Close this search box.

Lasoski Steals the Show at I-80 Speedway

Greenwood, Nebraska (May 24, 2012) Jumping behind the wheel of the Mark Burch owned 1m proved to be very lucrative for Danny Lasoski at I-80 Speedway in Greenwood, Nebraska as “The Dude” put on a show in route to the night’s $3,000 payday.

With twenty five laps on the scoreboard, the field came to life with the 18r of Ryan Roberts setting the pace to the green only to see the red fly as Jack Dover flipped violently off the top of turns three and four; nearly severing the car in two. Dover emerged sore but unharmed

On the restart the advantage would go to outside front row starting Don Droud Jr. but would be short lived as the MVT 41 of Jason Johnson bolted into the top spot on the second circuit. Holding the runner up spot after a restart on lap ten, the Wolf Weld 1m of Danny Lasoski would begin working on Johnson for the race lead.

Swapping the line several times, Lasoski would finally stick the Engler Machine 1m right around the inside guard rail to capture the race lead on lap thirteen. Working a combination of lines, Johnson would work on holding off the FVP 21 of Brian Brown while still running down Lasoski. Able to do both, Johnson would clear the 1m for the lead on lap eighteen, but would nearly spin coming off of turn four to complete the lap; allowing Lasoski back into the lead and Brown into second just as the caution was displayed for the spinning 12 of Tyler Drueke.

Going to the last completed lap, Johnson would restart second for the final seven laps but would fall to third with two laps remaining as Brown raced by but would not have enough time to run down “The Dude” as a clean racetrack allowed Lasoski would cruise to victory. Brown would hold onto second with Jason Johnson third. After starting on the front row, Don Droud Jr. would slip back to fourth with fellow front row start Ryan Roberts holding on to round out the top five.

Tony Bruce Jr. would charge from fifteenth to six in the Oil Medics 18 with Johnny Herrera seventh. Brady Loyet, after having to change an engine following his heat race would come from sixteenth to eighth with Wayne Johnson finishing ninth; his first finish outside the top ten since the series began the 2012 season in March. Allowed a promoters provisional into the night’s feature event Davey Heskin charged from twenty-fifth to round out the top ten.

Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV

I-80 Speedway – Greenwood, Nebraska

May 24, 2012

Event Car Count: 35

Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 4j-Lee Grosz[1]; 2. 18-Ryan Roberts[2]; 3. 40-Clint Garner[4]; 4. 45x-Johnny Herrera[6]; 5. 2x-Don Droud Jr[9]; 6. 17w-Cole Wood[3]; 7. 0-Steven Richardson[7]; 8. 21-Ryan Kitchen[5]; 9. 35-Trevor Grossenbacher[8]

Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 5h-Logan Forler[1]; 2. 21-Brian Brown[2]; 3. 2A-Randy Hibbs[3]; 4. 18-Tony Bruce Jr[4]; 5. 77x-Wayne Johnson[9]; 6. 56-Davey Heskin[5]; 7. 7k-Robby Wolfgang[7]; 8. 87-Aaron Reutzel[8]; 9. 82-Jason Danley[6]

Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 81-Danny Wood[1]; 2. 1m-Danny Lasoski[4]; 3. 99-Brady Bacon[2]; 4. 12-Tyler Drueke[3]; 5. 9-Gary Wright[5]; 6. 23-Seth Bergman[9]; 7. 13v-Seth Brahmer[6]; 8. 6g-Bryan Gossel[8]; 9. 4x-Shawn Petersen[7]

Heat 4 (8 Laps): 1. 41-Jason Johnson[4]; 2. 05-Brad Loyet[1]; 3. 6x-Kaley Gharst[3]; 4. 53-Jack Dover[5]; 5. 23s-Stu Snyder[6]; 6. 4-Jordan Boston[8]; 7. 2-Dustin Morgan[7]; 8. 17-Gage Dorr[2]

