Close this search box.

Johnson Completes Weekend Sweep

Bryan Hulbert – Little Rock, Arkansas (August 25, 2012) Fresh off a victory Friday night at the Salina Highbanks Speedway, Jason Johnson made it a weekend sweep with a mid-race pass to grab the win at I-30 Speedway in Little Rock, Arkansas.

Taking the green from the eighth position, the race would be halted with only one lap complete as Dustin Morgan flipped while running fourth after contact with the front straight-a-way wall. At the same time, Brad Loyet would see his night come to an end after the Vacuworx International No. 05 flipped off the top of turns three and four. Both drivers were okay.

Leading the field back to green, Tony Bruce Jr. would pull to a comfortable advantage with Seth Bergman and Ernie Ainsworth in a battle for the runner up spot.

Cracking the top five on lap six, Jason Johnson would go to work on Ainsworth and Derek Hagar for the fourth and third spots. Breaking into the podium on lap ten it was a matter of when and where slower traffic would come into play.

Rolling to the outside of Seth Bergman on the sixteenth circuit, Johnson would utilize the high line through turns one and two while diamonding turns three and four. Moving around the track in search of a faster line through traffic, the Oil Medics No. 18 of Tony Bruce Jr. would have the MVT No. 41 on his heels on lap seventeen.

Pulling to the back bumper of the TBJ Promotions No. 18, Johnson would bolt into the race lead on lap eighteen.

Advancing to a half straight-a-way advantage, Johnson was smooth sailing as the driver on the move was Tim Crawley. Taking the win in the night’s B-Main, the No. 88 would make his way into the top five with less than ten laps to run.

Taking the high road around the I-30 Speedway, the closing laps saw Crawley in a battle for third with Seth Bergman. Able to take the spot on the white flag lap, time would run out to get a chance at Tony Bruce Jr. for second as Jason Johnson sailed under the double checkered flags.

Tony Bruce Jr. was second with Tim Crawley third. Seth Bergman would hold onto fourth with Brady Bacon rounding out the top five.

Wayne Johnson would climb from sixteenth to sixth with Derek Hagar fading in the closing laps to finish seventh. Johnny Herrera was eighth with Gary Wright and A.G. Rains making up the top ten.

Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV competition continues this coming weekend with the inaugural Wicked City Shootout at Dodge City Raceway Park in Dodge City, Kansas. Races are scheduled for Saturday September 1st and Sunday September 2nd.

Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV
I-30 Speedway – Little Rock, Arkansas
August 25, 2012

Car Count: 31

Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 41-Jason Johnson[3]; 2. 38-Rick Pringle[1]; 3. 3H-Brandon Hanks[2]; 4. 1G-Cody Gardner[6]; 5. 88-Tim Crawley[8]; 6. 5H-Logan Forler[4]; 7. X-Charlie Louden[7]; DNS 4-Tommy Snellgrove

Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 18-Tony Bruce Jr[2]; 2. 99-Brady Bacon[7]; 3. 23B-Brian Bell[4]; 4. 4J-John James[1]; 5. 1-Nic Jenkins[5]; 6. 94-Blake Hahn[8]; DNF 14Z-Zach Pringle[6]; DNF 14K-Kyle Bellm[3]

Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 23-Seth Bergman[1]; 2. 9JR-Derek Hagar[3]; 3. 9-Gary Wright[2]; 4. 3-A.G. Rains[7]; 5. 45X-Johnny Herrera[8]; 6. 26-Marshall Skinner[5]; 7. 32K-Robert Richardson[4]; 8. 5K-Jerry Kamer[6]

Heat 4 (8 Laps): 1. 2-Dustin Morgan[1]; 2. 40-Ernie Ainsworth[2]; 3. 05-Brad Loyet[3]; 4. 77X-Wayne Johnson[5]; 5. 5-Jerod Roller[4]; 6. 12T-Joe Young[6]; 7. 14-Jordon Mallett[7]

B Feature (12 Laps): 1. 88-Tim Crawley[1]; 2. 5-Jerod Roller[5]; 3. 14Z-Zach Pringle[10]; 4. 14-Jordon Mallett[9]; 5. 5H-Logan Forler[8]; 6. 1-Nic Jenkins[4]; 7. 12T-Joe Young[6]; 8. 26-Marshall Skinner[7]; 9. 32K-Robert Richardson[12]; 10. 4J-John James[3]; 11. 5K-Jerry Kamer[13]; 12. X-Charlie Louden[11]; DNF 94-Blake Hahn[2]; DNS 14K-Kyle Bellm; DNS 4-Tommy Snellgrove

A Feature (30 Laps): 1. 41-Jason Johnson[8]; 2. 18-Tony Bruce Jr[2]; 3. 88-Tim Crawley[17]; 4. 23-Seth Bergman[3]; 5. 99-Brady Bacon[7]; 6. 77X-Wayne Johnson[16]; 7. 9JR-Derek Hagar[6]; 8. 45X-Johnny Herrera[12]; 9. 9-Gary Wright[15]; 10. 3-A.G. Rains[5]; 11. 1G-Cody Gardner[11]; 12. 5H-Logan Forler[21]; 13. 14Z-Zach Pringle[19]; 14. 23B-Brian Bell[10]; 15. 40-Ernie Ainsworth[1]; 16. 3H-Brandon Hanks[14]; 17. 1-Nic Jenkins[22]; 18. 38-Rick Pringle[9]; 19. 5-Jerod Roller[18]; 20. 14-Jordon Mallett[20]; DNF 2-Dustin Morgan[4]; DNF 05-Brad Loyet[13]

Lap Leader(s): Tony Bruce Jr. (1-17), Jason Johnson (18-30) Hard Charger of the Night: Tim Crawley+14
FSR Radiator High Point Driver of the Night: Brady Bacon
Provisional(s): N/A

2012 Feature Winners: Jason Johnson-10, Wayne Johnson-8, Brady Bacon-6, Tony Bruce Jr.-3, Danny Lasoski-2, Shane Stewart-2, Brian Brown-1, Seth Bergman-1, Jason Martin-1, Dustin Morgan-1, Danny Wood-1, Cody Baker-1, Jordan Boston-1, Brock Lemley-1, Mason Moore-1, Brad Loyet-1, Brooke Tatnell-1, Kevin Swindell-1

Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV Points (top 10): 1. Jason Johnson 5,378; 2. Wayne Johnson 5,347; 3. Brady Bacon 5,193; 4. Johnny Herrera 4,915; 5. Brad Loyet 4,903; 6. Tony Bruce Jr. 4,796; 7. Seth Bergman 4,505; 8. Logan Forler 4,349; 9. Gary Wright 4,337; 10. Dustin Morgan 4,313

The 2012 season marks the 21st year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing for the American Sprint Car Series, which brings the best of Sprint Car racing to dozens of different tracks throughout the nation and into Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil Sprint Car Series, ASCS also consists of ten different Regions throughout the nation.

Lucas Oil Products is the title sponsor of the American Sprint Car Series. More information can be found on Lucas Oil Products at MAVTV is the presenting sponsor of the American Sprint Car Series. For information regarding availability and listings in your area log onto

Associate sponsors for the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MavTV include: Hoosier Racing Tire, Brodix, Geico, E3 Spark Plugs, General Tire, K&N Filters,, FSR Radiator and Racing Proucts, Schoenfeld Headers,, Weld Wheels, Maxwell Industries, Print Place, Simpson, Wesmar Racing Engines, and Hilborn Injection Systems.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at as well as Twitter and Facebook.

Photo Credit: Tim Aylwin