Close this search box.

Johnson Joins 300 Club with Texas Motor Speedway Victory

Bryan Hulbert – Ft. Worth, Texas (September 15, 2012) In his 300th career Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV feature start, Jason Johnson cruised to victory in the Port-a-Cool U.S. National Dirt Track Championships at the Texas Motor Speedway Dirt Track.

Gridding the A-Feature sixth, Johnson rolled the high line early; jumping into third by lap three behind Travis Rilat and early leader Wayne Johnson.

Grabbing the runner up spot the following lap, the Fisher Auto Body No. 41 began stalking Wayne Johnson as the pair began working into slower traffic.

Restart on lap ten following a caution for Kevin Swindell who suffered a flat Left Rear, Jason Johnson would grab away the lead on the thirteenth round with a high side pass on the Missile Motorsports No. 77x.

Running into slower traffic, Wayne Johnson would see his disadvantage range from just under a second to as much as three seconds as the battle on the track saw Logan Forler in pursuit of Travis Rilat. Fighting for third, Forler and Rilat would battle off and on with Forler finally taking away the third spot on lap eighteen.

Going into the final ten laps of the night’s 40 lap A-Feature, Wayne Johnson would begin making up ground as Jason Johnson weaved in and out of traffic. Racing into the final three laps, the City Vending No. 77x would nearly see his night come to a close. Going for the slide job on the slower No. 45k of Kolt Walker the pair would touch exiting turn two with Walker going for a single head over heels flip. Walker emerged unscathed.

Restarting with no slower cars between the No. 41 and the No. 77x, Wayne Johnson would try for the lead on the restart but Jason Johnson would not be denied his eleventh victory of the 2012 season. Wayne Johnson crossed the line second with Logan Forler again holding off a late race charge from Travis Rilat to grab the final step on the podium. Travis Rilat grabbed fourth with Brady Bacon mounting an impressive charge from fourteenth to round out the top five.

Johnny Herrera was sixth with Tony Bruce Jr. seventh. Seth Bergman settled for eighth with Dustin Morgan coming from eighteenth to night. After taking a provisional into the night’s Feature event, Brad Loyet picked up the Hard Charge of the night coming from twenty-third to tenth.

Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV
Texas Motor Speedway – Fort Worth, Texas
September 15, 2012

Car Count: 42

Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 81-Danny Wood[4]; 2. 5H-Logan Forler[6]; 3. 45-Martin Edwards[3]; 4. 12W-Dale Wester[1]; 5. 28-Tommy Bryant[9]; 6. 05-Brad Loyet[5]; 7. 17W-Brad Welborn[8]; 8. 69-Larry Howery[2]; DNF 12-Shawn Mize[7]

Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 11C-Matt Covington[1]; 2. 77X-Wayne Johnson[4]; 3. 17R-Aaron Reutzel[5]; 4. 2-Dustin Morgan[3]; 5. 21W-Wes Wofford[7]; 6. 11P-Preston Peebles II[6]; 7. 25-Blake Hahn[8]; 8. 14B-Robert Byrom[2]; DNF 92H-Richie Harris[9]

Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 41-Jason Johnson[2]; 2. 29-Travis Rilat[8]; 3. 99-Brady Bacon[5]; 4. 15H-Sam Hafertepe Jr[7]; 5. 74E-Claud Estes III[3]; 6. 74X-Joshua Hodges[4]; 7. 85-Jerry Bell[6]; DNF 29F-Brandon Hahn[1]

Heat 4 (8 Laps): 1. 39-Kevin Swindell[2]; 2. 9-Gary Wright[6]; 3. 17B-Josh Baughman[3]; 4. 23-Seth Bergman[8]; 5. 22-Koby Barksdale[5]; 6. 4X-Shawn Petersen[4]; 7. 17-Bruce Griffith Jr[1]; 8. 58-Gary Floyd[7]

Heat 5 (8 Laps): 1. 45K-Kolt Walker[1]; 2. 45X-Johnny Herrera[4]; 3. 18-Tony Bruce Jr[7]; 4. 1A-Kevin Ramey[3]; 5. 11S-Joe Wood Jr[6]; 6. 10-George White[2]; 7. 2L-Logan Payne[5]; DNF 11-Justin Melton[8]