B Feature (12 Laps): 1. 18-Tony Bruce Jr[2]; 2. 4-Jordan Boston[5]; 3. 9-Gary Wright[6]; 4. 23-Seth Bergman[1]; 5. 12-Tyler Drueke[3]; 6. 2-Dustin Morgan[11]; 7. 23s-Stu Snyder[4]; 8. 56-Davey Heskin[7]; 9. 7k-Robby Wolfgang[10]; 10. 17w-Cole Wood[8]; 11. 87-Aaron Reutzel[13]; 12. 21-Ryan Kitchen[15]; 13. 13v-Seth Brahmer[12]; 14. 17-Gage Dorr[17]; 15. 4x-Shawn Petersen[18]; 16. 82-Jason Danley[19]; DNF 6g-Bryan Gossel[14]; DNF 0-Steven Richardson[9]; DNF 35-Trevor Grossenbacher[16]

A Feature (25 Laps): 1. 1m-Danny Lasoski[3]; 2. 21-Brian Brown[5]; 3. 41-Jason Johnson[4]; 4. 2x-Don Droud Jr[2]; 5. 18-Ryan Roberts[1]; 6. 18-Tony Bruce Jr[17]; 7. 45x-Johnny Herrera[10]; 8. 05-Brad Loyet[16]; 9. 77x-Wayne Johnson[9]; 10. 56-Davey Heskin[25]; 11. 40-Clint Garner[11]; 12. 99-Brady Bacon[15]; 13. 81-Danny Wood[7]; 14. 9-Gary Wright[19]; 15. 4j-Lee Grosz[8]; 16. 4-Jordan Boston[18]; 17. 7k-Robby Wolfgang[24]; 18. 5h-Logan Forler[6]; 19. 6x-Kaley Gharst[12]; 20. 2-Dustin Morgan[22]; 21. 87-Aaron Reutzel[23]; DNF 12-Tyler Drueke[21]; DNF 23-Seth Bergman[20]; DNF 2A-Randy Hibbs[13]; DNF 53-Jack Dover[14]

Lap Leaders: Don Droud Jr. (1), Jason Johnson (2-12), Danny Lasoski (13-25) Hard Charger of the Night: Davey Heskin +15

FSR High Point Driver of the Night: Jason Johnson

Provisional(s): Aaron Reutzel, Robby Wolfgang (Promoter), Davey Heskin (Promoter)

2012 Feature Winners: Jason Johnson-3, Tony Bruce Jr.-2, Wayne Johnson-2, Seth Bergman-1, Danny Lasoski-1, Dustin Morgan-1, Danny Wood-1

Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV Points (top 10): 1. Wayne Johnson 1,460; 2. Jason Johnson 1,441; 3. Brady Bacon 1,359 4. Johnny Herrera 1,295; 5. Tony Bruce 1,269; 6. Brad Loyet 1,264; 7. Gary Wright 1,208; 8. Danny Wood 1,192; 9. Seth Bergman 1,146; 10. Dustin Morgan 1,123

The Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV is scheduled to compete 68 times in 15 states throughout the United States with divers competing for their share of a $250,000 point’s fund.

The 2012 season marks the 21st year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing for the American Sprint Car Series, which brings the best of Sprint Car racing to dozens of different tracks throughout the nation and into Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil Sprint Car Series, ASCS also consists of ten different Regions throughout the nation.

Lucas Oil Products is the title sponsor of the American Sprint Car Series. More information can be found on Lucas Oil Products at MAVTV is the presenting sponsor of the American Sprint Car Series. For information regarding availability and listings in your area log onto

Associate sponsors for the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MavTV include: Hoosier Racing Tire, Brodix, Geico, E3 Spark Plugs, General Tire, K&N Filters,, FSR Radiator and Racing Proucts, Schoenfeld Headers,, Weld Wheels, Maxwell Industries, Print Place, Simpson, Wesmar Racing Engines, and Hilborn Injection Systems.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at

Photo Credit: Joe Orth