Close this search box.

Johnson continues Regional success with Lone Star score

Cody Morris, KILGORE, TEXAS (4-7-2012) – The Oil Medics ASCS Lone Star region kicked off the 2012 season with their sole season appearance at Kilgore’s Lone Star Speedway.

Oklahoma native turned Knoxville, Iowa resident Wayne Johnson continued his ASCS Regional hot streak.

In his return visit to Kilgore’s 3/8 speed trap since thrashing a mount in last season’s inaugural Lone Star Nationals, Johnson was the beneficiary of a mid race mistake by defending ASCS Lone Star region champion Matt Covington.

While an early race incident involving Sam Hafertepe Jr. and Michael outside front row starter Michael Lang resulted in a disappointing early exit for the latter, defending champion Covington led the first 14 circuits of the 25 lap Feature event before looping his mount as he exited turn 4.

Covington maintained power to avoid being sent to the tail of the field, it was just the opening Johnson needed for his 1st ASCS Lone Star region victory of the season aboard the Oil Medics, City Vending, and Outlaw Wings sponsored no.77x. The Lone Star win marked Johnson’s series’ best 3rd ASCS Regional score of the 2012 season following two ASCS Gulf South Region scores.

Mesquite, Texas’ Martin Edwards rallied into the runner up spot with Lake Havasu, Arizona’s Logan Forler accepting show position honors. Hafertepe crossed the finish line 4th with Burleson, Texas’ John Ricketts completing a strong first outing with a 5th place finish. Gatesville, Texas native Evan Pardo earned Hard Charger honors by advancing seven spots from his outside 8th row starting spot.

Matt Covington, Sam Hafertepe Jr., and Michael Lang took heat race victories over the 20 car field.

RESULTS: April 7th, 2012
Oil Medics 2012 ASCS Lone Star Region Season Opener
Lone Star Speedway – Kilgore, Texas

A Feature (25 Laps): 1. 77x-Wayne Johnson[4]; 2. 45-Martin Edwards[5]; 3. 5h-Logan Forler[3]; 4. 15H-Sam Hafertepe Jr[6]; 5. 76-John Ricketts[8]; 6. 11c-Matt Covington[1]; 7. 2-Dustin Morgan[10]; 8. 11-Justin Melton[9]; 9. 54-Evan Pardo[16]; 10. 74E-Claud Estes III[13]; 11. 12x-Dale Wester[15]; 12. 69-Larry Howery[12]; 13. 7m-Kevin Ramey[7]; 14. 32-Derek Weaver[19]; 15. 17-Bruce Griffith Jr[20]; 16. 4x-Shawn Petersen[18]; 17. 14B-Robert Byrom[14]; 18. 12-Shawn Mize[11]; 19. 16-Koty Adams[17]; 20. 14-Michael Lang[2]
Lap Leaders: Covington 1-14; Johnson 15-25

Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 11c-Matt Covington; 2. 5h-Logan Forler; 3. 77x-Wayne Johnson; 4. 11-Justin Melton; 5. 12x-Dale Wester; 6. 4x-Shawn Petersen; 7. 17-Bruce Griffith Jr

Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 15H-Sam Hafertepe Jr; 2. 76-John Ricketts; 3. 45-Martin Edwards; 4. 69-Larry Howery; 5. 74E-Claud Estes III; 6. 54-Evan Pardo; 7. 32-Derek Weaver

Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 14-Michael Lang; 2. 7m-Kevin Ramey; 3. 12-Shawn Mize; 4. 2-Dustin Morgan; 5. 14B-Robert Byrom; 6. 16-Koty Adams

Featured Photo Credit: Tim Aylwin