; 2. 05-Brad Loyet[3]; 3. 3-Kelly Trerice[6]; 4. 98-Joe Ramaker[5]; 5. 31-Colton Akerstrom[10]; 6. 44-Kelly Miller[7]; 7. 28-Joe Perry[4]; 8. 2x-Kyle Evans[2]; 9. 2w-Wheeler Boys[9]; DNF 77-Mark Sweet[8]

A Feature (30 Laps): 1. 23N-Brock Lemley[4]; 2. 41-Jason Johnson[8]; 3. 23-Seth Bergman[3]; 4. 45x-Johnny Herrera[1]; 5. 9-Gary Wright[6]; 6. 05-Brad Loyet[18]; 7. 2-Dustin Morgan[5]; 8. 99-Brady Bacon[12]; 9. 5h-Logan Forler[15]; 10. 77x-Wayne Johnson[17]; 11. 18-Tony Bruce Jr[9]; 12. 27dd-David Hoiness[10]; 13. 9x-Sean MacDonell[2]; 14. 37-Trever Kirkland[7]; 15. 27-Drew MacDonell[13]; 16. 31-Colton Akerstrom[21]; 17. 19-Dennis MacEachern[11]; 18. 35-Chip Rowe[16]; DNF 1x-Vernon Hill[14]; DNF 98-Joe Ramaker[20]; DNF 44-Kelly Miller[22]; DNF 3-Kelly Trerice[19]

Lap Leaders: Brock Lemley (1-9), Jason Johnson (10-16), Brock Lemley (17-30) Hard Charger of the Night: Brad Loyet +12
FSR Radiator High Point Driver: Johnny Herrera
Provisional(s): N/A

2012 Feature Winners: Jason Johnson-8, Brady Bacon-4, Wayne Johnson-4, Tony Bruce Jr.-3, Brian Brown-1, Seth Bergman-1, Danny Lasoski-1, Jason Martin-1, Dustin Morgan-1, Danny Wood-1, Cody Baker-1, Jordan Boston-1, Brock Lemley-1

Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV Points (top 10): 1. Jason Johnson 3,710; 2. Wayne Johnson 3,618; 3. Brady Bacon 3,512; 4. Johnny Herrera 3,378; 5. Brad Loyet 3,282; 6. Tony Bruce Jr. 3,275; 7. Seth Bergman 3,025; 8. Dustin Morgan 2,899; 9. Gary Wright 2,849; 10. Logan Forler 2,839

The Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV is scheduled to compete 66 times in 15 states throughout the United States with drivers competing for their share of a $250,000 point’s fund.

The 2012 season marks the 21st year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing for the American Sprint Car Series, which brings the best of Sprint Car racing to dozens of different tracks throughout the nation and into Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil Sprint Car Series, ASCS also consists of ten different Regions throughout the nation.

Lucas Oil Products is the title sponsor of the American Sprint Car Series. More information can be found on Lucas Oil Products at MAVTV is the presenting sponsor of the American Sprint Car Series. For information regarding availability and listings in your area log onto

Associate sponsors for the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MavTV include: Hoosier Racing Tire, Brodix, Geico, E3 Spark Plugs, General Tire, K&N Filters,, FSR Radiator and Racing Proucts, Schoenfeld Headers,, Weld Wheels, Maxwell Industries, Print Place, Simpson, Wesmar Racing Engines, and Hilborn Injection Systems.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at

Photo Credit: Vikki Higginbotham