Close this search box.

Kevin Swindell Scores First Lucas Oil ASCS Victory in Kansas

Bryan Hulbert – Salina, Kansas (August 16, 2012) Becoming the eighteenth different winner in 2012, Kevin Swindell was the class of the field in Kansas, taking a thrilling victory at the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV’s inaugural visit to the Salina Speedway.

After a complete restart for the spun No. 2 of Dustin Morgan, the three time Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Champion would roll off sixth as the early advantage went to Seth Bergman.

Taking the Superior Marine No. 23 to a six car length advantage, the early battle for second would see Don Droud Jr. taking the position away from J.D. Johnson. Holding third for the first six laps, the Alternative Pest Management No. 98 would see the MVT No. 41 of Jason Johnson making the pass with Kevin Swindell on tow.

Slowing for a caution on lap nine the field would restack single file. Back in the throttle, Swindell would see the doors swing wide for the runner up spot. Cutting down the track through turns on and two, the Bishop Racing Components No. 39 went three wide with Johnson and Droud, taking the runner up spot entering turn three.

On the heels of Seth Bergman for the lead, Swindell would have to wait for slower traffic for his chance. Racing to the halfway point, the front of the field was in heavy lapped traffic. Taking several shots for the lead with slide jobs at either end of the track, Swindell and Bergman battling along with slower cars would allow Jason Johnson to close in.

Taking away second on lap nineteen, Johnson was in hot pursuit of the Corridor Electric No. 23, taking over the top spot with nine laps to run. Fighting an every loosening racecar, Bergman would surrender the runner up spot on the same lap. Racing into another group of cars, the slide jobs would commence with the Swindell finally gaining the advantage just in time as the caution waved for the stalled No. 48 of Jake Martens with six laps to race.

Retaking the green Swindell would hold off the charge of Johnson, only to see the caution wave again on the white flag lap, setting up for a green, white, checkered finish as the field went back to the last fully completed lap.

Holding off the charge of the MVT No. 41 one last time, the final two laps were smooth sailing as Kevin Swindell crossed the double checkered flags for his first Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV triumph. Jason Johnson was second with Seth Bergman hold on to round out the podium.

Don Droud Jr. would cross the stripe fourth with Wayne Johnson rounding out the top five after the final restart saw the City Vending No.77 getting a huge run from eighth.

Logan Forler would settle for sixth with Johnny Herrera seventh. Gary Wright took eighth while Aaron Reutzel climbed from sixteenth to ninth. Brad Loyet advanced three spot to round out the top ten.

Racing with the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV continues Friday August 17th at Creek County Speedway in Sapulpa, Oklahoma.

Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV
Salina Speedway-Salina, Kansas
August 16, 2012

Car Count: 19

Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 41-Jason Johnson[3]; 2. 39-Kevin Swindell[1]; 3. 45X-Johnny Herrera[4]; 4. 99-Brady Bacon[5]; 5. 77X-Wayne Johnson[7]; 6. 4X-Shawn Petersen[2]; 7. 29-Brandon Hahn[6]

Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 5H-Logan Forler[2]; 2. 1X-Don Droud Jr[1]; 3. 18-Tony Bruce Jr[3]; 4. 05-Brad Loyet[4]; 5. 48-Jake Martens[6]; 6. 17-Aaron Reutzel[5]

Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 2-Dustin Morgan[1]; 2. 23-Seth Bergman[4]; 3. 9-Gary Wright[3]; 4. 98-J.D. Johnson[6]; 5. 81-Jon Freeman[2]; DNF 76J-Justin Schwien[5]

A Feature (30 Laps): 1. 39-Kevin Swindell[6]; 2. 41-Jason Johnson[8]; 3. 23-Seth Bergman[2]; 4. 1X-Don Droud Jr[4]; 5. 77X-Wayne Johnson[12]; 6. 5H-Logan Forler[5]; 7. 45X-Johnny Herrera[7]; 8. 9-Gary Wright[10]; 9. 17-Aaron Reutzel[16]; 10. 05-Brad Loyet[13]; 11. 98-J.D. Johnson[1]; 12. 18-Tony Bruce Jr[9]; 13. 81-Jon Freeman[15]; 14. 29-Brandon Hahn[19]; 15. 4X-Shawn Petersen[18]; 16. 76J-Justin Schwien[17]; DNF 2-Dustin Morgan[3]; DNF 48-Jake Martens[14]; DNF 99-Brady Bacon[11]

Lap Leader(s): Seth Bergman (1-20), Jason Johnson (21-23), Kevin Swindell (24-30) Hard Charger of the Night: Wayne Johnson+7
FSR Radiator High Point Driver: Jason Johnson
Provisional(s): N/A

2012 Feature Winners: Jason Johnson-8, Wayne Johnson-7, Brady Bacon-5, Tony Bruce Jr.-3, Danny Lasoski-2, Shane Stewart-2, Brian Brown-1, Seth Bergman-1, Jason Martin-1, Dustin Morgan-1, Danny Wood-1, Cody Baker-1, Jordan Boston-1, Brock Lemley-1, Mason Moore-1, Brad Loyet-1, Brooke Tatnell-1, Kevin Swindell-1

Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV Points (top 10): 1. Jason Johnson 4,886; 2. Wayne Johnson 4,848; 3. Brady Bacon 4,641; 4. Brad Loyet 4,435; 5. Johnny Herrera 4,420; 6. Tony Bruce Jr. 4,321; 7. Seth Bergman 4,061; 8. Dustin Morgan 3,896; 9. Gary Wright 3,878; 10. Logan Forler 3,871

The 2012 season marks the 21st year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing for the American Sprint Car Series, which brings the best of Sprint Car racing to dozens of different tracks throughout the nation and into Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil Sprint Car Series, ASCS also consists of ten different Regions throughout the nation.

Lucas Oil Products is the title sponsor of the American Sprint Car Series. More information can be found on Lucas Oil Products at MAVTV is the presenting sponsor of the American Sprint Car Series. For information regarding availability and listings in your area log onto

Associate sponsors for the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MavTV include: Hoosier Racing Tire, Brodix, Geico, E3 Spark Plugs, General Tire, K&N Filters,, FSR Radiator and Racing Proucts, Schoenfeld Headers,, Weld Wheels, Maxwell Industries, Print Place, Simpson, Wesmar Racing Engines, and Hilborn Injection Systems.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at as well as Twitter and Facebook.