B Feature 1 (12 Laps): 1. 1A-Kevin Ramey[3]; 2. 21W-Wes Wofford[2]; 3. 45-Martin Edwards[1]; 4. 11-Justin Melton[10]; 5. 05-Brad Loyet[6]; 6. 25-Blake Hahn[7]; 7. 12W-Dale Wester[4]; 8. 74E-Claud Estes III[5]; 9. 4X-Shawn Petersen[8]; 10. 85-Jerry Bell[9]; DNF 14B-Robert Byrom[13]; DNF 58-Gary Floyd[11]; DNS 29F-Brandon Hahn

B Feature 2 (12 Laps): 1. 2-Dustin Morgan[2]; 2. 22-Koby Barksdale[4]; 3. 17B-Josh Baughman[1]; 4. 2L-Logan Payne[9]; 5. 74X-Joshua Hodges[7]; 6. 10-George White[8]; 7. 17W-Brad Welborn[6]; 8. 69-Larry Howery[12]; 9. 11P-Preston Peebles II[5]; 10. 92H-Richie Harris[13]; 11. 12-Shawn Mize[10]; 12. 17-Bruce Griffith Jr[11]; DNF 11S-Joe Wood Jr[3]

A Feature (40 Laps): 1. 41-Jason Johnson[6]; 2. 77X-Wayne Johnson[1]; 3. 5H-Logan Forler[4]; 4. 29-Travis Rilat[2]; 5. 99-Brady Bacon[14]; 6. 45X-Johnny Herrera[9]; 7. 18-Tony Bruce Jr[5]; 8. 23-Seth Bergman[12]; 9. 2-Dustin Morgan[18]; 10. 05-Brad Loyet[23]; 11. 28-Tommy Bryant[16]; DNF 81-Danny Wood[3]; DNF 17B-Josh Baughman[22]; DNF 45K-Kolt Walker[11]; DNF 11C-Matt Covington[10]; DNF 1A-Kevin Ramey[17]; DNF 17R-Aaron Reutzel[13]; DNF 9-Gary Wright[7]; DNF 15H-Sam Hafertepe Jr[15]; DNF 39-Kevin Swindell[8]; DNF 45-Martin Edwards[21]; DNF 21W-Wes Wofford[19]; DNF 22-Koby Barksdale[20]

Lap Leader(s): Wayne Johnson (1-12), Jason Johnson (13-40) Hard Charger of the Night: Brad Loyet+13
FSR Radiator High Point Driver of the Night: Travis Rilat
Provisional(s): Brad Loyet (B1)

2012 Feature Winners: Jason Johnson-11, Wayne Johnson-8, Brady Bacon-6, Tony Bruce Jr.-3, Danny Lasoski-2, Shane Stewart-2, Jeff Swindell-2, Brian Brown-1, Seth Bergman-1, Jason Martin-1, Dustin Morgan-1, Danny Wood-1, Cody Baker-1, Jordan Boston-1, Brock Lemley-1, Mason Moore-1, Brad Loyet-1, Brooke Tatnell-1, Kevin Swindell-1

Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV Points (top 10): 1. Jason Johnson 5,766; 2. Wayne Johnson 5,741; 3. Brady Bacon 5,565; 4. Johnny Herrera 5,272; 5. Brad Loyet 5,225; 6. Tony Bruce Jr. 5,165; 7. Seth Bergman 4,825; 8. Logan Forler 4,745; 9. Dustin Morgan 4,652; 10. Gary Wright 4,609

The 2012 season marks the 21st year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing for the American Sprint Car Series, which brings the best of Sprint Car racing to dozens of different tracks throughout the nation and into Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil Sprint Car Series, ASCS also consists of ten different Regions throughout the nation.

Lucas Oil Products is the title sponsor of the American Sprint Car Series. More information can be found on Lucas Oil Products at MAVTV is the presenting sponsor of the American Sprint Car Series. For information regarding availability and listings in your area log onto

Associate sponsors for the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MavTV include: Hoosier Racing Tire, Brodix, Geico, E3 Spark Plugs, General Tire, K&N Filters,, FSR Radiator and Racing Proucts, Schoenfeld Headers,, Weld Wheels, Maxwell Industries, Print Place, Simpson, Wesmar Racing Engines, and Hilborn Injection Systems.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at as well as Twitter and Facebook.

Photo Credit: Mike Howard