Close this search box.

Johnson takes Speedweek win in Louisiana

Bryan Hulbert – Chatham, Louisiana (June 18, 2012) Jumping to the lead from the word go, the No. 41 of Jason Johnson took his fourth win of the 2012 season at the high banked quarter mile Jones Motor Speedway in Chatham, Louisiana.

“I tell you the Stenhouse Jr. Racing team is doing an excellent job. It’s a lot of fun when you got a race track like that where you can run top and bottom and I tell you lapped traffic there at the end was hairy” commented Johnson on the front straight-a-way. “I didn’t know where to go anymore. I didn’t know if I should be around the top or not. I didn’t want to leave the bottom open for a slide job but it just worked out in the end. Thank goodness.”

Getting the advantage over fellow front row starter Danny Wood after the initial start was called back, Johnson dashed to a straight-a-way advantage; leaving the Oil Medics No. 77x of Wayne Johnson and the Fatheadz Eye Heads No. 99 of Brady Bacon to battle for second.

Slowing for a caution on lap seven, Bacon would utilize the restart to get the runner up spot away from Wayne Johnson before the caution waved again on lap eleven for Shawn Petersen.

Back underway with nineteen laps remaining Johnson was unmatched for the next sixteen laps; maintaining a straight-a-way advantage over Bacon before slower traffic brought the O.E.M/XXX No. 99 into the picture.

Mired in slower traffic, Johnson would have little choice in the final laps as Bacon closed to a two car length disadvantage. Driving off the high-line on the final trip off turn two, a slower car would force Johnson to the bottom down the back straight-a-way, unknowingly blocking the last lap charge of Brady Bacon.

Retaking the top groove into the final two turns of racing, Bacon stayed to the bottom, going three wide with the back of the field with Johnson getting the run off the cushion for the win. Brady Bacon would cross the line in the runner up spot with Wayne Johnson rounding out the podium.

Danny Lasoski would move up from seventh to fourth with Brian Brown rounding out the top five after starting eighth.

Johnny Herrera crossed the line sixth after starting twelfth with Zach Chappell seventh. Danny Wood took eighth with Tony Bruce Jr. and Gary Wright rounding out the top ten.

Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV

Jones Motor Speedway – Chatham, Louisiana

Speedweek – Night #3

June 18, 2012

Event Car Count: 20

Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 50z-Zach Chappell[1]; 2. 81-Danny Wood[4]; 3. 5h-Logan Forler[2]; 4. 21-Brian Brown[6]; 5. 45x-Johnny Herrera[7]; 6. 11s-Patrick Stasa[3]; 7. 4x-Shawn Petersen[5]

Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 99-Brady Bacon[1]; 2. 41-Jason Johnson[2]; 3. 77x-Wayne Johnson[4]; 4. 23-Seth Bergman[5]; 5. 18-Tony Bruce Jr[6]; 6. 9-Gary Wright[7]; 7. 17-Bruce Griffith Jr[3]

Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 1m-Danny Lasoski[1]; 2. 11c-Matt Covington[2]; 3. 2-Dustin Morgan[3]; 4. 14k-Kyle Bellm[4]; 5. 05-Brad Loyet[5]; 6. 14z-Zach Pringle[6]

A Feature (30 Laps): 1. 41-Jason Johnson[2]; 2. 99-Brady Bacon[5]; 3. 77x-Wayne Johnson[3]; 4. 1m-Danny Lasoski[7]; 5. 21-Brian Brown[8]; 6. 45x-Johnny Herrera[12]; 7. 50z-Zach Chappell[6]; 8. 81-Danny Wood[1]; 9. 18-Tony Bruce Jr[14]; 10. 9-Gary Wright[16]; 11. 23-Seth Bergman[11]; 12. 5h-Logan Forler[10]; 13. 11c-Matt Covington[4]; 14. 05-Brad Loyet[15]; 15. 2-Dustin Morgan[9]; 16. 14k-Kyle Bellm[13]; 17. 4x-Shawn Petersen[19]; 18. 14z-Zach Pringle[17]; 19. 17-Bruce Griffith Jr[20]; DNF 11s-Patrick Stasa[18]

Lap Leader(s): Jason Johnson (1-30) Hard Charger of the Night: Johnny Herrera +6

FSR Radiator High Point Driver: Danny Wood

Provisional(s): N/A

2012 Feature Winners: Jason Johnson-4, Brady Bacon-3, Wayne Johnson-3, Tony Bruce Jr.-2, Brian Brown-1, Seth Bergman-1, Danny Lasoski-1, Jason Martin-1, Dustin Morgan-1, Danny Wood-1

Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV Points (top 10): 1. Wayne Johnson 2,379 2. Jason Johnson 2,361; 3. Brady Bacon 2,328; 4. Johnny Herrera 2,186; 5. Brad Loyet 2,114; 6. Tony Bruce Jr. 2,027; 7. Danny Wood 1,988 8. Seth Bergman 1,894; 9. Dustin Morgan 1,800; 10. Gary Wright 1,752

2012 Lucas Oil ASCS Speedweek Points (top 10) 1. Wayne Johnson 427; 2. Jason Johnson 405; 3. Brady Bacon 377; 4. Johnny Herrera 376; 5. Brian Brown 365; 6. Danny Lasoski 361; 7 Danny Wood 345; 8. Gary Wight 342; 9. Tony Bruce Jr. 337; 10. Matt Covington 332

The Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV is scheduled to compete 68 times in 15 states throughout the United States with divers competing for their share of a $250,000 point’s fund.

The 2012 season marks the 21st year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing for the American Sprint Car Series, which brings the best of Sprint Car racing to dozens of different tracks throughout the nation and into Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil Sprint Car Series, ASCS also consists of ten different Regions throughout the nation.

Lucas Oil Products is the title sponsor of the American Sprint Car Series. More information can be found on Lucas Oil Products at MAVTV is the presenting sponsor of the American Sprint Car Series. For information regarding availability and listings in your area log onto

Associate sponsors for the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MavTV include: Hoosier Racing Tire, Brodix, Geico, E3 Spark Plugs, General Tire, K&N Filters,, FSR Radiator and Racing Proucts, Schoenfeld Headers,, Weld Wheels, Maxwell Industries, Print Place, Simpson, Wesmar Racing Engines, and Hilborn Injection Systems.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at

Photo Credit: Mr. E. Photography